Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: How to connect?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    72

    How to connect?

    I must have missed something but I am trying to set up a Squeezenetwork. I have signed up for the service which tells me in Step 1 to

    "browse to Squeezebox Home => SqueezeNetwork to connect. The first time you connect, your Squeezebox will prompt you to choose a language and timezone."

    I take it this means I have to do this on the actual box. When I do, I get the message "Can't find address for Squeezenetwork" Great!

    Step 2 tells me how to get my PIN. I figured that perhaps I have to register my pin first before it can connect, so I follow up the instruction "If you don't remember this PIN, with your remote go to Settings -> Squeezebox PIN to display a new PIN." When I do this the option does not appear in the settings menu.

    What am I doing wrong? Why won't SB2 connect to the network. I have no problems connecting to Slimserver and playing my music or receiving radio stations. I am using Slimserver 6.1.1.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    72

    I can ping it

    I just read an earlier thread again and tried pinging the network (I am behind a firewall) and this works fine, so that cannot be the problem.

    Luuk

  3. #3
    Gadfly, Former Founder Slim Devices dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    4,427

    How to connect?

    On Oct 2, 2005, at 1:12 PM, luuk wrote:

    >
    > I must have missed something but I am trying to set up a
    > Squeezenetwork.
    > I have signed up for the service which tells me in Step 1 to
    >
    > "browse to Squeezebox Home => SqueezeNetwork to connect. The first
    > time
    > you connect, your Squeezebox will prompt you to choose a language and
    > timezone."
    >
    > I take it this means I have to do this on the actual box. When I do, I
    > get the message "Can't find address for Squeezenetwork" Great!

    This means that the player can't get the IP address to connect to
    squeezenetwork. The DNS lookup is failing. Do you have a DNS server
    listed under View Current Settings?

    > Step 2 tells me how to get my PIN. I figured that perhaps I have to
    > register my pin first before it can connect, so I follow up the
    > instruction "If you don't remember this PIN, with your remote go to
    > Settings -> Squeezebox PIN to display a new PIN." When I do this the
    > option does not appear in the settings menu.

    You'll be able to do this once you get connected (see above.


  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    72

    DNS server

    Dean,

    I do have a DNS server listed. It is the same primary DNS server address that is also listed in the tcp settings for the wireless adapter of the computer on which Slimserver runs.

    Luuk

  5. #5
    Gadfly, Former Founder Slim Devices dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    4,427

    Re: How to connect?

    Luuk,

    Ok, so that's not it. Does your internet connection use PPPoE on
    your computer? Also, what kind of router are you using?

    -dean

    On Oct 3, 2005, at 6:39 AM, luuk wrote:

    >
    > Dean,
    >
    > I do have a DNS server listed. It is the same primary DNS server
    > address that is also listed in the tcp settings for the wireless
    > adapter of the computer on which Slimserver runs.
    >
    > Luuk
    >
    >
    > --
    > luuk
    >

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    72

    PPPoE & LinkSys

    Dean,

    I checked my access point settings and it looks as if I do use PPPoE to connect me via ADSL with the Internet. The router I use is a Linksys Wireless-G ADSL Gateway. I do not know if it is relevant but within the home network I use fixed IP addresses. I run XP SP2.

    Luuk

  7. #7
    Gadfly, Former Founder Slim Devices dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    4,427

    Re: How to connect?

    Ok, so your router/access point is set up for PPPoE and not your
    computer, right? (Since internet providers who use PPPoE only let
    one device connect with your account at a time, the router would need
    to do it, then the computer and Squeezebox would connect through the
    router's connection.)

    On Oct 3, 2005, at 9:54 AM, luuk wrote:

    >
    > Dean,
    >
    > I checked my access point settings and it looks as if I do use PPPoE
    > to connect me via ADSL with the Internet. The router I use is a
    > Linksys
    > Wireless-G ADSL Gateway. I do not know if it is relevant but within
    > the
    > home network I use fixed IP addresses. I run XP SP2.
    >
    > Luuk
    >
    >
    > --
    > luuk
    >

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    72

    PPPoE

    Dean,

    I am pretty sure that is indeed the case, because it is the Gateway that reports under Basic setup such PPPoE settings as user name and password. The gateway/modem logs me in, all other computers use a TCP protocoll to talk to each other and the gateway/modem with which they share the internet connection.

    Luuk

  9. #9
    Gadfly, Former Founder Slim Devices dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    4,427

    Re: How to connect?

    Ok, I don't have a solution for you. Please contact
    support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com and let us know on the forum how you solved
    the problem.

    Thanks!

    On Oct 3, 2005, at 10:45 AM, luuk wrote:

    >
    > Dean,
    >
    > I am pretty sure that is indeed the case, because it is the Gateway
    > that reports under Basic setup such PPPoE settings as user name and
    > password. The gateway/modem logs me in, all other computers use a TCP
    > protocoll to talk to each other and the gateway/modem with which they
    > share the internet connection.
    >
    > Luuk
    >
    >
    > --
    > luuk
    >

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    72

    Ok

    Ok and thanks.

    Luuk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •