Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    9

    Softsqueeze Stutter with flac files

    I am trying to stream from a network box at home to work.

    My files are in 2 formats - flac and mp3. The mp3's play fine, the flac stutter badly. most of my files are in flac. I am using the most current version of softsqueeze and slimserver 6.2. preferably I will like to stream the flac files straight through without conversion to mp3.

    but if i had to switch to mp3 to make the stream work, i dont know how to flip that switch in softsqueeze. there is no button to allow you to state whether you prefer flac playback or mp3....
    Last edited by vacquah; 2005-11-18 at 19:24.

  2. #2
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Softsqueeze Stutter with slac files

    Quoting vacquah <vacquah.1ypiiz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

    >
    > but if i had to switch to mp3 to make the stream work, i dont know how
    > to flip that switch in softsqueeze. there is no button to allow you to
    > state whether you prefer flac playback or mp3....
    >


    go into the Slimserve web interface, click player settings (for the
    softsqueeze
    client). Click the audio tab, then set bitrate limiting. This will force the
    serve to convert the flac files to mp3 on the fly.

    -kdf

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103

    Softsqueeze Stutter with slac files

    Sounds like you're starved for bandwidth. This is
    understandable as most broadband connections are
    limited to 512 kbps or less upload.

    Yes, you will need to convert on-the-fly to MP3.
    This is not in SoftSqueeze, this is in SlimServer.

    Install the latest lame.exe into either the
    SlimServer folder or windows/system32.

    Then in SlimServer go to Player Settings - Audio.
    Your remote SoftSqueeze will still have to be
    up and running to see the options for the remote
    SoftSqueeze. Just hit refresh if it's not there.
    At the bottom of the page is Bitrate Limiting.
    The line before the drop-down box should say "The
    LAME encoder appears to be installed correctly on
    your system." Then choose a bitrate.

    Check your upload speed - 320 kbps may be too much
    for a "512 kbps" upload speed after overhead.

    vacquah wrote:
    > I am trying to stream from a network box at home to

    work.
    >
    > My files are in 2 formats - flac and mp3. The mp3's

    play fine, the flac
    > stutter badly. most of my files are in flac. I am

    using the most current
    > version of softsqueeze and slimserver 6.2.

    preferably I will like to
    > stream the flac files straight through without

    conversion to mp3.
    >
    > but if i had to switch to mp3 to make the stream

    work, i dont know how
    > to flip that switch in softsqueeze. there is no

    button to allow you to
    > state whether you prefer flac playback or mp3....
    >
    >


    --
    ___________________________________


    Mark Lanctot
    ___________________________________







  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    9
    hi there.. alreaady done that. i read that in some post here. but the audio still stutters badly. this implies that my flac files are now being converted to mp3, right?

    the problem is, when i play files which are originally encoded in mp3, the playback is fine. so is this something to do with the conversion process for the flac files? does anyone have any problems playing back flacs ?

    Victor

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    9
    Mark:

    I have the Infrant Ready NAS box which has the slimserver software installed on it. I am not sure i can install LAME on the box as well. What to do?

    V



    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Lanctot
    Sounds like you're starved for bandwidth. This is
    understandable as most broadband connections are
    limited to 512 kbps or less upload.

    Yes, you will need to convert on-the-fly to MP3.
    This is not in SoftSqueeze, this is in SlimServer.

    Install the latest lame.exe into either the
    SlimServer folder or windows/system32.

    Then in SlimServer go to Player Settings - Audio.
    Your remote SoftSqueeze will still have to be
    up and running to see the options for the remote
    SoftSqueeze. Just hit refresh if it's not there.
    At the bottom of the page is Bitrate Limiting.
    The line before the drop-down box should say "The
    LAME encoder appears to be installed correctly on
    your system." Then choose a bitrate.

    Check your upload speed - 320 kbps may be too much
    for a "512 kbps" upload speed after overhead.

    vacquah wrote:
    > I am trying to stream from a network box at home to

    work.
    >
    > My files are in 2 formats - flac and mp3. The mp3's

    play fine, the flac
    > stutter badly. most of my files are in flac. I am

    using the most current
    > version of softsqueeze and slimserver 6.2.

    preferably I will like to
    > stream the flac files straight through without

    conversion to mp3.
    >
    > but if i had to switch to mp3 to make the stream

    work, i dont know how
    > to flip that switch in softsqueeze. there is no

    button to allow you to
    > state whether you prefer flac playback or mp3....
    >
    >


    --
    ___________________________________


    Mark Lanctot
    ___________________________________

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    80
    Most flac files are going to be around 800-1000kbps. If you go to http://www.dslreports.com/stest you can check the upload bandwidth on your home connection. Most cable and dsl connections have their upload speeds capped at quite a bit less than 1000kbps, which would explain your problem. I pay for the more expensive "fast" Comcast service, and my upload speed just tested at 695kbps.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    80
    Just read your second post- a NAS box probably isn't going to have the horsepower required to convert to mp3 on the fly. It's a fairly CPU intensive process.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103

    Re: Softsqueeze Stutter with slac files

    How high is the bitrate, and how high is your
    upload speed?

    Can you play a 320 kbps MP3 over the Internet? If
    you can, then yes, there's some sort of problem in
    the conversion.

    vacquah wrote:
    > hi there.. alreaady done that. i read that in some

    post here. but the
    > audio still stutters badly. this implies that my

    flac files are now
    > being converted to mp3, right?
    >
    > the problem is, when i play files which are

    originally encoded in mp3,
    > the playback is fine. so is this something to do

    with the conversion
    > process for the flac files? does anyone have any

    problems playing back
    > flacs ?
    >
    > Victor
    >
    >


    --
    ___________________________________


    Mark Lanctot
    ___________________________________







  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    9
    so i have 2 options - bump up the bandwidth or find a way to install LAME for mp3 decoding. i will prefer the mp3 path, except i am stumped with how to install it on the Infranrt Ready NAS box ...


    Quote Originally Posted by superbad
    Most flac files are going to be around 800-1000kbps. If you go to http://www.dslreports.com/stest you can check the upload bandwidth on your home connection. Most cable and dsl connections have their upload speeds capped at quite a bit less than 1000kbps, which would explain your problem. I pay for the more expensive "fast" Comcast service, and my upload speed just tested at 695kbps.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7,103

    Re: Softsqueeze Stutter with slac files

    Option 1 is probably out of the picture. ISPs
    usually do not provide high upload speeds even
    with their super-fast, super-expensive download
    speeds.

    You will have to look hard to find a TRUE upload
    speed of 1 Mbps, and you will have to pay dearly
    for it.

    It would be much cheaper to somehow put LAME on
    your NAS box. It would be must easier than
    installing SlimServer, but the NAS box's processor
    may not be up to the encoding task.

    vacquah wrote:
    > so i have 2 options - bump up the bandwidth or find

    a way to install
    > LAME for mp3 decoding. i will prefer the mp3 path,

    except i am stumped
    > with how to install it on the Infranrt Ready NAS box

    ....
    >
    >
    > superbad Wrote:
    >
    >>Most flac files are going to be around 800-1000kbps.

    If you go to
    >>http://www.dslreports.com/stest you can check the

    upload bandwidth on
    >>your home connection. Most cable and dsl connections

    have their upload
    >>speeds capped at quite a bit less than 1000kbps,

    which would explain
    >>your problem. I pay for the more expensive "fast"

    Comcast service, and
    >>my upload speed just tested at 695kbps.

    >
    >
    >


    --
    ___________________________________


    Mark Lanctot
    ___________________________________







Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •