Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Member threej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    US
    Posts
    30
    When I type "ls" (no quotes) after "scp -oKexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -c aes128-cbc /Users/jclark/Desktop/wlanpoke-main/* root@010.000.001.176:/etc/wlanpoke" I get no response. I must be missing something.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,825
    scp is secure copy - to copy files from one machine to another

    ssh is secure shell - to open up a terminal session on a remote machine

    ls after scp will lost the files on the ôlocalö machine (where you currently have a session open).

    Try the ssh command and then the ls
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  3. #13
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,230
    In the instructions I posted, scp is done from the radio after ssh, so he should already be in the SB Radio’s Terminal and should see the files that were copied.

    Beat if the OP just starts over with the instructions posted.
    Last edited by Tony T; 2022-07-06 at 14:44.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  4. #14
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    402
    Here's a copy of my notes on installing wlanpoke from Mac OS, plus a few extra bits hopefully for clarity.

    Hopefully this will help you

    Kev

    PS if you are worried about the vi editor section, it is a bit of a strange editor, you can practice harmlessly on your mac terminal before you ssh into the radio:
    after starting terminal on your mac and then cd downloads just type vi testedit.txt you can then follow the vi editor commands below and check your results in finder and of course delete the testedit.txt file from finder when you've finished.

    PPS You should be able to drag over to select and copy the longer commands and then paste them into you terminal session, then use the cursor to go back along the line to correct the IP Address. The blue formatting to "email link" put on by the forum software because of the root@ doesn't affect the command, I tried to remove the formatting, but the forum software just puts it back in.

    wlanpoke install from Mac OS

    On SqueezeBox Radio (hereafter SBR) menu enable SSH login...
    Power on Radio
    Press Home button
    Scroll down to "Settings"... press large control knob
    Scroll down to "Advanced"... press large control knob
    Scroll down to "Remote Login" press large control knob
    "Enable SSH" should have the little box to the right checked in green - toggle on/off by pressing the large control knob
    Back arrow or home to exit

    Check SBR IP address in Radio menu
    Press Home button
    Scroll down to "Settings"... press large control knob
    Scroll down to "Advanced"... press large control knob
    Scroll down to "Diagnostics" press large control knob
    Scroll down to "Wireless Info" press large control knob
    Record the IP Address listed on that page - that will replace the nnn.nnn.n.nnn in the commands below


    Now back on your Mac... Download wlanpoke-main.zip to Mac Downloads folder

    Start terminal, type in commands in bold italics below

    >>> cd Downloads (this is where wlanpoke-main.zip is)

    >>> scp -o KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -o Ciphers=aes256-cbc wlanpoke-main.zip root@nnn.nnn.n.nnn:/etc/wlanpoke-main.zip (This copies wlanpoke-main.zip from you Mac Downloads folder to the SBR's root/etc folder, don't forget to put in your SBR's IP Address instead of the nnn's)


    Now SSH into the SBR as root:

    >>>> ssh -o KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -o Ciphers=aes256-cbc root@nnn.nnn.n.nnn

    Enter password:

    1234

    You should now be logged into the SBR, again type commands in bold italics below:

    # ls /etc/ (gives directory list and should show wlanpoke-main.zip)

    # mkdir /etc/wlanpoke (create wlanpoke directory)

    # unzip -o /etc/wlanpoke-main.zip -d/etc/wlanpoke (unpack zip file into wlanpoke directory)

    # mv -f /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke-main/* /etc/wlanpoke (move unpacked files from wlanpoke-main sub directory to wlanpoke)

    Then change some wlanpoke file permissions

    # chmod 755 /etc/wlanpoke/*.sh

    # chmod 755 /etc/wlanpoke/rcS.local.example

    Now check for existing rcS.local

    # ls -al /etc/init.d

    If no rcS.local copy example from wlanpoke directory

    # cp /etc/wlanpoke/rcS.local.example /etc/init.d/rcS.local

    Then edit your new rcS.local

    # vi /etc/init.d/rcS.local

    Change 3rd line to

    /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke.sh -W slow -x &

    (vi commands - i = insert, then arrow cursor to where you want to insert and type in new text, then esc followed by :w to save changes and then :q to exit vi)

    You can now run wlanpoke:

    # /etc/init.d/rcS.local

    You should see it start, and with the above start line in rcS.local you have a summary web page on nnn.nnn.n.nnn:8080

    Once you are finished and everything is working don't forget to disable SSH access from the SBR menu.
    Last edited by KeBul; 2022-07-07 at 12:05.

  5. #15
    Member threej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    US
    Posts
    30
    Kev

    Thanks for helping. All is fine until this command:

    # mv -f /etc/wlanpoke-main/* /etc/wlanpoke (move unpacked files from wlanpoke-main sub directory to wlanpoke)

    Here is my Terminal session:

    Last login: Thu Jul 7 11:43:17 on ttys000
    jclark@maximini ~ % cd Downloads
    jclark@maximini Downloads % scp -o KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -o Ciphers=aes256-cbc wlanpoke-main.zip root@010.000.1.176:/etc/wlanpoke-main.zip
    root@10.0.1.176's password:
    wlanpoke-main.zip 100% 57KB 289.4KB/s 00:00
    jclark@maximini Downloads % ssh -o KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -o Ciphers=aes256-cbc root@010.000.1.176
    root@10.0.1.176's password:

    This network device is for authorized use only. Unauthorized or improper use
    of this system may result in you hearing very bad music. If you do not consent
    to these terms, LOG OFF IMMEDIATELY.

    Ha, only joking. Now you have logged in feel free to change your root password
    using the 'passwd' command. You can safely modify any of the files on this
    system. A factory reset (press and hold add on power on) will remove all your
    modifications and revert to the installed firmware.

    Enjoy!
    # ls /etc/
    asound.conf issue rpc
    busybox.links keep-after-upgrade scsi_id.config
    cron ld.so.cache services
    default localtime shadow
    dev.tar mdev.conf skel
    dropbear motd squeezeos.version
    firstboot mtab squeezeos.version.bak
    fstab network squeezeplay
    group nsswitch.conf udev
    hostname opkg version
    hosts passwd watchdog.conf
    inetd.conf protocols wlanpoke-main.zip
    init.d rcS.d wpa_supplicant.conf
    inittab resolv.conf
    # mkdir /etc/wlanpoke
    # unzip -o /etc/wlanpoke-main.zip -d/etc/wlanpoke
    Archive: /etc/wlanpoke-main.zip
    creating: wlanpoke-main/
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/LICENSE.md
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/README.md
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/ahttpd.sh
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/arequest.sh
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/awstats.sh
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/gs.bat
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/history.txt
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/manual.txt
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/rcS.local.example
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/uplogs.sh
    inflating: wlanpoke-main/wlanpoke.sh
    # mv -f /etc/wlanpoke-main/* /etc/wlanpoke
    mv: can't rename '/etc/wlanpoke-main/*': No such file or directory
    #

  6. #16
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by threej View Post
    Kev

    Thanks for helping. All is fine until this command:

    # mv -f /etc/wlanpoke-main/* /etc/wlanpoke (move unpacked files from wlanpoke-main sub directory to wlanpoke)

    #
    OK just looking at it now...

    Arggghh!! Sorry, that line should read:

    # mv -f /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke-main/* /etc/wlanpoke

    I've corrected my notes and my post above

    Kev
    Last edited by KeBul; 2022-07-07 at 12:40.

  7. #17
    Member threej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    US
    Posts
    30

    Vonets to the rescue

    First, thanks to all who offered advice.

    Had no luck, repeatedly, with a wlanpoke install and decided that Vonets was a more productive path for my skilll set.
    Two Vonets VAP11G_300 units have given me fully functioning Radios again.
    I will likely add two more for my other pair.

    In order to use them outdoors as stereo pairs far from an electrical outlet, I also purchased two power banks: https://tinyurl.com/yunrz78u
    Each has a pair of 12V outlets that take the same plug as a Boom or Radio. A pair of six-foot male-male cords I bought make the connections and allow good stereo separation.

    I tested a single power bank with a pair of Booms -- if the power bank's readout is accurate, the pair would run about 21 hours.
    I didn't try more than a few hours, but the supply's battery readout showed just a few percent of capacity used.
    I expect each bank will easily supply sufficient juice to run Radios through the Vonets devices for longer than I'd ever need.

  8. #18
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    402
    Cool,

    Glad you're sorted, shame you couldn't get wlanpoke working, but the Vonets is an excellent solution for the SBRs wifi issues.

    Kev

  9. #19
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,230
    Vonets has worked great for me for almost 2 years now.

    When i listen outside, I’ve resorted to a Bluetooth speaker (PiCorePlayer)
    BT distance is limited though
    Last edited by Tony T; 2022-07-13 at 05:40.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Thulcandra
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    Cool,

    Glad you're sorted, shame you couldn't get wlanpoke working, but the Vonets is an excellent solution for the SBRs wifi issues.

    Kev
    So, how does the Vonets unit connect? Can the SB Radio power supply plug into the Vonets, and then pass power through to the Radio as well as powering the Vonets, or will this require another cord? It looks like the Vonets has a barrel power out plug a that can take a USB via adapter.

    The RJ45 obviously plugs into the ethernet jack on the Radio.

    I will appreciate the clarification.

    Thank you,

    ~dk
    Four SBR(one 'original' and three 'improved' UEs)
    Boom with Yamaha sub
    One SB2 in the workshop
    Vintage Crosley cabinet housing PiCore, amp and speakers. Great 1940s vibe!
    Rpi 3 runs LMS; music stored on NAS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •