Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 116
  1. #1
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101

    6.2.2. OK now! This is fun! NOT!

    Got the email today to upgrade to 6.2.2. Well, did so. The device is saying to press BRIGHTNESS to update the firmare. It goes through the process of connecting to my machine. It cognizes the IP address and the machine it needs to connect to. However, just before it connects it starts all over again saying Press BRIGHTNESS to update firmware. It has been doing this now in a loop 6 times. This is special!!!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101
    Ok...this is now getting really good!!!

    All 3 of my Slim Devices (2 wired and 1 wireless) are exhibiting the exact same behavior.

    Now... this is really special! NOT...........

  3. #3
    Senior Member snarlydwarf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,674
    Then it sounds like your server is crashing for some reason: do you have a 3rd party plugin, perhaps, that isn't happy with some change? Look at the server logs and see what it says.

  4. #4
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by snarlydwarf
    Then it sounds like your server is crashing for some reason: do you have a 3rd party plugin, perhaps, that isn't happy with some change? Look at the server logs and see what it says.
    Nope! No 3rd party plug ins...

    PS....what logs?
    Last edited by tonymuffin; 2006-04-27 at 17:38.

  5. #5
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    6.2.2. OK now! This is fun! NOT!

    Did you have 6.5 installed at some point? This sounds like an issue
    there, where a couple plugins were interracting with the firmware
    upgrade. Theoretically, this isn't possible with 6.2.2 but just in
    case, if you have Trackstat or the Execute plugins installed, remove
    them temporarily.
    -k


  6. #6
    Gadfly, Former Founder Slim Devices dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    4,427

    6.2.2. OK now! This is fun! NOT!

    Ok, Tony, you press and hold the brightness button. do you see the
    progress bar move across the screen? Does it then tell you that it's
    going to take a minute?

    Also, what kinds of players do you have (Squeezebox2, Squeezebox v3?
    The sticker on the bottom will say.)

    Also, what OS is slimserver running on?


  7. #7
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by kdf
    Did you have 6.5 installed at some point? This sounds like an issue
    there, where a couple plugins were interracting with the firmware
    upgrade. Theoretically, this isn't possible with 6.2.2 but just in
    case, if you have Trackstat or the Execute plugins installed, remove
    them temporarily.
    -k
    Per my previous thread............ no plug ins....

  8. #8
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by dean
    Ok, Tony, you press and hold the brightness button. do you see the
    progress bar move across the screen? Does it then tell you that it's
    going to take a minute?

    Also, what kinds of players do you have (Squeezebox2, Squeezebox v3?
    The sticker on the bottom will say.)

    Also, what OS is slimserver running on?
    Correct... I press the Brightness button down just like any other time it has needed to update the firmware. Nope... not this time... there is no progress bar, it jumps immediatly to Welcome to Squeeze box and then obtaining an IP address. It obtains an IP address and then moves on the finding the IP address correctly of the Slim Server. It then says connecting to Slim Server and starts all over again.

    By the way.... If I do nothing after pressing the Brightness button it will cycle through all on it's own... get to the same place and start all over.

    Special huh? I am really curious how this stuff is tested??

    All 3 are Squeezebox 2
    OS: Windows XP Pro Service Pak 2 with all current critical updates and security patches.

  9. #9
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101
    OK............

    So obviously this isn't getting anywhere...

    How do I get back to point A. Where can I find the previous version?

  10. #10
    Senior Member tonymuffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    101
    Where Are The Log Files???????????

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •