Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member arrowd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    5

    LMS scanning error - Didn't find Spotty helper application

    Can anyone help with this? I don't often look at the scanner log, but I think this is a relatively new problem. This is LMS v8.2.1 running on TrueNAS v13 in a jail using FreeBSD v12.2. The Spotty version is 4.8.3, and the Spotty Helper Application for FreeBSD 11 is v0.35.0.

    From my LMS scanner log:
    [22-08-10 10:48:44.4426] Slim::Music::Import::runImporter (578) Starting Plugins::Spotty::Importer scan
    [22-08-10 10:48:44.4679] Plugins::Spotty::Helper::get (51) Didn't find Spotty helper application!
    [22-08-10 10:48:44.4725] Plugins::Spotty::API::Token::_gotTokenInfo (153) Failed to get Spotify access token: malformed JSON string, neither tag, array, object, number, string or atom, at character offset 0 (before "sh: : Permission den...") at /usr/local/share/logitechmediaserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/API/Token.pm line 150.
    sh: : Permission denied
    [22-08-10 10:48:44.4727] main::main (338) Error: Failed when running main scan: [Can't use string ("sh: : Permission denied
    ") as a HASH ref while "strict refs" in use at /usr/local/share/logitechmediaserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/API/Token.pm line 168.]
    [22-08-10 10:48:44.4728] main::main (339) Error: Skipping post-process & Not updating lastRescanTime!

    Otherwise Spotify seems to be working fine on my Squeezeboxes. I don't know enough to have moved Spotty Helper to a non-standard location.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,775

    LMS scanning error - Didn't findSpotty helper application

    > (before "sh: : Permission den...") at

    Did you check permissions on the spotty helper binary?

  3. #3
    Junior Member arrowd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    5
    root@LMS8-Cory:/usr/local/share/logitechmediaserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/SpottyBinFreeBSD/Bin:

    -rwxr-xr-x 1 slimserv slimserv 6253933 Nov 17 2019 spotty-custom
    Last edited by arrowd; 2022-08-11 at 04:31.

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,775

    LMS scanning error - Didn't findSpotty helper application

    > root@LMS8-Cory:/usr/local/share/logitechmediaserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/SpottyBinFreeBSD/Bin:
    >
    > -rwxr-xr-x 1 slimserv slimserv 6253933 Nov 17 2019 spotty-custom


    Oh, I think I see what's happening there: the scanner doesn't know about
    this plugin. It would require more work.

    To work around this limitation could you symlink the file to Spotty/Bin
    (or copy it)? Would that work?

  5. #5
    Junior Member arrowd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    5
    I copied 'spotty-custom' to .../Spotty/Bin. Then I restarted the jail to restart LMS. Then I rescanned the library. Same exact results in scanner log.

  6. #6
    Junior Member arrowd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    5
    Michael,

    Any other suggestions?

  7. #7
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,775

    LMS scanning error - Didn't findSpotty helper application

    I'm sorry, I haven't found the time yet to further look into this. The
    fact that you say it still wouldn't work if you copied the file is
    rather confusing. I must assume the file was executable (when accessed
    from a shell) from that location? And Spotty otherwise is working?

    Your helper version is rather old (3 years?). I wonder whether I broke
    compatibility at some point. Would you have the opportunity to build the
    latest code yourself? It should be pretty straight forward:

    * install rust (https://rustup.rs)
    * clone the "spotty" branch from https://github.com/michaelherger/librespot/
    * run "cargo build --release"
    * "cp target/debug/spotty path/to/Spotty/Bin/spotty-custom"

  8. #8
    Junior Member arrowd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    5
    I don't think I can do that: 1) LMS is running on a TrueNAS/FreeBSD server where I can't install rust. 2) I run Windows and imagine I would have to build the helper on the same OS that it will be running on?? 3) I'm much closer to being a newbie than to being an expert.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,775

    LMS scanning error - Didn't findSpotty helper application

    > I don't think I can do that: 1) LMS is running on a TrueNAS/FreeBSD
    > server where I can't install rust. 2) I run Windows and imagine I would
    > have to build the helper on the same OS that it will be running on?? 3)
    > I'm much closer to being a newbie than to being an expert.


    I'm sorry, I still assume a power user whenever I read "FreeBSD" :-D.
    Maybe you can ask the author of the Spotty for FreeBSD plugin whether he
    could update it? You should find his email on the Plugins page in LMS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •