Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    14

    Power over Ethernet

    To the Squeezebox hardware team...

    Any plans to implement a power over ethernet variant of the squeezebox?

    If yes, what kind of time frame are we looking at...unless I don't understand the technology properly, it doesn't look like I can just take out a soldering iron and go to town to enable it.

    However, as a feature, it would be very handy to have, such that you could place the device anywhere on a CAT5/5e network no other wires would be necessary.

  2. #2
    AFAIK you can buy PoE kit to use with any Ethernet equipment?

    Now Power over Wireless would be something I'd subscribe to!

  3. #3
    Senior Member max.spicer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    York, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,661
    Yeah, wireless electricity is something that's long overdue. Come on Slim, get your act together! :-)

    Max

    Quote Originally Posted by stevieweevie
    AFAIK you can buy PoE kit to use with any Ethernet equipment?

    Now Power over Wireless would be something I'd subscribe to!
    Some people think the title of this song is irrelevant,
    but it's not irrelevant - it's a hippopotamus.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Patrick Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,805
    Quote Originally Posted by max.spicer
    Yeah, wireless electricity is something that's long overdue. Come on Slim, get your act together! :-)

    Max
    It's called 'lightening'.

    Stand out on a golf course (with your umbrella up) in a thunderstorm and 'get connected'.

  5. #5
    Senior Member aubuti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    8,832
    Quote Originally Posted by stevieweevie
    Now Power over Wireless would be something I'd subscribe to!
    Hmm, time to dig up Nikola Tesla's old notes? http://www.straightdope.com/classics/a3_274.html

  6. #6
    Senior Member jonheal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Springfield, VA
    Posts
    659
    Just stick the bare wires from one of the ethernet cables coming out of your switch or hub into a wall socket. That should do it. Here, just like thisssdsaseeeee eeiiiiieieiIIIIIIIIEEEEEE!!!!!!
    Jon Heal says:
    Have a nice day!
    http://www.theheals.org/
    ~~~
    SB3 (wired - 6.3.1) | DELL OptiPlex PC running XP Pro | DENON DRA-397 | PSB Stratus Bronze (2) | Outlaw Audio LFM-2 (1) | DIY Speaker Cables | Dayton Audio Interconnects

  7. #7
    Senior Member jonheal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Springfield, VA
    Posts
    659
    Now that we have all had our fun with Squiffy, I started thinking about it.

    POTS systems, if I'm not mistaken sent 48V down those skinny wires to ring your phone. Surely those two unused ethernet wires could handle 5 lousy volts at 2 amps.

    Some adventurous soul could patch into the cable going to the squeezebox and connect the exisiting transformer to the cable (with some diodes or something to keep the current from running back into the switch/router). Then, a little soldering in the SqueezeBox to patch the two powered ethernet wires to the point where power normally connects to the board. Someone could. But not me. :-)
    Jon Heal says:
    Have a nice day!
    http://www.theheals.org/
    ~~~
    SB3 (wired - 6.3.1) | DELL OptiPlex PC running XP Pro | DENON DRA-397 | PSB Stratus Bronze (2) | Outlaw Audio LFM-2 (1) | DIY Speaker Cables | Dayton Audio Interconnects

  8. #8

    Re: Power over Ethernet

    But which switches/routers actually supply power that way? ALso, I guess
    it's convenient, but with so many upgrading powersupplies, how many would
    really downgrade to the power that would come over an ethernet cable from
    some random switch?

    This whole thing brings up an interesting thing from my office. When they
    put in wiring for wireless access points, they put 2 ethernet jacks next to
    each AP. I figured one was for the signal, and they were goind to run power
    through the other one. But when they were done, each one only had a single
    wire. This is clearly the technology used.

    On 3/10/06, jonheal <jonheal.24gh801141997402 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
    wrote:
    >
    >
    > Now that we have all had our fun with Squiffy, I started thinking about
    > it.
    >
    > POTS systems, if I'm not mistaken sent 48V down those skinny wires to
    > ring your phone. Surely those two unused ethernet wires could handle 5
    > lousy volts at 2 amps.
    >
    > Some adventurous soul could patch into the cable going to the
    > squeezebox and connect the exisiting transformer to the cable (with
    > some diodes or something to keep the current from running back into the
    > switch/router). Then, a little soldering in the SqueezeBox to patch the
    > two powered ethernet wires to the point where power normally connects
    > to the board. Someone could. But not me. :-)
    >
    >
    > --
    > jonheal
    >
    > Jon Heal says:
    > Have a nice day!
    > http://www.theheals.org/
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > jonheal's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2133
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=21936
    >
    >

  9. #9
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    Re: Power over Ethernet

    Jim Dibb wrote:
    > But which switches/routers actually supply power that way?


    More and more every day. It is the coming thing, as you more than
    save a wire, you have one less thing to worry about.

    > guess it's convenient, but with so many upgrading powersupplies, how
    > many would really downgrade to the power that would come over an
    > ethernet cable from some random switch?


    No audiophile would use it, but it is really convenient.


    > This whole thing brings up an interesting thing from my office. When
    > they put in wiring for wireless access points, they put 2 ethernet jacks
    > next to each AP. I figured one was for the signal, and they were goind
    > to run power through the other one. But when they were done, each one
    > only had a single wire. This is clearly the technology used.


    There are four spare pairs in most CAT5/6 systems.
    Reducing part counts is a big deal for manufacturers.
    While the hated wall wart is cheap, it is far cheaper
    to not have it at all.


    --
    Pat
    http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimse...msoftware.html


  10. #10

    Re: Power over Ethernet

    Very interesting. Thanks

    On 3/10/06, Pat Farrell <pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com> wrote:
    >
    > Jim Dibb wrote:
    > > But which switches/routers actually supply power that way?

    >
    > More and more every day. It is the coming thing, as you more than
    > save a wire, you have one less thing to worry about.
    >
    > There are four spare pairs in most CAT5/6 systems.
    > Reducing part counts is a big deal for manufacturers.
    > While the hated wall wart is cheap, it is far cheaper
    > to not have it at all.
    >
    >
    > -



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •