Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    60

    [SOLVED]cannot access LMS after OS upgrade, Logitech Media Server died. Restarting

    Hello
    I have upgraded Buster to Bullseye a couple of days ago. It is an OS upgrade not new install. After the upgrade all was working great and only now I do not seem to be able to access via 192.168.x.x:9000/settings. Also my squeezebox player is not able to connect.
    The only thing that has changed is that I have installed samba so I can play music over VLC in my office from the music folder on the raspberrypi. Not sure though this should not have an effect, or?
    I can ping the RBPi without any problem and also login via VNC.
    I can also start and stop the server on the RBPi via terminal. Just cannot access from anywhere else!

    Has anyone some hints?

    Edit:
    I found this in the LMS logfile at 5sec frequency: Logitech Media Server died. Restarting
    Last edited by notechyet; 2022-02-07 at 01:13.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,500
    Try starting it interactively to see if there is a better error message.

    If you move to the directory where slimserver.pl is located you could try
    perl slimserver.pl

    The startup script will do more than that but it might give a clue.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,036
    Quote Originally Posted by notechyet View Post
    Hello
    I have upgraded Buster to Bullseye a couple of days ago. It is an OS upgrade not new install. After the upgrade all was working great and only now I do not seem to be able to access via 192.168.x.x:9000/settings. Also my squeezebox player is not able to connect.
    The only thing that has changed is that I have installed samba so I can play music over VLC in my office from the music folder on the raspberrypi. Not sure though this should not have an effect, or?
    I can ping the RBPi without any problem and also login via VNC.
    I can also start and stop the server on the RBPi via terminal. Just cannot access from anywhere else!

    Has anyone some hints?

    Edit:
    I found this in the LMS logfile at 5sec frequency: Logitech Media Server died. Restarting
    I would get a spare sd card and make a fresh install of the Bullseye OS, I'm presuming the Desktop.

    Update everything and then do the samba install

    If that works, then add LMS and fill in your bits and pieces, you should be able to mount your old sd card and transferr any files you need to.

    Remember that there is no guarantee that the OS upgrade path will be a 100% successful

    atb

    ronnie
    Last edited by Man in a van; 2022-01-24 at 04:16. Reason: grammer

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,719

    cannot access LMS after upgrade toBullseye

    > I have upgraded Buster to Bullseye a couple of days ago. It is an OS
    > upgrade not new install. After the upgrade all was working great and
    > only now I do not seem to be able to access via
    > 192.168.x.x:9000/settings. Also my squeezebox player is not able to
    > connect.


    "all was working great and only now": are you saying LMS did work as
    expected for a while after the upgrade?

    As always: what does server.log say?

  5. #5
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    60
    Hi All
    Thanks a lot for all your replies, very much appreciated.
    For a start I have here the log file from the squeezebox server.
    Unless there is an relatively easy fix I would try that otherwise I intend to do a fresh install. The installed version is logitechmediaserver_8.2.0_arm
    server log_.zip

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,036
    Quote Originally Posted by notechyet View Post
    Hi All
    Thanks a lot for all your replies, very much appreciated.
    For a start I have here the log file from the squeezebox server.
    Unless there is an relatively easy fix I would try that otherwise I intend to do a fresh install. The installed version is logitechmediaserver_8.2.0_arm
    server log_.zip

    Not an expert on this ...but your last LMS in the log is


    022-01-22 05:40:14 squeezeboxserver_safe stopped.
    2022-01-22 05:40:21 squeezeboxserver_safe started.
    [22-01-22 05:40:27.7454] main::init (387) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.3, 1580910396, Thu Feb 6 04:14:58 CET 2020) perl 5.028001 - arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int
    Two years old, likely the perl is outdate for a newer install, not withstanding any changes from Buster to Bullseye, maybe something got lost in the move

    I have just installed LMS v8.2.1 on a Raspberry PI OS Bullseye Desktop without a hitch

    Maybe wait for MH to reply, I'm not good at logs (or slide rules, as I remember )

    ronnie

  7. #7
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Not an expert on this ...but your last LMS in the log is

    Two years old, likely the perl is outdate for a newer install, not withstanding any changes from Buster to Bullseye, maybe something got lost in the move

    I have just installed LMS v8.2.1 on a Raspberry PI OS Bullseye Desktop without a hitch

    Maybe wait for MH to reply, I'm not good at logs (or slide rules, as I remember )

    ronnie
    Thanks @Man in a van!
    As it wasn't working I thought to try at starting and stopping the server through terminal on the RBPI to see what error might come up. No error. At the same time I could not connect over a link I have in the RBPI browser nor from the Squeezebox.
    Unless some magical solution is coming I will do a fresh install. Just forgot how I started up last time after loading the OS on the SD.(thats what grey hair does)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,036
    With Raspberry Pi OS Bullseye Desktop

    I use the raspberry pi imager to load the OS



    I do the update and full upgrade

    SSH in and install LMS eg:

    Code:
    wget https://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/8.2/lms/050fd23add1e4b6f5550cba00e1678af316c2f6c/logitechmediaserver_8.2.1~1641537226_arm.deb

    then

    Code:
    sudo apt install ./logitechmediaserve...........
    This pulls in all the binaries

    I add
    Code:
    sudo apt install lame
    when all is complete

    sudo reboot

    and off you go

    ronnie

  9. #9
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    60
    In the existing OS LMS had a Spotty plugin. When I did updates it gave me an error that Spotify hasn't got a arm version.
    Do you know anything about that?

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,719

    cannot access LMS after upgrade toBullseye

    > In the existing OS LMS had a Spotty plugin. When I did updates it gave
    > me an error that Spotify hasn't got a arm version.
    > Do you know anything about that?


    Verbatim error message would be helpful. But fwiw: both my LMS
    installations are running on a Pi. So... Spotty certainly does run on ARM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •