Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Ripping an SACD

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712

    Ripping an SACD

    Hi,

    In article <43CE5776.9060606 (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>,
    Pat Farrell<pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com> wrote:
    > Its easy to manipulate them if you have a multi-channel audio editing
    > program, such as Cakewalk's Sonar. It can mix down as many channels
    > as you have to stereo. Well, easy if you are used to Sonar. The
    > package is pretty expensive and has a non-trivial learning curve.


    I don't want to mix down to stereo (I could just rip the stereo component of
    the SACD to get that I assume). I want (somehow) for the 5.1 information to
    be playable through the Squeezebox.

    This may involve encoding it into Dolby Digital or some such?

    > I would strongly suggest that capturing them all at once is the way
    > to go. Otherwise you'll have to spend time aligning them before mixing.


    Yeah, I thought of that after I posted. Where do I get a sound card with a 6
    channel input though? ???

    Andy


  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    994
    I get the impression that adhawkins would like to keep the audio in a surround format. So downmixing to stereo is probably not going to achieve what he is looking for.

    I'm not familiar with audio editing packages beyond tinkering the excellent Goldwave to split hidden tracks etc, but I'd say something that will encode Dolby digital or DTS is going to cost.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712

    Ripping an SACD

    Hi,

    In article <oreillymj.21u6rz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
    oreillymj<oreillymj.21u6rz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > I'm not familiar with audio editing packages beyond tinkering the
    > excellent Goldwave to split hidden tracks etc, but I'd say something
    > that will encode Dolby digital or DTS is going to cost.


    Not sure if this would do it?

    http://www.nero.com/eng/Multichannel..._InfoPage.html

    Relatively inexpensive, and comes included in their 'Nero 7 Premium' package
    that I might buy anyway (new PC arriving soon complete with DVD burner!)

    Andy


  4. #14
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    Re: Ripping an SACD

    Andy Hawkins wrote:
    > In article <43CE5776.9060606 (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>,
    > Pat Farrell<pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com> wrote:
    >
    >>Its easy to manipulate them if you have a multi-channel audio editing
    >>program, such as Cakewalk's Sonar. It can mix down as many channels
    >>as you have to stereo. Well, easy if you are used to Sonar. The
    >>package is pretty expensive and has a non-trivial learning curve.

    >
    >
    > I don't want to mix down to stereo (I could just rip the stereo component of
    > the SACD to get that I assume). I want (somehow) for the 5.1 information to
    > be playable through the Squeezebox.


    If you just rip the RedBook from the SACD you get only RedBook rates.
    If that is what you want, you're done, That is the big claim to fame
    for SACD -- backward compatibility

    But if you want the high frequency stuff, and wider sampling, you'll
    want to use gear that can handle it.



    > This may involve encoding it into Dolby Digital or some such?


    The SqueezeBox only has two analog outputs.
    You can push AC3 thru the SPDIF link to an external decoder.
    But AC3 is not considered high quality. It was designed for
    movie sound effects, etc.

    If you want stereo, you have to mix down.
    I believe DVD-audio is designed to make this easier.


    >>I would strongly suggest that capturing them all at once is the way
    >>to go. Otherwise you'll have to spend time aligning them before mixing.

    >
    > Yeah, I thought of that after I posted. Where do I get a sound card with a 6
    > channel input though? ???


    Any place that sells to 'pro audio' such as Guitar Center,
    Musiciansfriend.com, zzounds.com. Brands are M-Audio,
    E-mu, echo, etc.

    All of this is pretty straight forward, but you're probably looking
    at $400 for software and hardware, and then it takes time. A lot of
    time. I decided that it wasn't worth the time to do my LP collection,
    and I have all the decording gear and software already.



    --
    Pat
    http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimse...msoftware.html


  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712

    Ripping an SACD

    Hi,

    In article <43CE6826.2010006 (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com>,
    Pat Farrell<pfarrell (AT) pfarrell (DOT) com> wrote:
    > The SqueezeBox only has two analog outputs.
    > You can push AC3 thru the SPDIF link to an external decoder.
    > But AC3 is not considered high quality. It was designed for
    > movie sound effects, etc.


    Yes, this is exactly what I'm doing with a few music DVDs I've got. I've
    ripped the DD 5.1 soundtrack off them, modified it using a utility posted
    elsewhere on here, and then FLAC and tagged the result.

    > Any place that sells to 'pro audio' such as Guitar Center,
    > Musiciansfriend.com, zzounds.com. Brands are M-Audio,
    > E-mu, echo, etc.


    I'm in the UK

    > All of this is pretty straight forward, but you're probably looking
    > at $400 for software and hardware, and then it takes time. A lot of
    > time. I decided that it wasn't worth the time to do my LP collection,
    > and I have all the decording gear and software already.


    Yeah, that's what I figured would be likely.

    Still left with the possibility of ripping the analogue signals seperately
    (2 channels at a time). As was mentioned earlier, I'd then have to do
    something to get these files 'in sync' before I did some sort of conversion
    to enable the Squeezebox to play all 6 channels via the digital output.

    Andy


  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    291

    Dual Disk and SACDs from PCD/WAV will rip

    Hi,

    I have the same disk but in the 2 disk SACD edition. I agree, it may be difficult to rip preserving the DTS encoding from DVDs but SACDs do not use DTS encoding and will not play on some DVD players. However, many SACDs have a stereo channel that will play on most CD players (look for "stereo CD compatible on thew cover). These SACDs will rip from most CDroms directly to WAV as normal. Unless you are trying the connect you squeezeboxes to a multichannel surround set-up, you should be able to rip the remastered stereo track from these disks quite nicely.

    Ps. Dual-disk DVDs will rip in a similar fashion from the CD side of course

    R

    alex

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712

    Ripping an SACD

    Hi,

    In article <ajmitchell.2217sb__1023.80134999311$1137926594$gm ane$org (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
    ajmitchell<ajmitchell.2217sb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > Unless you are trying the connect you squeezeboxes to a multichannel
    > surround set-up, you should be able to rip the remastered stereo track
    > from these disks quite nicely.


    That's exactly what I'm trying to do unfortunately.

    Andy


  8. #18

    How to rip a SACD

    Hi,
    Well - it is expensive, but not impossible. Here is one solution for ripping two channel stereo data from SACD to PCM format (i.e. normal format you can store and play on your computer) without ever passing through the analog domain.

    You need a SACD player (of course) since there are no "readers" yet for computers. The SACD player must have a digital out, which is likely to be a Firewire IEEE1394. You can get the cheapest one here as long as it has Firewire out.

    Now - the problem is that the Firewire carries a "digital copy not allowed" and we don't want that (we would then need to hack things in the computer or sound card) so we need a translation to a digital format that does not have copy protection - such as AES (or dual AES).

    If you use a dCS Purcell upsampler (yes I know, it's expensive) it has exactly that, i.e. it can take IEEE 1394 in and put out AES (for signals up to 96 kS/s) or dual AES (up to 196 kS/s).

    You then need a sound card with AES in, or better, dual AES in. There are a few around (check out Lynx etc) but they are expensive-ish (told you so...).

    With this setup you will be able to record from a SACD to full quality (196 kS/s if you have dual AES) in normal PCM (wav) format onto your hard disk.

    The file will be BIG! If you have a good enough sound card you can use that for playing back your file on your Audiophile gear. But if you can afford all the above, you will probably prefer some special stuff (like a dCS Delius or Elgar DAC) connected to your sound card for maximum quality.

    That's it. Then just get a bigger hard disk...

    (No I haven't done it - I have the older non-firewire Purcell - but I've thought about getting a newer just for the hell of it)

  9. #19

    How to rip a SACD in full quality (stereo)

    Hi,
    Well - it is expensive, but not impossible. Here is one solution for ripping two channel stereo data from SACD to PCM format (i.e. normal format you can store and play on your computer) without ever passing through the analog domain.

    You need a SACD player (of course) since there are no "readers" yet for computers. The SACD player must have a digital out, which is likely to be a Firewire IEEE1394. You can get the cheapest one here as long as it has Firewire out.

    Now - the problem is that the Firewire carries a "digital copy not allowed" and we don't want that (we would then need to hack things in the computer or sound card) so we need a translation to a digital format that does not have copy protection - such as AES (or dual AES).

    If you use a dCS Purcell upsampler (yes I know, it's expensive) it has exactly that, i.e. it can take IEEE 1394 in and put out AES (for signals up to 96 kS/s) or dual AES (up to 196 kS/s).

    You then need a sound card with AES in, or better, dual AES in. There are a few around (check out Lynx etc) but they are expensive-ish (told you so...).

    With this setup you will be able to record from a SACD to full quality (196 kS/s if you have dual AES) in normal PCM (wav) format onto your hard disk.

    The file will be BIG! If you have a good enough sound card you can use that for playing back your file on your Audiophile gear. But if you can afford all the above, you will probably prefer some special stuff (like a dCS Delius or Elgar DAC) connected to your sound card for maximum quality.

    That's it. Then just get a bigger hard disk...

    (No I haven't done it - I have the older non-firewire Purcell - but I've thought about getting a newer just for the hell of it)

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    712

    Ripping an SACD

    Hi,

    In article <CarlOtto.228usb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
    CarlOtto<CarlOtto.228usb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    > Hi,
    > Well - it is expensive, but not impossible. Here is one solution for
    > ripping two channel stereo data from SACD to PCM format (i.e. normal
    > format you can store and play on your computer) without ever passing
    > through the analog domain.


    I don't want to rip the two channel stereo data, I want to rip the 5.1 data.

    Andy


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •