Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1

    Improve SB3 buffering?

    Both my SB3 and SlimServer are in less than ideal positions in my wifi network in order to improve WAF. Is there anyway to force the SB3 to increase the amount of music that it buffers in order to decrease lags between songs?

  2. #2
    Senior Member funkstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,071
    what format are you streaming to the player?

    It's all a trade off. Is you use 64kbit MP3 there is loads of space, but the music will sounds rubish. Where as FLAC sounds great but eats up more buffer.

    BTW, you didin't need to start two threads when they are both dealing with the same subject. TO answer your other query: i don't know if you can modify the SB (probably not) but you could look at getting a high gain antena for your router/wap

  3. #3
    Senior Member Michaelwagner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oakville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,024
    Other options ... for that location, get a wireless SB2 - they had antennas.

    Get a bigger wireless antenna for the router or WAP.

    The other issues you asked about in other postings are all related. Button pushes on the remote (with a very few exceptions that do things like rebooting the squeezebox) are handled over to the server. If connection to the server is an issue, so are the button pushes.

    Do you live in an apartment or townhouse? Some people have reported that their neighbours also run wireless and that's the source of the interference. The SB runs on 802.11(b/g), and it's a little publicized fact that while there are 12 "channels" they are not independent. They are crammed close enough together that there is considerable side band interference. If you and your neighbour(s) are sharing a channel (worst case) or sharing adjacent channels (still bad), you might be able to work out a neighbourhood channel sharing arrangement that works better for all of you, and eliminates the need for more extra-ordinary measures.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    80
    I was having a lot of problems with interference from neighbors (I went from being the only visible wifi network to 1 of 7 in a year). I was getting dropouts on every song (streaming lossless to an SB1, so the connection has to be good). I got a Belkin pre-N router a couple weeks ago, and haven't had a dropout since. It seems to do a really good job of overpowering all the other networks, even on a regular B/G connection.

  5. #5
    Ugh...should have included the details before...

    SB2 did not pass WAF test, so no luck switching to that.

    Already using both an external 7db antenna and a 500db signal amplifier on the router (both Hawking) to try to goose the signal strength. Trying to keep the router close to the desktop so that we always have a wired connection. (And yes - I intentionally put up separate posts since I am used to a one topic per post rule on other bboards)

    Mainly streaming 128 and 160kbit AAC so far.

    In a house, the SB3 only sees the home router.

    If the SB3 could maintain a full buffer rather than drawing it down and refilling it at the end of each song, I would think that would solve the problem, which I leave to the firmware gurus to say whether that is in the works or even feasible.

    I'm not getting interfernce, just a delay in between songs sometimes as the buffer refills.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Michaelwagner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oakville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,024
    Quote Originally Posted by stoobie-doo
    Already using both an external 7db antenna and a 500db signal amplifier on the router (both Hawking) to try to goose the signal strength.
    Is the router 802.11b or g?

    In a house, the SB3 only sees the home router.
    This doesn't mean there isn't interference. What sort of signal strength is the SB3 reporting? What sort of speed? Have you tried looking at the network health screen?

    If the SB3 could maintain a full buffer rather than drawing it down and refilling it at the end of each song, I would think that would solve the problem, which I leave to the firmware gurus to say whether that is in the works or even feasible.
    I don't know why the SB does that...I think both 2s and 3s do it, though.

    I'm not getting interfernce, just a delay in between songs sometimes as the buffer refills.
    How long does the buffer take to refill? Are we talking 1 second or 20? Have you tried using cross-fade? With cross-fade, the SB3 will start fetching the next song before the last one ends, up to 10 seconds (which is why I asked, how long is it taking to fill the buffer).

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by stoobie-doo
    Ugh...should have included the details before...

    SB2 did not pass WAF test, so no luck switching to that.

    Already using both an external 7db antenna and a 500db signal amplifier on the router (both Hawking) to try to goose the signal strength. Trying to keep the router close to the desktop so that we always have a wired connection. (And yes - I intentionally put up separate posts since I am used to a one topic per post rule on other bboards)
    I hope you are not using a 500db signal amplifier. This would amplify your signal by 10^50 times. If your router puts out 50 mW, your amplifier would put out 5 x 10^48 W. I doubt this is what's happening, but if it is, you are consuming power equal to the entire output of a large nuclear power plant. You are also radiating enough electromagentic power to fry everyone living within a few miles radius.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by sirozha
    I hope you are not using a 500db signal amplifier. This would amplify your signal by 10^50 times. If your router puts out 50 mW, your amplifier would put out 5 x 10^48 W. I doubt this is what's happening, but if it is, you are consuming power equal to the entire output of a large nuclear power plant. You are also radiating enough electromagentic power to fry everyone living within a few miles radius.
    Who knew? Now I know what that glow was. Actually is a 500 mW amp.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    536
    Try dLAN plugs (e.g.Devolo) to get you round the blackspot. Basically they will give you a LAN using mains wiring and can be used in conjunction with WiFi. Had the same problem and the dLAN's work great - I used the 85mbit versions but the 14mbit types should be enough.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Michaelwagner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oakville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,024
    Quote Originally Posted by stoobie-doo
    Who knew? Now I know what that glow was.
    Yeah, I noticed the 500dB thing, but let it slide as an obvious mistake. 500dB is an *e*normous gain.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •