Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    152

    Shoutcast not working from server. Help needed

    Hi

    I can't play any Shoutcast stations from the server but I can from the player when using the remote. I have had this behaviour for 2 days now. Can someone help please.

    Many thanks

    SlimServer Version: 6.5b1 - 5011

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    Shoutcast not working from server. Help needed

    > I can't play any Shoutcast stations from the server but I can from the
    > player when using the remote. I have had this behaviour for 2 days
    > now. Can someone help please.


    What skin are you using? I'm fine with Default.

    > SlimServer Version: 6.5b1 - 5011


    Please beware of the 6.5 branch: the web interface is under heavy
    development. Problems can occur. So thanks a lot for reporting them! But
    if you want a stable system, go for 6.2.1.

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger
    > I can't play any Shoutcast stations from the server but I can from the
    > player when using the remote. I have had this behaviour for 2 days
    > now. Can someone help please.


    What skin are you using? I'm fine with Default.

    > SlimServer Version: 6.5b1 - 5011


    Please beware of the 6.5 branch: the web interface is under heavy
    development. Problems can occur. So thanks a lot for reporting them! But
    if you want a stable system, go for 6.2.1.

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)
    Hi Michael

    Yes I am using default too. I find it strange that the Shoutcast behaviour is limited to my PC only?

    If I wanted to go back to 6.2.1 is it just a matter of uninstalling the server and re-installing 6.2.1? Or do I need to remove some extra registry settings? And can I keep my current 6.5b1 prefs file? Is there a clean uninstall program anywhere for SlimServer?

    And would I lose some of the fixes especially the ('s) genre bug that was recently solved?

    Sorry for a shed load of questions :-)

    dfk

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    Re: Shoutcast not working from server. Help needed

    > Yes I am using default too. I find it strange that the Shoutcast
    > behaviour is limited to my PC only?


    I just noticed another issue: streams will only play the second time you
    hit play, be it on the web interface or the player. So if you first tried
    the web, then the player, you might think it's only working on the player.
    Can you reproduce this?

    > If I wanted to go back to 6.2.1 is it just a matter of uninstalling the
    > server and re-installing 6.2.1? Or do I need to remove some extra
    > registry settings? And can I keep my current 6.5b1 prefs file? Is
    > there a clean uninstall program anywhere for SlimServer?


    There's a slimserver.pref file (don't ask me where - I never used the
    Windows installer). Backup that file.

    > And would I lose some of the fixes especially the ('s) genre bug that
    > was recently solved?


    Do you know when it had been fixed?

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    152

    You have the same bug!

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger
    > Yes I am using default too. I find it strange that the Shoutcast
    > behaviour is limited to my PC only?


    I just noticed another issue: streams will only play the second time you
    hit play, be it on the web interface or the player. So if you first tried
    the web, then the player, you might think it's only working on the player.
    Can you reproduce this?

    > If I wanted to go back to 6.2.1 is it just a matter of uninstalling the
    > server and re-installing 6.2.1? Or do I need to remove some extra
    > registry settings? And can I keep my current 6.5b1 prefs file? Is
    > there a clean uninstall program anywhere for SlimServer?


    There's a slimserver.pref file (don't ask me where - I never used the
    Windows installer). Backup that file.

    > And would I lose some of the fixes especially the ('s) genre bug that
    > was recently solved?


    Do you know when it had been fixed?

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)
    Michael

    Bingo! That is the problem! I can only get it to play if I hit the play icon (the one on the left pane) TWICE also. I have only been hitting the play once. I have seen this behaviour for the past 2 nights.

    I have already rolled back to SlimServer Version: 6.2.1 - 5012 and I did save my prefs file! All my hard work installing AlienBBC down the drain because I thought that by installing it I had bust the Shoutcast streams :-)

    The ('s) genre problem is fixed in 6.2.1

    Well at least I don't think I am going daft anymore now that you can reproduce the problem :-)
    Last edited by dfk; 2005-11-03 at 13:57.

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    Re: Shoutcast not working from server. Help needed

    > Bingo! That is the problem! I can only get it to play if I hit the
    > play icon (the one on the left pane) TWICE also. I have only been
    > hitting the play once. This is only happening on the Shoutcast streams
    > the others seem fine.


    I knew we had this issue before:
    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1811

    It then was marked as "patched ... well enough for 6.1". Feel free to add
    your experience to that bug or open a new one if there's no reaction in
    the next few hours.

    > I have already rolled back to SlimServer Version: 6.2.1 - 5012 and I


    Don't you have this problem with 6.2.1?

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    152
    I have reported Bug#: 2481

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger
    >
    Don't you have this problem with 6.2.1?

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)
    Yes the hit the play button twice problem is still there with 6.2.1

    As an aside, if you set your SB2 to Squeezenetwork and then from the server try to play a Shoutcast stream, that this kills the server. I would of thought that the least that could happen would be that the server just ignored the request as the SB2 is for all intents and purposes off to it. Maybe another bug?

    dfk

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,353

    Re: Shoutcast not working from server. Help needed

    > As an aside, if you set your SB2 to Squeezenetwork and then from the
    > server try to play a Shoutcast stream, that this kills the server.


    Do I understand you right: when playing a Shoutcast stream from SQN, your
    local server will crash?!? This would be too odd...

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger
    > As an aside, if you set your SB2 to Squeezenetwork and then from the
    > server try to play a Shoutcast stream, that this kills the server.


    Do I understand you right: when playing a Shoutcast stream from SQN, your
    local server will crash?!? This would be too odd...

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)
    Michael

    Here is what happened:

    1) From the SB2 connect to the SQN

    2) Go to the server and it says in the right pane that there is no SB2 connected which would be correct.

    3) From the left pane of the server try to play any Shoutcast stream (even though the player is not being seen by the server as it is connected to SQN)

    4) Server crashes.

    dfk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •