Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    18

    Problem connecting to SlimServer with wireless SB2

    Hi, folks -- I posted a commissurating response to dnighorn below, who shares the same misfortune. Here is the situation -- I received my wireless SB2 a couple of weeks ago and have not been able to get it to work. Everything's great (finds the network, assigns the address,etc.) until "Connecting to SlimServer" appears, upon which the unit goes blank after a few seconds. Yes, I took care of the firewall settings. And my AVG anti-virus software. I had a friend come over who's a software developer and owns a wired SB1 and he couldn't get it to do jack. This is a problem, folks. Any real solutions? Sorry, but the Manual was nearly useless, as are the online instructions. Very frustrated over here, in case you couldn't tell.

    Thanks for any help.

    Andy

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8,410

    Problem connecting to SlimServer with wireless SB2

    Andy,

    We need some more info to help on this as this sort of issue is likely to be specific to your configuration rather than generic:

    1) what OS
    2) what version of slimserver
    3) what's the wireless network [are all devices on the same subnet?]
    4) can you ping the player from the server
    5) what does netstat show (from a cmd window assuming on windows)
    6) what AV and firewall settings have you set to allow slimserver

    Adrian

    >
    > Hi, folks -- I posted a commissurating response to dnighorn below, who
    > shares the same misfortune. Here is the situation -- I received my
    > wireless SB2 a couple of weeks ago and have not been able to get it to
    > work. Everything's great (finds the network, assigns the address,etc.)
    > until "Connecting to SlimServer" appears, upon which the unit goes blank
    > after a few seconds. Yes, I took care of the firewall settings. And my
    > AVG anti-virus software. I had a friend come over who's a software
    > developer and owns a wired SB1 and he couldn't get it to do jack. This
    > is a problem, folks. Any real solutions? Sorry, but the Manual was
    > nearly useless, as are the online instructions. Very frustrated over
    > here, in case you couldn't tell.



  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    18
    First off, thank you for responding. I've interspersed the answers to your questions and sorry for not providing this previously.

    ) what OS

    XP pro
    2) what version of slimserver

    The latest. I downloaded whatever was on the site last week in an attempt to see if this was the root problem.

    3) what's the wireless network [are all devices on the same subnet?]
    I'm not sure what you mean by what the wireless network is, but all devices are on the same subnet.

    4) can you ping the player from the server

    Yes

    5) what does netstat show (from a cmd window assuming on windows)

    Netstat shows listings, without actual data, for "Proto," "Local Address," "Foreign Address," and "State."

    6) what AV and firewall settings have you set to allow slimserver

    First, i went to exceptions, where Windows had already recognized and blocked the Slimerver. I unchecked these. I rebooted. Nothing. I then disabled the the firewall entirely. Same thing. Did the same thing with the AVG antivirus program. Same result.

    Thanks for your help.

    Andy

  4. #4
    Senior Member stinkingpig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    833

    Re: Problem connecting to SlimServer with wireless SB2

    awm wrote:
    > First off, thank you for responding. I've interspersed the answers to
    > your questions and sorry for not providing this previously.
    >
    > ) what OS
    >
    > XP pro
    > 2) what version of slimserver
    >
    > The latest. I downloaded whatever was on the site last week in an
    > attempt to see if this was the root problem.
    >
    > 3) what's the wireless network [are all devices on the same subnet?]
    > I'm not sure what you mean by what the wireless network is, but all
    > devices are on the same subnet.
    >
    > 4) can you ping the player from the server
    >
    > Yes
    >
    > 5) what does netstat show (from a cmd window assuming on windows)
    >
    > Netstat shows listings, without actual data, for "Proto," "Local
    > Address," "Foreign Address," and "State."
    >


    then your server isn't running. Try starting it again, you should see
    lines for 9000 and 3483, at least.

    > 6) what AV and firewall settings have you set to allow slimserver
    >
    > First, i went to exceptions, where Windows had already recognized and
    > blocked the Slimerver. I unchecked these. I rebooted. Nothing. I
    > then disabled the the firewall entirely. Same thing. Did the same
    > thing with the AVG antivirus program. Same result.
    >


    AVG doesn't do a network block, but XPSP2 firewall certainly will. The
    exceptions list is what SHOULD NOT be blocked, unchecking applications
    there will cause them to be blocked.

    > Thanks for your help.
    >
    > Andy
    >
    >



    --
    Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
    Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    18
    Whoops. The answer to your # 5 about netstat was wrong.

    Here is what netstat says:
    TCP Mycomputer:http localhost:2920 TIME_WAIT
    TCP Mycomputer:2921 localhost:9000 TIME_WAIT
    TCP Mycomputer:2927 localhost:9000 ESTABLSIHED
    TCP Mycomputer:9000 localhost:2923 TIME_WAIT
    TCP Mycomputer:9000 localhost:2927 ESTABLISHED

    Stinkingpig, I went back and checked the exceptions in the firewall. Actually, when I first accessed the firewall to see if Windows was blocking it, they were already checked. Upshot -- no progress. Hopefully, the correct info above will help.

    Thanks,
    Andy

  6. #6

    Re: Problem connecting to SlimServer with wireless SB2

    On Sun, Jun 26, 2005 at 01:16:25PM -0700, awm wrote:
    :
    : Whoops. The answer to your # 5 about netstat was wrong.
    :
    : Here is what netstat says:
    : TCP Mycomputer:http localhost:2920 TIME_WAIT
    : TCP Mycomputer:2921 localhost:9000 TIME_WAIT
    : TCP Mycomputer:2927 localhost:9000 ESTABLSIHED
    : TCP Mycomputer:9000 localhost:2923 TIME_WAIT
    : TCP Mycomputer:9000 localhost:2927 ESTABLISHED

    Hrm. Still no 3483. Is it possible you have another service
    which listens on port 9000 which is already running?

    Try this;

    netstat -b

    It will tell us what program is listening on what port.

    --mikeb


    : Stinkingpig, I went back and checked the exceptions in the firewall.
    : Actually, when I first accessed the firewall to see if Windows was
    : blocking it, they were already checked. Upshot -- no progress.
    : Hopefully, the correct info above will help.
    :
    : Thanks,
    : Andy
    :
    :
    : --
    : awm
    :

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    18
    Hi, Mikeb --

    thanks for the tips. I tried what you suggested and got a ton of listings, but nothing for 9000 or the 3483.

    What does this tell you?

    Andy

  8. #8

    Re: Problem connecting to SlimServer with wireless SB2

    On Sun, Jun 26, 2005 at 01:45:47PM -0700, awm wrote:
    :
    : Hi, Mikeb --
    :
    : thanks for the tips. I tried what you suggested and got a ton of
    : listings, but nothing for 9000 or the 3483.
    :
    : What does this tell you?

    Not sure.

    If you look at your process list do you see slimserver running?

    Try this;

    stop slimserver
    netstat -b (make sure nothing is on 9000 or 3483)
    start slimserver
    check the process list to see if it's running
    netstat -b (show us the output of 9000 / 3483)

    Then open a cmd window, and run; telnet localhost 9000

    If it connects the screen will kind of go blank.
    Type; GET / then hit enter (you won't see the text you type)
    and quite a bit of HTML should scroll by.

    If all that works, try the same telnet and GET command (except
    with the slimserver machine's IP instead of localhost) from a
    remote machine on the LAN.

    And if THAT works, then try the squeezebox again.

    If something fails, tell us what it is.

    --mikeb

    :
    : Andy
    :
    :
    : --
    : awm
    :

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    18
    Hi, mikeb -- did as you suggested:

    "Try this;

    stop slimserver
    netstat -b (make sure nothing is on 9000 or 3483)
    start slimserver
    check the process list to see if it's running
    netstat -b (show us the output of 9000 / 3483)

    Then open a cmd window, and run; telnet localhost 9000

    If it connects the screen will kind of go blank.
    Type; GET / then hit enter (you won't see the text you type)
    and quite a bit of HTML should scroll by.



    OK -- here is where things apparently went awry. Everything went as you indicated, and a bunch of HTML flew by. Then, at the bottom, it said,"Connection to host lost."

    So, where does this leave us?

    Thanks a BUNCH for your time.

    Andy

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    18
    OK, this is weird. I tried to repeat the suggested procedure, starting from stopping Slimserver, accessing dos CMD and entering netstat -b. This time, a lot more stuff went by than previously, and the 9000 port was included in the following manner: "TCP Mycomputer:9000 Localhost:1286 TIME_WAIT"

    ???

    Thanks,
    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •