Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9

    Lower default bitrate limit for internet streaming?

    I use slimserver to listen to my music collection by streaming it over the net. As I'm connecting to the server from different IP's (mostly dialup accounts), I have to change the default 320kBit bitrate limit nearly every time I connect to the server. Moreover I always run into slightly bandwidth trouble, because at first I have to start the player to configure the limit on the server. But when the server is started it streams full 320 kBit of pure silence to the player, until I limit the bitrate or play a mp3 with a lower bitrate. As this stream of silence exceeds the upload bandwidth of my ADSL, the slimserver http interface gets very slow and it needs nearly a minute to reach the bitrate limit configuration page. I hope, you understand the problem. :-)

    Is there a way to change the default bitrate limit for unknown players? I understand, that I could "hard code" a lower limit in the convert.conf file for every file type, but then the bandwidth limit setting on the http interface becomes useless and I always have to change convert.conf, if I want to change the limit.

    I would prefer a solution, where I can set a lower default bitrate for new players, which can be changed from the player settings anyhow. Is this possible?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    174

    Lower default bitrate limit for internet streaming?

    jeas wrote:
    > I use slimserver to listen to my music collection by streaming it over
    > the net. As I'm connecting to the server from different IP's (mostly
    > dialup accounts), I have to change the default 320kBit bitrate limit
    > nearly every time I connect to the server. Moreover I always run into
    > slightly bandwidth trouble, because at first I have to start the player
    > to configure the limit on the server. But when the server is started it
    > streams full 320 kBit of pure silence to the player, until I limit the
    > bitrate or play a mp3 with a lower bitrate. As this stream of silence
    > exceeds the upload bandwidth of my ADSL, the slimserver http interface
    > gets very slow and it needs nearly a minute to reach the bitrate limit
    > configuration page. I hope, you understand the problem. :-)
    >
    > Is there a way to change the default bitrate limit for unknown players?
    > I understand, that I could "hard code" a lower limit in the convert.conf
    > file for every file type, but then the bandwidth limit setting on the
    > http interface becomes useless and I always have to change
    > convert.conf, if I want to change the limit.
    >
    > I would prefer a solution, where I can set a lower default bitrate for
    > new players, which can be changed from the player settings anyhow. Is
    > this possible?
    >
    >


    If you are using a player such as winamp, media player or itunes to
    conenct to http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3 try usingl:

    http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128
    or replace 128 with which ever bitrate you want to use.

    However you will still have the same problem that silence is encoded at
    320kbps )-: But atleast you wont have to battle to the bitrate page!

    The other option is to use softsqueeze. I think if you keep on using the
    same copy of softsqueeze (i.e. from the same comptuer but different IP
    addresses) it should still remember the settings for the player.

    HTH


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by gorstk
    If you are using a player such as winamp, media player or itunes to
    conenct to http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3 try usingl:

    http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128
    or replace 128 with which ever bitrate you want to use.
    Ok, thanks for the tip. This works at least while music is playing.

    Quote Originally Posted by gorstk
    However you will still have the same problem that silence is encoded at
    320kbps )-:
    Yes, obviously. I think this should be reviewed for one of the next versions. At least the server should use the requested bitrate also for streaming silence. Even better it should *always* encode the silence with a very low bitrate. There is no reason to stream perfect silence with a high bitrate as the result is always the same.

    Quote Originally Posted by gorstk
    [color=blue]
    The other option is to use softsqueeze. I think if you keep on using the
    same copy of softsqueeze (i.e. from the same comptuer but different IP
    addresses) it should still remember the settings for the player.
    Yes, I will keep this option in mind, but to be honest, I don't want to have yet another player on my computer.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    174

    Re: Lower default bitrate limit for internet streaming?

    jeas wrote:

    > Yes, obviously. I think this should be reviewed for one of the next
    > versions. At least the server should use the requested bitrate also for
    > streaming silence. Even better it should *always* encode the silence
    > with a very low bitrate. There is no reason to stream perfect silence
    > with a high bitrate as the result is always the same.


    Look at:
    /slimserver/HTML/EN/html/silence.mp3
    and
    /slimserver/HTML/EN/html/lbrsilence.mp3

    One is encoded at 96 and the other at 320. I am not sure if the lbr (low
    bitrate?) one is actually used by slimserver. Maybe you should just try
    renaming lbrsilence.mp3 to silence.mp3 and see what happens!

    HTH


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks again for your help. Replacing 'silence.mp3' with a file with lower bitrate works fine.

    Nevertheless I would propose replacing this 320 kBps mp3 for the slimserver distribution too. There is no use for a high bitrate silence stream from slimserver I think.

    A hint for others that want to do the same: Keep a copy of your lower bitrate silence file, because the file will probably be overwritten again by slimserver updates.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    174

    Re: Lower default bitrate limit for internet streaming?

    jeas wrote:
    > Thanks again for your help. Replacing 'silence.mp3' with a file with
    > lower bitrate works fine.
    >
    > Nevertheless I would propose replacing this 320 kBps mp3 for the
    > slimserver distribution too. There is no use for a high bitrate silence
    > stream from slimserver I think.
    >
    > A hint for others that want to do the same: Keep a copy of your lower
    > bitrate silence file, because the file will probably be overwritten
    > again by slimserver updates.



    File a bug at bugs.slimdevices.com with the problem and work around. It
    will then be considered. There may be a good reason it was set at
    320kbps. Although I cant think of one and maybe 96kbps is still too
    high, maybe we should have a 32kbps silence file?


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Due to your hint, I searched the bug reports and found a similar report that was already opened in 11/2004:

    http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=662

    This basically describes my problem and the same solution. As the 320 kBps silence file is still in the distribution, either nobody read the bug report or there is no priority to change this bahavior (by at least replacing the mp3 file, which would be the most simple solution). Hmmm...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    40
    Make a BugZilla account and vote for the bug.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by gorstk
    If you are using a player such as winamp, media player or itunes to
    conenct to http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3 try usingl:

    http://serverip:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128
    or replace 128 with which ever bitrate you want to use.
    That's very helpful. Is there a similar way to set the qval so that it doesn't default to 9 (fast and poor quality)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •