Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    17

    Pandora not working - Client restricted due to licensing restrictions

    I have used my Squeezebox Radio for years without issue. I mainly use it to stream from Pandora. Today, when I tried to play a Pandora station, it shows a message stating "Client restricted due to licensing restrictions (are you not in the US?).

    I found an old posting from two years ago on the Pandora forums where Pandora stated the issue was on Logitech's side.

    Anyone else seeing this behavior?

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,748

    Pandora not working - Client restricteddue to licensing restrictions

    > I have used my Squeezebox Radio for years without issue. I mainly use
    > it to stream from Pandora. Today, when I tried to play a Pandora
    > station, it shows a message stating "Client restricted due to licensing
    > restrictions (are you not in the US?).


    I can confirm there currently is an issue with Pandora on going. As
    we're working on updating some of the infrastructure we need them to
    update some of the configuration on their end. Alas, it's not easy, as
    all of the contacts I had used in the past seem to have left the
    company. I'm working on it.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I have used my Squeezebox Radio for years without issue. I mainly use
    > it to stream from Pandora. Today, when I tried to play a Pandora
    > station, it shows a message stating "Client restricted due to licensing
    > restrictions (are you not in the US?).


    I can confirm there currently is an issue with Pandora on going. As
    we're working on updating some of the infrastructure we need them to
    update some of the configuration on their end. Alas, it's not easy, as
    all of the contacts I had used in the past seem to have left the
    company. I'm working on it.
    Thanks for the prompt response. I really appreciate it and while I am glad it is a known issue, I am hopeful you are able to find a helpful contact at Pandora. If you need any help with testing, I am happy to assist.

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,748

    Pandora not working - Client restricteddue to licensing restrictions

    >>> I have used my Squeezebox Radio for years without issue. I mainly

    BTW: are you using it with the UE SmartRadio firmware or with Squeezebox?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >>> I have used my Squeezebox Radio for years without issue. I mainly

    BTW: are you using it with the UE SmartRadio firmware or with Squeezebox?
    I have two radios and both are upgraded to the UE SmartRadio firmware.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,231
    FWIW, Pandora working for me.
    Using with PiCorePlayer
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  7. #7
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,748

    Pandora not working - Client restricteddue to licensing restrictions

    > I have two radios and both are upgraded to the UE SmartRadio firmware.

    Thanks for the confirmation!

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,748

    Pandora not working - Client restricteddue to licensing restrictions

    > FWIW, Pandora working for me now.

    Because you're using Squeezebox, not UE SmartRadio, right? The issue
    currently is UE SmartRadio only.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,231
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > FWIW, Pandora working for me now.

    Because you're using Squeezebox, not UE SmartRadio, right? The issue
    currently is UE SmartRadio only.
    Yes, Squeezebox
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,259
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > FWIW, Pandora working for me now.

    Because you're using Squeezebox, not UE SmartRadio, right? The issue
    currently is UE SmartRadio only.
    forgive me for sticking my nose in here, but the OP stated he/she uses the radios primarily for listening to pandora, and considers the move to UE an "upgrade" (not sure I agree, but...). Since their main use is not functional until things get sorted, could they not just switch back to squeezebox, at least until the issue is resolved? As we know, the switch back and forth is easy.

    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •