Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI USA
    Posts
    605

    Random Mix and Volume?

    I recently upgraded my setup to 6.2.1 for SS and fw28 for SB2. I am enjoying the new Random Mix feature, but would like to know if there is away that SB2 could auto-adjust the volume since my FLAC files across CDs have different volume levels.

    TIA,
    EarthBased

  2. #2
    Senior Member DrNic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Leaden Roding, UK
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by earthbased
    I recently upgraded my setup to 6.2.1 for SS and fw28 for SB2. I am enjoying the new Random Mix feature, but would like to know if there is away that SB2 could auto-adjust the volume since my FLAC files across CDs have different volume levels.

    TIA,
    EarthBased
    This is possible if you use ReplayGain on the FLAC files. You have to set SS to use the track gain (not album gain) value to get the equal volume on randomised tracks...

    Nic

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI USA
    Posts
    605
    I create my FLAC files using dbPowerAMP and to my knowledge it didn't (doesn't) have a ReplayGain feature. How can I add this metadata to my existing FLAC files? Also, can this tool add both track ReplayGain and Album ReplayGain so I can use track when using RandomMix and Album when doing album playlists?

    Thanks,
    EarthBased
    Last edited by earthbased; 2005-12-11 at 17:29.

  4. #4
    Robin Bowes
    Guest

    Re: Random Mix and Volume?

    earthbased said the following on 12/12/2005 00:09:
    > I create my FLAC files using dbPowerAMP and to my knowledge it didn't
    > (doesn't) have a ReplayGain feature. How can I add this metadata to my
    > existing FLAC files?


    If you're OK with running perl scripts from the command line, have a
    look at my apply_replaygain utility:

    http://projects.robinbowes.com/apply_replaygain

    R.


  5. #5
    Senior Member DrNic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Leaden Roding, UK
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by earthbased
    I create my FLAC files using dbPowerAMP and to my knowledge it didn't (doesn't) have a ReplayGain feature. How can I add this metadata to my existing FLAC files? Also, can this tool add both track ReplayGain and Album ReplayGain so I can use track when using RandomMix and Album when doing album playlists?

    Thanks,
    EarthBased
    There are ways to do this in programs such as Foobar 2000, and the command line utility in FLAC itself (I think its called metaflac?)
    Both track and album gain can be calculated and used accordingly by slimserver (I think thats the SmartGain function, see here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cg...lumeAdjustment )

    Nic
    Last edited by DrNic; 2005-12-12 at 15:45.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •