Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23

    Using standalone Touch

    Years ago I ran LMS on a NAS and had two touches connected. Ive just found the Touch's in the loft but dont have the NAS, can the Touch devices work on their own and connect to Spotify?

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Forton PR3
    Posts
    5,334
    Quote Originally Posted by sponsford View Post
    Years ago I ran LMS on a NAS and had two touches connected. Ive just found the Touch's in the loft but dont have the NAS, can the Touch devices work on their own and connect to Spotify?
    No, they can work on their own to play radio stations and music files from an attached USB drive or SD card. To get Spotify you would need to install the LMS Spotty plugin on LMS running on a PC MAC NAS Raspberry Pi, etc..
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 RPi4B 4GB/NanoSound ONE case/pCP 8.1.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on Sata SSD (ntfs)

    Lounge - DAC32 - AudioEngine B2
    Office - RPi 3B+/HiFiBerry DAC HAT/RPi screen - Edifier D12
    Bedroom - Echo Show 8

    Spares - 1xSB Touch, 1xSB3, 3xRPi, 1xCORE32, AVI DM5 speakers

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    8

    Need some of the same basic info:

    To Anyone.... Newbie needs some help, please.

    I recently acqired a factory defaulted SqueezeBox Touch and am thankful to have found this repository of information. I have been reading diligently and searching for specific iformation as I only have 20 more days to try it out and test it before I can return it if there are any issues. I will continue reading but need some info fast in order to get me going.

    I plan on adding an updated DAC via the digital output, but for now need some quick information and links if they can be provided.

    Here are my questions:

    1. Can I simply plug in a 2TB SSD with all FLAC, WMA and DSD files to the unit via the USB port and use it as a standalone source?

    2. Or do I have to have or use Logitech Music Server Software? Where can I download the latest version of LMS?

    3. Where can I download and how do I load the latest firmware into the unit?

    4. Is there a limit on the number of files it will recognize and can they be formatted as Master Folder -> Artist Sub-Folder -> Album Sub Folders with individual tracks and embedded album art?

    5. Has anyone used an AudioQuest Beetle DAC with the unit and does it offer a major improvement. I can't find any info on the factory DAC type or specs? Any info here are a recommended improvement DAC for a reasonable price would be appreciated. The Beetles are available under $50. I can't go for a $500 unit right now as I'm in the middle of finishing a rebuild of a Dynaco PAS4 tube preamp.

    Thanks to anyone and all who can provide any info to these questions. Feel free to PM me if that is better.

    Hoping to enjoy the music soon!!!!

    Thanks again.
    Thx1326

  4. #4
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Forton PR3
    Posts
    5,334
    Quote Originally Posted by Thx1326 View Post

    1. Can I simply plug in a 2TB SSD with all FLAC, WMA and DSD files to the unit via the USB port and use it as a standalone source?
    Don't even attempt it!

    The Touch is okay for a few albums on a USB stick or SD card, but I definitely wouldn't recommend attaching a 2TB drive. The Touch is under-powered, you would be disappointed/frustrated with the constant crashing which would initiate a rescan which takes forever.

    If the Touch has the most recent community firmware installed then the inbuilt server has been removed anyway.

    LMS is the way to go.
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 RPi4B 4GB/NanoSound ONE case/pCP 8.1.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on Sata SSD (ntfs)

    Lounge - DAC32 - AudioEngine B2
    Office - RPi 3B+/HiFiBerry DAC HAT/RPi screen - Edifier D12
    Bedroom - Echo Show 8

    Spares - 1xSB Touch, 1xSB3, 3xRPi, 1xCORE32, AVI DM5 speakers

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,281
    Hi Thx1326, welcome...

    It's best to not start two threads on the same subject. I know that it seems like you might get more visibility, but people will find your single thread and respond if they have something to add

    To add to @ktp's comment, and the comments in the other thread~

    - The touch is a fine device and it's DAC is quite good for it's price point. But if you want to add a DAC, it could/should improve it's performance. I run one of my touch's through an Oppo BDP-105D, which has a fine DAC and another through a Schitt Bitfrost DAC. But I also have one that I am using it's DAC. I'm not really familiar with the $50-$200USD DAC's

    - You have been wisely told to avoid using the built in "Tiny LMS" as a server. I had tried this for a friend with just a USB stick of music and the crashing was constant when you would try to do anything other than just play music (menus etc). I bought a pi for my friend as a LMS server using picoreplayer.

    - I can't remember ever reading of any limits to files/songs. My library has 1300 albums, 16,000 songs, and I know that others here have alot more!

    Jim

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,221
    I don't think the dac linked to by the OP offers any improvement over in inbuilt one of the SBTouch (a skim of the specs)

    I can confirm this dac does work with the SBTouch EDO (listening as I type)

    https://www.amazon.com/Khadas-Board-...s%2C149&sr=8-3

    I use a case similar to this

    https://www.amazon.com/youyeetoo-Kha.../dp/B07ZYYG7BC


    Other suppliers, are, of course, available.

    Whilst browsing for links I found this, I believe it is well thought of in some quarters, but don't know if it works with EDO

    https://www.amazon.com/Portable-Head...%2C149&sr=8-12


    The OP can install LMS on his computer of course

    ronnie

  7. #7
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,749

    Using standalone Touch

    > - I can't remember ever reading of any limits to files/songs. My library
    > has 1300 albums, 16,000 songs, and I know that others here have alot
    > more!


    I regularly get observations/bug reports from a user having > 1M tracks.
    For most users this means there's no limit.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > - I can't remember ever reading of any limits to files/songs. My library
    > has 1300 albums, 16,000 songs, and I know that others here have alot
    > more!


    I regularly get observations/bug reports from a user having > 1M tracks.
    For most users this means there's no limit.

    NEW QUESTION / CLARIFICATION: So does this mean I have to have a "local computer" up and running at all times in order to use the SqueezeBox Touch? I though it would recognize the files on the connected USB drive or memory card? Otherwise, what is the use of having the Touch? I was only planning on using it on a single standalone audio system. Would it work if I connected the hard drive with audio files to my router (it has several USB ports to allow it to be used as a server). In otherwords, is there a way to use it to choose files to play without having a computer on and running?
    Can someone explain this a bit more?

    I did get a bit heftier Power Supply (5v 5 amp) instead of the stock 3.5 amp. And I only want to use it on a single audio system as a selection device to choose tracks sorted by artist and album.

    What is this PI computer you are referring to and where and how would I use it. I'm trying to avoid having to have a computer running anytime I want to listen to music on this single system. If this can't be done, I guess I can just plug the drive into the back of my CD player (Marantz CD6007) which can act as a music server...but then I loose the nice album art display, etc.

    Any further help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks again to all.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,281
    Quote Originally Posted by Thx1326 View Post
    NEW QUESTION / CLARIFICATION: So does this mean I have to have a "local computer" up and running at all times in order to use the SqueezeBox Touch? I though it would recognize the files on the connected USB drive or memory card? Otherwise, what is the use of having the Touch? I was only planning on using it on a single standalone audio system. Would it work if I connected the hard drive with audio files to my router (it has several USB ports to allow it to be used as a server). In otherwords, is there a way to use it to choose files to play without having a computer on and running?
    Can someone explain this a bit more?

    I did get a bit heftier Power Supply (5v 5 amp) instead of the stock 3.5 amp. And I only want to use it on a single audio system as a selection device to choose tracks sorted by artist and album.

    What is this PI computer you are referring to and where and how would I use it. I'm trying to avoid having to have a computer running anytime I want to listen to music on this single system. If this can't be done, I guess I can just plug the drive into the back of my CD player (Marantz CD6007) which can act as a music server...but then I loose the nice album art display, etc.

    Any further help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks again to all.
    Unfortunately (in your case) yes. It is true that the touch was designed to have the ability to be "standalone". With things like internet radio, some services (pandora, etc) this works fine. However, the touch was also supplied with the "ability" to run a "light" version of LMS (Logitech Media Server), and as such, access music files through the usb port.

    It does work, just not very well. Also, "tiny LMS" was abandoned many years ago, and times have changed. Things like https access are not possible, but is with "real LMS". LMS also offers so much more as well.

    So, you wuold benefit from running LMS on "something". It could be a PC, a Mac, a NAS, etc. The raspberry pi single board computer has become a very popular platform. I use one with picoreplayer, but there are other ways to run LMS on a pi.

    I truly understand the "I just want one box to play my music". Sincerely. You can, but it's limited, not great, and crashes. I went from using a PC to run LMS to a pi running picore player and a HDD attached. It is small, buried, powered on 24/7 and cost me less than $100USD (with 2TB storage) at the time. Now I leave my PC's off most of the time.

    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •