Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: pause vs play

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    598

    pause vs play

    I am confused about what pause is supposed to do. If I am playing something and want to stop it temporarily, and then resume it, I would like to hit pause, and then hit it again to resume playback later from where I started.

    But when I do this (his pause again), it only seems to play the current track and then stops. If I hit Play, it starts the selection over again. Or, if it is a radio feed, it plays the buffer and stops.

    Maybe this is related to the fact that I have my slim set to display "Now Playing". How do I get the behavior I want?

  2. #2
    Senior Member stinkingpig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    833

    pause vs play

    jarome wrote:

    >I am confused about what pause is supposed to do. If I am playing
    >something and want to stop it temporarily, and then resume it, I would
    >like to hit pause, and then hit it again to resume playback later from
    >where I started.
    >
    >But when I do this (his pause again), it only seems to play the current
    >track and then stops. If I hit Play, it starts the selection over again.
    >Or, if it is a radio feed, it plays the buffer and stops.
    >
    >Maybe this is related to the fact that I have my slim set to display
    >"Now Playing". How do I get the behavior I want?
    >
    >
    >
    >

    are you sure you're not hitting stop? a tap on pause pauses, but holding
    it down is a stop. I just checked, and I get the correct resumption
    behavior from pressing pause again or pressing play. (6.1.1).

    --
    Jack At Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture!
    "I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin
    so across the Western ocean I must wander" -- trad.


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    598

    pause action

    If I rehit pause in a few minutes, it works as expected. But if I wait a few hours, it just plays the current track (or the buffer for radio).

  4. #4
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Re: pause vs play

    On 8-Oct-05, at 11:27 AM, jarome wrote:

    >
    > If I rehit pause in a few minutes, it works as expected. But if I wait
    > a
    > few hours, it just plays the current track (or the buffer for radio).
    >

    this is a known limitation for radio streaming, resulting in the
    following enhancement reequest:
    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1959

    there is also a known bug when pause is used too close to the end of a
    track:
    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2169

    -kdf


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •