Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    3

    1 Out of 4 Squeezebox Duet Receivers Will Not Connect to LMS

    I have 4 Squeezebox Duet receivers and 3 controllers, which I've been using for many years but am running into issue with one of the receivers, which cannot connect to my LMS.

    The server (v8.2.0) is running on a Windows 10 laptop using a static IP address and the default port of 9000. The Windows Defender firewall is also currently disabled on the laptop and I do not have any other firewall software installed.

    I have a BT Smart Hub 2 with 3 of their mesh network discs connected, one of which is right next to the receiver in question. I've tried switching the disc off, as the hub provides sufficient signal really, but that's made no difference.

    All 4 receivers are running firmware version 77 and are utilising wi-fi connections, as are the 3 controllers. The problematic device is reporting 87% wireless signal strength and can connect to mysqueezebox.com without any issue, which suggests to me that this is not a LAN connectivity issue.

    As all other devices are able to connect to the LMS, this doesn't seem to be a hardware or software issue with the laptop or server, so I'm completely flummoxed.

    If anyone can suggest what I can check next, I'd be very grateful!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,258
    I don't have a solution, but own quite a few receivers, all but one are now in storage.

    I have never gotten receivers on wifi to work reliably for extended periods of time, even if the "signal strength" is high (the reading from the diagnostics menu is not an indicator of quality). The only one in play is on ethernet.

    I find that the receiver has an issue with network exceptions (interruptions), and doesn't seem to recover well. Most of the time I have to reset both the controller and receiver and bring them up together (press receiver until fast, then slow red flash, press '+' on the controller while powering up, go through setup). I have to do this because they "lock up"

    A few things you can try -
    * the reset described above
    * swap the problem receiver with a good one, see if the problem follows the move, or if it's the location
    * try the receiver on ethernet.

    There are a few threads n receiver wifi issues/resolution attempts, I'll see if I can find them and post links for you. The problem may be related to the antenna location due to small form factor

    <edit - links - https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...light=receiver

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...light=receiver >

    Jim
    Last edited by Redrum; 2022-04-18 at 05:06.

  3. #3
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,658
    I run my LMS 8.2.1 on a win10 laptop with reserved IP address so that all browsers can have a "Favorite or Bookmark" for LMS. I have 2 receivers on wifi and they both work flawlessly. One problem I've seen is that if the 2.4Ghz channel is set to "Auto" the receivers do no follow well if the router decides to change the channel. I've had no trouble with connection when I explicitly set the channel in the router. I did have a problem once a few years ago where one of my receivers on factory reset and setup would get to the "Blue light" (got IP address but no LMS server found) and never go to "Dim white" (connected to LMS). I ended up using the Net::UDAP setup utility instead of the controller which allows you to specify the IP address of the LMS server in the setup parameters.
    There's a windows version of this utility here;
    http://slim2lirc.myown.mailcan.com/udap_shell_1_0_0.exe
    Here's an old thread where I wrote down some steps for using UDAP and there's a link in that thread pointing to the issue I had with getting the LMS server address set in the receiver when it wouldn't find it using setup from the controller.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...queezebox-duet

    Good luck!
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 8.2.1 on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets ( both WiFi, farthest unit gets 60% signal strength and always works since new power supply) and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 8.2.1 on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B (WiFi) /Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  4. #4
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    406
    Do you have separate SSIDs for 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz wifi in your setup?

    Some older devices do not connect cleanly to 2.4Ghz band if using an SSID that's the same on both frequency bands.

    Also make sure you have BT Smart setup turned off on your router and wifi discs - this can allow a device to connect but not completely, it gets kind of stuck in the smart setup wizard - which cannot be completed by a device without a UI/browser.

    Kev

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK, Nottinghamshire
    Posts
    628
    I had some crazy connection issues with my receiver when using wifi.. it was working on an off , like yours fairly close to router 70%+.. it was impossible to diagnose. After many setups from scratch I settled for wired connection which within month or so also became unreliable. Soon after that it wasnt even powering up, looked like completely bricked. I removed wifi card and there was light but still non functioning. After research i measured internal voltage and it was only 5 or smth ,anyway way below what it should have been . New power adapter everything works normal again.

    Try swapping power adapter and see if it connects. It seems wifi ismost power hungry and any power fluctuations could be reason for your problem
    3x Squeezebox Touch, 4x Squeezebox Radio, Squeezelite (RPi 3B with HiFiBerry DAC+Pro on OSMC), Material Skin Apk, Squeeze Commander, Logitech Media Server Version: 8.2.0 with Material Skin (Docker in DS218+)

  6. #6
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    406
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaca View Post
    Try swapping power adapter and see if it connects. It seems wifi is most power hungry and any power fluctuations could be reason for your problem
    Good call on the PSU Jaca, well worth a try.

    Not sure why, not paying enough attention/tired I guess, I read the OP as 3 receivers not working and only 1 working... not as it is, only 1 not connecting, hence my previous suggestions of a more general wi-fi setup issue.

    Kev

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    1,258
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    Good call on the PSU Jaca, well worth a try.

    Not sure why, not paying enough attention/tired I guess, I read the OP as 3 receivers not working and only 1 working... not as it is, only 1 not connecting, hence my previous suggestions of a more general wi-fi setup issue.

    Kev
    Funny you should say this, I read @Jaca's post and thought "How could I forget to suggest that?" Your point on the 3 good, one bad, swapping the PS between units might be tell tale. Its probably the first thing to check but I overlooked suggesting it!

    Jim

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Posts
    3
    Thank you all for those suggestions - I will work through them to see if I can crack the issue.

    I’m actually using a new PSU with this receiver anyway, after the original one died. It’s not a genuine OEM replacement but I’ve bought 3 of these ones over the years from Amazon to replace the originals when they failed and they’ve always been fine. I will, however, try swapping it out with one of the other functioning units to see whether that makes any difference…

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    21,824
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaca View Post
    I removed wifi card and there was light but still non functioning.
    Unlike the other SB player SB3, SBclassic etc. - the SB Receiver must have the WLAN card installed to work. If it is removed then receiver can be made to work but only if some additional power leads are soldered (can't remember which).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •