Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member madpatrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands
    Posts
    120

    Wireless connection fales repeatetly [SOLVED]

    Hello
    I've bought an SB3 and connected to my system using the wireless connection.
    After 1 day problems appear, like
    - remotecontrol did not respond
    - music stops Spontaneously
    - SB3 shutsdown (black)
    - settings changes, like display settings for screensaver


    i've the folowing setup:

    - Linux (clarkconnect server) 192.168.0.1 with DHCP server
    - security WPA2 (tried also WEP and NONE)
    - USR wireless router, used as an Access Point
    - software version: i've tried 6.2.1, 6.2.2 and 6.5.1
    - Firmare: 37, 41 and 43


    When i used LAN every thing is working OK.

    Can somebody help me. I've tried every thing now.
    Last edited by madpatrick; 2006-04-23 at 13:34. Reason: solved

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    72
    Fales?

    Spontainencly?

    dispaly?

    Perhaps you should learn to spell...

  3. #3
    Senior Member madpatrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands
    Posts
    120
    Sorry for my language. But I'm not an English or American. I'm from The Netherlands.
    Please correct the misspelled words for me !! and help me solve my problem with the SB3 where this forum is for.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ultra238a's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    368
    Hi Patrick,

    Welcome to the forums. I'm sorry that you had to get Mark as one of your first replies. Generally people on here are helpful and polite, even to people who don't have English as their first language.

    If you have tried all the current available versions of SlimServrer with the new firmwares it might be worth pushing an email to support@slimdevices. Also make sure you have the very latest firmware for your USR AP.

    Regards

    Paul
    Progressive Consumer Electronics Ltd

    Quote Originally Posted by madpatrick
    Sorry for my language. But I'm not an English or American. I'm from The Netherlands.
    Please correct the misspelled words for me !! and help me solve my problem with the SB3 where this forum is for.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    72
    You should first simplify the system as much as possible. Get it working 100% reliably on a wired connection using a Windows based SlimServer. Then change one thing at a time until it breaks. If you do not do this systematically, you have no hope of finding the problem. Ask Paul.

    From that base working system, change one thing at a time, if it still works, UNDO the change and carry on with the other changes available to you until you find something that breaks...

    - Windows to Linux
    - Wired to Wireless
    - No Security to WEP
    - Router Firmware Version
    - SB3 Firmware Version
    - SlimServer Version
    - Types of Music File

    BTW, Fales ==> Fails, Spontainencly ==> Spontaneously, Dispaly ==> Display.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    72
    Oh, and repeatetly ==> repeatedly

  7. #7
    Senior Member ceejay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    2,314
    You should also check out the advice at http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...BeginnersGuide

    Ceejay

  8. #8
    Senior Member madpatrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands
    Posts
    120
    Mark thanks for your support.

    I've setup the SB3 to wired (LAN) and every thing is working 100%
    When ik change the SB3 to wireless, obtain an IP is somethime a problem. When it finds an IP, the SB3 fails after a few seconds or minutes.

    I've tried an other router (USR but other model), but having the same problems.

    Could the wireless antenna's inside the SB3 be the problem ??

    Mark, i'll keep trying your suggestions.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    72
    Does your IP Address start with 192.168...? If not, you should try a manually entered static IP Address.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    It sounds like a wireless strength issue; what wireless strength does the SB3 report?

    You might find that moving the SB3 around a little improves the wireless strength significantly and solves the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •