Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    Senior Member davep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    630
    As a 100% flac house as far as SB feeding goes, I was actually toying with the idea of moving to iAudio and getting the ability to play my flacs without the hassle of maintaining a parallel mp3 directory for iTunes as I do now. Also the iAudio is supposed to work well with Linux, which would be another plus for me. But somehow the perceived "trustworthyness" of the iPod and the investment already made in accessories like car charger and iTrip, etc, swayed me back to the iPod.

    davep

  2. #12
    Senior Member davep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    630
    Quote Originally Posted by nicketynick
    You didn't try whacking yourself in the forehead with a hard board????

    Sorry - couldn't resist - I giggle every time I see that avatar.;-)
    Glad you like it - I wasn't sure anybody would recognise it but maybe there is some kind of natural affinity between SB users and Python (!)

    davep

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    223
    Switches and routers maintain databases of connected devices in their RAM (MAC address tables, ARP caches) and those tables can become corrupt and require a reboot of a specific device (usually that will take care of it) or of the entire network infrastructure (thereby forcing a complete re-convergence of device location information and pathing). Sometimes you have to leave a device powered off for a bit to completely clear the corrupted/incorrect data in memory. Doesn't happen often, but can be a tricky one when it does.

    Also, device IP address conflicts can be a tricky bitch to suss out, and manually setting addresses rather than allowing DHCP to deal with it causes this type of problem with some regularity (I've had times I'd swear on my life that addressing was good only to discover later I was wrong).

    DHCP can also foul up, and I'm not sure the DHCP servers sitting in a $60 WAP or internet router are going to be the most consistent for correct addressing.

    The question that would seem to remain to some degree is why the SB *seems* to be more sensitive to this sort of stuff (or is that more perception and we're just more used to rebooting PCs 1000 times when they're quirking out?). Dunno.

  4. #14
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    Re: When it works, it works ... when it doesn't ...

    joncourage wrote:
    > Also, device IP address conflicts can be a tricky bitch to suss out,
    > and manually setting addresses rather than allowing DHCP to deal with
    > it causes this type of problem with some regularity (I've had times I'd
    > swear on my life that addressing was good only to discover later I was
    > wrong).


    This is often more than just tricky to find. Fixing it is usually trivial

    DHCP (and its precursors) were invented because fixed IP addresses
    are essentially unmanageable once the number of computers gets "large"

    > DHCP can also foul up, and I'm not sure the DHCP servers sitting in a
    > $60 WAP or internet router are going to be the most consistent for
    > correct addressing.



    I run two DHCP servers in my house, with the servers assigning
    fixed TCP/IP addresses by MAC, and my SqueezeBoxen (and laptops with
    wired and wireless) having two separate mappings.

    With this, I have had zero problems in ages, except
    when (and not if, but when) I get the two dhcpd.conf files
    out of sync.

    I believe that IPv6 was going to fix this about a decade ago.

    --
    Pat
    http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimse...msoftware.html


  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    Since you are using mcafee, i thought this might be of interest

    The latest iteration of Mcafee Privacy Service prevents SoftSqueeze from running correctly. (The underlying culprit is McAfee's Proxy service)
    Follow the steps below To correct this condition and resume your enjoyment of streamed softsqueeze music.

    You can perform the following steps to stop McAfee Proxy Service.

    1. Click on the Start > Run.
    2. Type in SERVICES.MSC and click the OK button.
    3. Locate 'McAfee Proxy Service' in the list.
    4. Right-click 'McAfee Proxy Service' and choose Stop.

    Now, you can try to access SoftSqueeze and see if you are able to access the music.
    If you are able to access the music then you can start the McAfee Proxy Service service. (if required, it will probably restart after softsqueeze connects)

    1. Click on the Start > Run.
    2. Type in SERVICES.MSC and click the OK button.
    3. Locate 'McAfee Proxy Service' in the list.
    4. Right-click 'McAfee Proxy Service' and choose Start.

    I hope this helps everyone. Enjoy.

  6. #16
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Re: When it works, it works ... when it doesn't ...

    Quoting mshievitz <mshievitz.2dqbyz1157573701 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

    >
    > The latest iteration of Mcafee Privacy Service prevents SoftSqueeze from


    ok, got it the first dozen times. please stop posting it to every
    thread that is related to connection problems.

    thank you
    -kdf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •