Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Perl Commando Dan Sully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    2,865

    How you can help with SlimServer!

    * reptile shaped the electrons to say...

    >I'd love to help too. I'm a developer by trade and have been playing
    >around with perl for a while. The problem I have is I don't know where
    >to start, even with the list! I'm new to open source and don't want to
    >step on anyone's toes by grabbing something that someone else was going
    >to do. Is there a process for assigning bugs or documentation work to
    >people?


    Craig - the best place to start is just by asking on this list. So far there
    hasn't been much done, except for some documentation updates to the Wiki

    Just send out a message - "Hey, I want to work on this", and see if anyone else is as well.

    -D
    --
    It does not do to leave a live Dragon out of your calculations..

  2. #12
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Re: How you can help with SlimServer!

    Quoting reptile <reptile.1xzfmz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

    >
    > I'd love to help too. I'm a developer by trade and have been playing
    > around with perl for a while. The problem I have is I don't know where
    > to start, even with the list! I'm new to open source and don't want to
    > step on anyone's toes by grabbing something that someone else was going
    > to do. Is there a process for assigning bugs or documentation work to
    > people?


    If you see a bug you want to help with, just leave a comment about it. Actual
    help is much needed.

    most discussion is kept to the dev list, and bugs. If you see other
    areas that
    fit your interest, feel free to submit your own RFE with ideas, or bring it up
    in the dev list for feedback.

    -kdf

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    15

    Slimserver acc

    is there any chance of slimserver being compatable with apples proteced acc files

  4. #14
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,260

    Re: How you can help with SlimServer!

    > is there any chance of slimserver being compatable with apples proteced
    > acc files


    You'll have to ask Steve Jobs: as long as Apple does not license the
    necessary technologie, there won't be any application beside Apple's own.

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------
    Help translate SlimServer by using the
    SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)


  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger
    > is there any chance of slimserver being compatable with apples proteced
    > acc files


    You'll have to ask Steve Jobs: as long as Apple does not license the
    necessary technologie, there won't be any application beside Apple's own.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/4828296.stm
    may be of interest.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    DS as remote

    If anyone is still considering working on a skin for the Nintendo DS (I know there are several posts but nothing recent), I would be glad to help test. I have a DS Lite, SB3, and Slimserver 6.5.2.

    lee

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6

    Here's some help

    Well, thanks for the code however it is supported ....

    Here is a little help from me, but how to resolve the issue I am not sure.

    Your web interface is acting very odly, in the 7.9.2 server. It seems to be trying to act 'real clever' but the result of which is that it is doing exactly the opposite of what really makes sense. I have been running slim server squeeze logitech server since the early days. Never had much trouble.

    Now however I tried to re-install on a fresh install of Ubuntu Server. Strange behaviour is evident.

    The http server fires up and in netstat -l I see it is bound to no specific network interface. That's okay, but having control would be better.

    Still it gets worse. This server has multiple network interfaces, 2 internal and one external (public internet). When I connect to the server from my internal LAN subnet I get a 403: Forbidden response. The server log is trying to send its response message to my public internet address. Even though the traffic is all totally internal. If I open a hole in my firewall for port 9000, sure enough I can connect with the server on port 9000 no problem from the public Internet!!!!

    Nothing I have tried will make the server operate (bind) itself to my internal lan interface. Even if I unplug the Internet link and have only local interfaces. It refuse to use these. I think perhaps because the Internet interface is alive, but just missing an IP address. I will investigate further on this.

    I tried changing some settings in the /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/server.prefs file (allowedHosts: and bindAddress), but they just get ignored. Regardless of what these are the server only ever binds to my Internet address (BTW this is the first network interface listed on my server...go figure)

    So bottom line.....I can not yet use the damn server and worse I have no control over what it is doing.

    Maybe you can give me some better idea about how to control the server at set-up, I will if needed start messing with my underlying OS, but this is really not the best approach.
    Any tips, I have already seen others facing the same problems, so I'm not alone. Its inflexible.

    Thanks

  8. #18
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,260

    How you can help with SlimServer!

    > Your web interface is acting very odly, in the 7.9.2 server.

    Is it different from previous versions? Did you try an older version on
    that installation?

    > The http server fires up and in netstat -l I see it is bound to no
    > specific network interface. That's okay, but having control would be
    > better.


    You've been shown how you can bind it to one. Did you try that?

    > Still it gets worse. This server has multiple network interfaces, 2
    > internal and one external (public internet). When I connect to the
    > server from my internal LAN subnet I get a 403: Forbidden response. The


    As said before: tell LMS what interface to use. It seems to pick the
    wrong one. That's nothing new. The only change to older versions is that
    it would no longer accept connections from the other interfaces.
    Previously it would accept any connection from anywhere. Whether it be
    local or not.

    > server log is trying to send its response message to my public


    The server is only logging to a local file, no network.

    > address. Even though the traffic is all totally internal. If I open a
    > hole in my firewall for port 9000, sure enough I can connect with the
    > server on port 9000 no problem from the public Internet!!!!


    That's nothing new. You just didn't realize because you didn't think
    about it.

    > Nothing I have tried will make the server operate (bind) itself to my
    > internal lan interface.


    What did you try? I ask again: did you try the advice given in the other
    thread? From your response there I must assume you did not.

    > Any tips, I have already seen others facing the same problems, so I'm
    > not alone. Its inflexible.


    No, it's too flexible. If it wasn't flexible it would only run on
    Windows :-).

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •