Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,188

    Robocopy commands

    Robocopy seems to be a great way to automate backups, and thanks to dangerous dom, I have a script that will either perform the mirror or the backup function. But I want to be sure I understand what these two functions do. The way I understand it, backup will copy every file from the source onto the destination that is not already on the destination but will not delete any files at all. Mirror will make an exact copy of the source onto the destination and delete any files on the destination that are not on the source. Does either of these functions ever make changes to the source files?

    Now, if I add files only to the source then it seems like either function will do the same thing. Is that correct?

    If I change some genre tags on the source, will both mirror and backup make those changes on the destination? How about MusicMagic/IP codes saved to the track files?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,188
    > Robocopy seems to be a great way to automate backups, and thanks to
    > dangerous dom, I have a script that will either perform the mirror or
    > the backup function. But I want to be sure I understand what these two
    > functions do. The way I understand it, backup will copy every file from
    > the source onto the destination that is not already on the destination
    > but will not delete any files at all. Mirror will make an exact copy
    > of the source onto the destination and delete any files on the
    > destination that are not on the source. Does either of these functions
    > ever make changes to the source files?

    No, the source files will always be unaffected. If you specify the
    source and destination the wrong way round or specify the wrong
    destination with the /MIR option the results can be catastrophic.

    > Now, if I add files only to the source then it seems like either
    > function will do the same thing. Is that correct?

    Yes, provided you only add files. I occasionally move some files
    around, in this case the /MIR option will delete the original copy and
    recopy the moved files to their new location.

    > If I change some genre tags on the source, will both mirror and backup
    > make those changes on the destination? How about MusicMagic/IP codes
    > saved to the track files?

    Yes, provided the file timestamp is updated robocopy should see the
    changes. However some tag editors, such as Tag & Rename, have an
    option not to update the timestamp. In this case robocopy would not be
    aware that the file has changed. I've never used MusicMagic so I don't
    know if it updates or preserves the files timestamp.

    Richard
    Richard, I don't know how your response got to another thread, but I'm going to ask my folloup here. If I move files from one folder to another on the source, will backup not make that change on the destination?

  3. #3
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle
    Richard, I don't know how your response got to another thread, but I'm going to ask my folloup here. If I move files from one folder to another on the source, will backup not make that change on the destination?
    MIR would make the same change as you made (move the file to a new place). Backup would create the file in it's new location, but wouldn't delete the original one, so it would look like a copy rather than a move.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    357
    I'd heard about the bug in the forum software but never been a victim myself so I'll reply using the forum rather than email.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle
    If I move files from one folder to another on the source, will backup not make that change on the destination?
    No. That's the main difference between the backup and mirror modes. In backup mode you'll end up with two copies of the folder in the backup location. The mirror mode will delete the first copy and then make another copy in the new location.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,188
    Quote Originally Posted by Richie
    In backup mode you'll end up with two copies of the folder in the backup location.
    Richard
    Then, if I later did a mirror command, the original file (in the old location) would be deleted?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Michaelwagner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oakville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,024
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle
    thanks to dangerous dom, I have a script that will either perform the mirror or the backup function.
    I'm sorry, I guess this is frivolous, but this just struck my funny bone.

    You're running a backup script authored by someone calling himself Dangerous Dom?

    Might be dangerous ...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,188
    Quote Originally Posted by Michaelwagner
    You're running a backup script authored by someone calling himself Dangerous Dom?

    Might be dangerous ...
    Yeah, but it works! I'm pretty gun-shy about backup programs after SyncToy ate my backup and original a couple of weeks ago. I've been re-ripping ever since. (Truth be known, there must have been some user error in there someplace, but I'm still trying to figure out what happened.)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle
    Then, if I later did a mirror command, the original file (in the old location) would be deleted?
    Yes. When you choose the mirror option you get a replica of your source. If you've deleted it from the source (or moved it) it'll get deleted from the backup.

    Richard

  9. #9
    Guest

    Re: Robocopy commands

    GUI for robocopy, works great for me

    http://copyrite.dynu.com/screenshots-hm.htm

    -----Original Message-----
    From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Kyle
    Sent: Monday, March 27, 2006 2:58 PM
    To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    Subject: [slim] Re: Robocopy commands


    Michaelwagner Wrote:
    > You're running a backup script authored by someone calling himself
    > Dangerous Dom?
    >
    > Might be dangerous ...


    Yeah, but it works! I'm pretty gun-shy about backup programs after
    SyncToy ate my backup and original a couple of weeks ago. I've been
    re-ripping ever since. (Truth be known, there must have been some user
    error in there someplace, but I'm still trying to figure out what
    happened.)


    --
    Kyle
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Kyle's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2541
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=22486


  10. #10
    Guest

    Re: Robocopy commands

    Here is the free one
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...Copy-GUI.shtml


    -----Original Message-----
    From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
    Emile_Weekes (AT) Dell (DOT) com
    Sent: Monday, March 27, 2006 5:12 PM
    To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    Subject: RE: [slim] Re: Robocopy commands

    GUI for robocopy, works great for me

    http://copyrite.dynu.com/screenshots-hm.htm

    -----Original Message-----
    From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Kyle
    Sent: Monday, March 27, 2006 2:58 PM
    To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    Subject: [slim] Re: Robocopy commands


    Michaelwagner Wrote:
    > You're running a backup script authored by someone calling himself
    > Dangerous Dom?
    >
    > Might be dangerous ...


    Yeah, but it works! I'm pretty gun-shy about backup programs after
    SyncToy ate my backup and original a couple of weeks ago. I've been
    re-ripping ever since. (Truth be known, there must have been some user
    error in there someplace, but I'm still trying to figure out what
    happened.)


    --
    Kyle
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Kyle's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2541
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=22486


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •