Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    146

    Feature Request - copy settings

    I have just bought a new SB2 and am in the middle of setting it up. I have spent ages over the weeks/months tweaking my 'old' SB2 to give the menus/plugins/screensaver settings etc that I'm happy with. I'm finding it very frustrating getting the new one set up 'right'.

    Is there any way I can copy settings from one player to another ?? Or is this a new feature request ??

    There could also be another link on the SB web homepage to give Player Settings - All. Any changes would be reflected across all players and not just one at a time.

    Any thoughts ??

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    135
    > Is there any way I can copy settings from one player to another ??

    I think this could be done in the configuration file by copying the player info and replacing with the new MAC address, etc, but it might be tricky.

    > Or is this a new feature request ??

    Consider voting for this enhancement request...
    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=726

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    Feature Request - copy settings

    > Is there any way I can copy settings from one player to another ?? Or
    > is this a new feature request ??


    It is. I already thought about creating a plugin for doing this... but
    then: just open the preferences file and have a look at the clients
    section. You could simply copy the values from the old player beneath the
    new player's id (mac address).

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    146
    fair comments from both of you - thanks.
    However, whilst I am happy to start 'hacking' the prefs file, I'm not sure consumers would be. Maybe this goes back to the threads about 'non-techy' people using Slimserver... but a button to do this would be MUCH more user friendly, and by the sounds of it, very easy to implement.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Michaelwagner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oakville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,024
    So, again, consider voting for this enhancement request:
    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=726
    So far there are only 2 votes, me and one other person.

    The more votes, the more seriously Slim takes enhancement requests.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    146
    done.
    Fingers crossed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •