Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    16

    Change volume independently of synced player

    Hi,

    sorry for the beginner question, especially when it's already answered (but I didn't find a thread about this).
    Is is possible to change the volume independently for a player when I have multiple players sync?

    I use picoreplayer with LMS on multiple Raspberry Pis. When I sync two players, e.g. Kitchen and Dining, I can change the volume which will change the volume of both players.
    But when I realise that the volume e.g. in the kitchen is too high (but for dining it's fine), can I decrease the volume only for the player in the kitchen?

    I use LMS with material skin. When I choose "Manage Players", I see the sync group and also the volume of the two players but even I drag the slider of one of the individual players, it also affect the volume of the sync group and the other player

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    9,296
    Quote Originally Posted by allwi View Post
    Hi,

    sorry for the beginner question, especially when it's already answered (but I didn't find a thread about this).
    Is is possible to change the volume independently for a player when I have multiple players sync?

    I use picoreplayer with LMS on multiple Raspberry Pis. When I sync two players, e.g. Kitchen and Dining, I can change the volume which will change the volume of both players.
    But when I realise that the volume e.g. in the kitchen is too high (but for dining it's fine), can I decrease the volume only for the player in the kitchen?

    I use LMS with material skin. When I choose "Manage Players", I see the sync group and also the volume of the two players but even I drag the slider of one of the individual players, it also affect the volume of the sync group and the other player
    There is a setting in Player Settings/Synchronise where you can choose whether to sync volume.Name:  Screenshot_20220522-101255.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  54.5 KB

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    There is a setting in Player Settings/Synchronise where you can choose whether to sync volume.Name:  Screenshot_20220522-101255.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  54.5 KB

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    OUCH!!! I completely missed the drop down selection in the extra settings and only saw the Basic Settings.

    However when I set both synced players to 'not sync volume', the volume of one player still changes when I increase the volume of the other.
    It seems that I can't upload the screenshots directly. So here are the links to Google Drive
    Settings
    Volume change

    Any idea?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    9,296
    Quote Originally Posted by allwi View Post
    OUCH!!! I completely missed the drop down selection in the extra settings and only saw the Basic Settings.

    However when I set both synced players to 'not sync volume', the volume of one player still changes when I increase the volume of the other.
    It seems that I can't upload the screenshots directly. So here are the links to Google Drive
    Settings
    Volume change

    Any idea?
    I just tried synchronising two players with volume sync disabled and changing volume on one did not affect the other. When I enabled volume sync the volume of both players became exactly the same when I changed the volume of one player.
    The volumes of your two players are different even though they both change, I don't see that behaviour with either volume sync setting.
    I assume you are not using the "Group Player" plugin, that handles volume differently.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,173
    A couple things if I might~

    @alwii - I "think" that you cannot add images to posts until you have a minimum number of posts, which I believe is 3. The same restriction exists for PM. I look for the ability after 3 posts.

    I also want to clarify, you say "I use picoreplayer with LMS on multiple Raspberry Pis" I assume you mean that you only have one instance of LMS running on something, not multiple instances of LMS?

    When you changed your setting to don't sync volume, did you restart LMS? Not sure it's needed, but maybe worth mentioning/trying. Also, I still use the original LMS UI for settings (only) and there is an "apply" that needs to be selected after the change.

    @slarti - good call on group players plugin, but, I think we would see a group in his screenshots. I played around with group players, but kind of abandoned it. I am wondering if maybe group players might be of use in this situation? Make a group that is "kitchen and bookshelf" and setup to not sync volume, and play that group when you want to have them sync'ed. Just a thought.

    Jim

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    16
    Sorry for the delay - I had some issues with my wifi network. Unrelated but stay away from Netgear Orbi ...

    Quote Originally Posted by Redrum View Post
    I also want to clarify, you say "I use picoreplayer with LMS on multiple Raspberry Pis" I assume you mean that you only have one instance of LMS running on something, not multiple instances of LMS?
    Hi Jim, sorry, I was a bit lazy when typing. Yes, you are correct: I have several (four) Pis with picoreplayer and LMS installed on one of them.

    Quote Originally Posted by Redrum View Post
    When you changed your setting to don't sync volume, did you restart LMS? Not sure it's needed, but maybe worth mentioning/trying. Also, I still use the original LMS UI for settings (only) and there is an "apply" that needs to be selected after the change.
    Yes, I restarted LMS - not initially but when it didn't work at first, I thought: it cannot hurt ...
    How can I use the standard LMS UI for the settings (only). I tried to disable the material plugin but the result is a webpage in the same layout as the material plugin but with default fonts, background and without any layout.

    Quote Originally Posted by Redrum View Post
    @slarti - good call on group players plugin, but, I think we would see a group in his screenshots. I played around with group players, but kind of abandoned it. I am wondering if maybe group players might be of use in this situation? Make a group that is "kitchen and bookshelf" and setup to not sync volume, and play that group when you want to have them sync'ed. Just a thought.
    I used the group player plugin initially but couldn't find the "not sync volume" setting, so I use the "normal sync". I even removed the group player plugin to ensure that I don't get unintended side effects.
    Still when I set "do not sync volume" on two players, then sync the two players and then change the volume on any of them, the volume of the other changes are well.
    As you can see in the one screen shot - it's not the same percentage number but the same percentage of the start volume. E.g. when I have one player at 50% and the other at 25% and then increase player 1 to 100% (double the volume percent), the volume of player 2 increases to 50% (also double).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •