Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member max.spicer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    York, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,661

    Searching with Default2 skin - fantastic!

    I've just noticed the search behaviour with the default2 skin (and assumedly exbrowse2). As you type your search terms into the web interface, the results are returned dynamically and instantly, without any page refreshes. It's really impressive! I've no idea if this is new behaviour, but well done to all who made it so. Anyone who hasn't ventured into the world of Default2, should definitely give it a go.

    Max
    Some people think the title of this song is irrelevant,
    but it's not irrelevant - it's a hippopotamus.

  2. #2
    Perl Commando Dan Sully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    2,865

    Searching with Default2 skin - fantastic!

    * max.spicer shaped the electrons to say...

    >I've just noticed the search behaviour with the default2 skin (and
    >assumedly exbrowse2). As you type your search terms into the web
    >interface, the results are returned dynamically and instantly, without
    >any page refreshes. It's really impressive! I've no idea if this is
    >new behaviour, but well done to all who made it so. Anyone who hasn't
    >ventured into the world of Default2, should definitely give it a go.


    That's also the case in 'Default' as well. And all of the other skins.

    -D
    --
    "It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity." - Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by max.spicer
    I've just noticed the search behaviour with the default2 skin (and assumedly exbrowse2). As you type your search terms into the web interface, the results are returned dynamically and instantly, without any page refreshes. It's really impressive! I've no idea if this is new behaviour, but well done to all who made it so. Anyone who hasn't ventured into the world of Default2, should definitely give it a go.

    Max
    Wow! No more screen refreshes in the browser either - this was probably the single greatest annoyance with the web interface before. Great work guys!!

    :-)

  4. #4
    Senior Member max.spicer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    York, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,661
    No it isn't. Default requires you to press the Search Music button. I don't see how Default could do this instantly as it requires page reloads to get new data. I assume that Default2 is doing clever things with Javascript and XML to do the search dynamically.

    Max

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sully
    * max.spicer shaped the electrons to say...

    >I've just noticed the search behaviour with the default2 skin (and
    >assumedly exbrowse2). As you type your search terms into the web
    >interface, the results are returned dynamically and instantly, without
    >any page refreshes. It's really impressive! I've no idea if this is
    >new behaviour, but well done to all who made it so. Anyone who hasn't
    >ventured into the world of Default2, should definitely give it a go.


    That's also the case in 'Default' as well. And all of the other skins.

    -D
    --
    "It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity." - Albert Einstein
    Some people think the title of this song is irrelevant,
    but it's not irrelevant - it's a hippopotamus.

  5. #5
    Perl Commando Dan Sully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Daly City, CA
    Posts
    2,865

    Searching with Default2 skin - fantastic!

    * max.spicer shaped the electrons to say...

    >No it isn't. Default requires you to press the Search Music button. I
    >don't see how Default could do this instantly as it requires page
    >reloads to get new data. I assume that Default2 is doing clever
    >things with Javascript and XML to do the search dynamically.


    Default doesn't require you to press the Search Music button - it's just
    there for backwards compatability with older browsers.

    -D
    --
    <iNoah> kernel's original recipe: 11 secret args and switches

  6. #6
    Jacob Potter
    Guest

    Re: Searching with Default2 skin - fantastic!

    On 8/15/05, max. spicer <max.spicer.1ttl71 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > No it isn't. Default requires you to press the Search Music button. I
    > don't see how Default could do this instantly as it requires page
    > reloads to get new data. I assume that Default2 is doing clever
    > things with Javascript and XML to do the search dynamically.


    Works for me on Default... what browser are you using?

    This is a bit technical, but here goes...

    The standard skins' livesearch uses the Prototype library, and
    retrieves plain ol' HTML from the server and stuffs it in to the
    document. You could call it AJAX, although there's not really any XML
    involved. Dan Sully wrote all the livesearch code.

    ExBrowse2 and Default2 (both of which I wrote ) are completely
    AJAX-based. EB2 uses my own JXTK library for everything, and
    communicates to the server via XML and HTTP GET requests. This works,
    but it's somewhat unreliable and occasionally suffers from caching
    issues. The livesearch data is retrieved as pure XML. It's styled on
    the client via XSLT (under Mozilla browsers only) or Javascript DOM
    manipulations.

    To complicate things further, I'm a few days away from being done with
    yet another rewrite of EB2, based on JSON-RPC (very similar to
    XML-RPC) rather than plain-old-XML. It's a LOT more reliable, and a
    bit faster as well.

    - Jacob

  7. #7
    Senior Member max.spicer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    York, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,661
    Oh yes, you're right (of course). It does take much longer to bring up the results though. I counted about five seconds before they appeared, or is this just my imagination that Default2 was much quicker?

    Max

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sully
    * max.spicer shaped the electrons to say...

    >No it isn't. Default requires you to press the Search Music button. I
    >don't see how Default could do this instantly as it requires page
    >reloads to get new data. I assume that Default2 is doing clever
    >things with Javascript and XML to do the search dynamically.


    Default doesn't require you to press the Search Music button - it's just
    there for backwards compatability with older browsers.

    -D
    --
    <iNoah> kernel's original recipe: 11 secret args and switches
    Some people think the title of this song is irrelevant,
    but it's not irrelevant - it's a hippopotamus.

  8. #8
    My only problem with default2 is that there is no On/Off control for my player (that I can find). It's there with default

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •