Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    9

    Could not get USB drive to work

    I have installed Picorplayer on Allo digione signature, I have tried hours to setup the usb drive, but failed. I use macbook pro to do the setup, followed every step I could find on the internet, I just cannot get Digione to work with USB external hard drive, the error message is: "the operation can't be completed because the original item for Picoreplayer can't be found." Can someone help me to solve this problem? Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,031
    @dandeman

    Please provide more information to enable someone to maybe help

    Which version of pCP, 32 or 64 bit

    Which rpi board

    Which version of LMS and where is it installed

    What type of usb HDD, how is it formatted and how is it powered

    Have youcompleted: Install and Enable additional File Systems

    Have you a screen shot of: Pick from the following detected USB disks to mount

    ronnie

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    9

    My answers to Ronnie

    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    @dandeman

    Please provide more information to enable someone to maybe help

    Which version of pCP, 32 or 64 bit

    Which rpi board


    Which version of LMS and where is it installed

    What type of usb HDD, how is it formatted and how is it powered


    Have youcompleted: Install and Enable additional File Systems

    Have you a screen shot of: Pick from the following detected USB disks to mount




    ronnie

    Hi Ronnie, here they are:


    Which version of pCP, 32 or 64 bit

    32 bit

    Which rpi board

    4

    Which version of LMS and where is it installed

    latest one

    What type of usb HDD, how is it formatted and how is it powered

    it is a WD, HDD, one TB, FAT 32, AC Powered

    Have youcompleted: Install and Enable additional File Systems

    Yes

    Have you a screen shot of: Pick from the following detected USB disks to mount

    attached one, hope it works.

    Thank you very much for your help Ronnie!

    ronnie[/QUOTE]
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by dandeman View Post
    Hi Ronnie, here they are:


    Which version of pCP, 32 or 64 bit

    32 bit

    Which rpi board

    4

    Which version of LMS and where is it installed

    latest one

    What type of usb HDD, how is it formatted and how is it powered

    it is a WD, HDD, one TB, FAT 32, AC Powered

    Have youcompleted: Install and Enable additional File Systems

    Yes

    Have you a screen shot of: Pick from the following detected USB disks to mount

    attached one, hope it works.

    Thank you very much for your help Ronnie!

    ronnie
    [/QUOTE]


    For some reason that Samba would not run, and I could not setup Samba share, because it keep asking to "Fill out this field" see attached screenshot.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,031
    So this is a SAMBA problem

    I don't use SAMBA at at really, in fact, only when I am trying to help others

    Are you using the Mac to access the raspberry pi ?

    Try entering

    0775

    into the box (fill out this field)

    Here is the "official" procedure

    https://docs.picoreplayer.org/how-to/add_usb_hdd/

    It's a little outdated now, but gives the bare bones

    try searching with the following

    slimdevices forum, samba, kidstypike

    Anyway I would not use "Root" as the mount point name, I know it works but it would only confuse a simple chap like myself

    ronnie

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    So this is a SAMBA problem

    I don't use SAMBA at at really, in fact, only when I am trying to help others

    Are you using the Mac to access the raspberry pi ?

    Try entering

    0775

    into the box (fill out this field)

    Here is the "official" procedure

    https://docs.picoreplayer.org/how-to/add_usb_hdd/



    It's a little outdated now, but gives the bare bones

    try searching with the following

    slimdevices forum, samba, kidstypike

    Anyway I would not use "Root" as the mount point name, I know it works but it would only confuse a simple chap like myself

    ronnie
    Thank you for your help! I have tried what you suggested, still no go. I will ditch the Allo digione signature anyway. Volumio 3 is still buggy, only good for English albums, but the sound is better than volumio 2 and MoOde. I am going to get a Lumin U1 mini, no more headaches.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    5,031
    Quote Originally Posted by dandeman View Post
    Thank you for your help! I have tried what you suggested, still no go. I will ditch the Allo digione signature anyway. Volumio 3 is still buggy, only good for English albums, but the sound is better than volumio 2 and MoOde. I am going to get a Lumin U1 mini, no more headaches.
    Well, for what it is worth, the Allo Signaure is fault free in this case, I think it is (unintentional) user error. I have been running a sig for over six months now, fault free.

    I look at your Samba configuration and think it is wrong, but without spending time I can't say what

    Good look with the Lumin

    ronnie

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Well, for what it is worth, the Allo Signaure is fault free in this case, I think it is (unintentional) user error. I have been running a sig for over six months now, fault free.

    I look at your Samba configuration and think it is wrong, but without spending time I can't say what

    Good look with the Lumin

    ronnie
    Allo digione signature is great, with Volumio it sounded better than Bluesound Node(latest model), that is why I sold the Node. I like Allo, but hate buggy Volumio, for that reason I bought and returned Ifi Zen streamer which uses Volumio as well. I am sure I did something wrong with Picoreplayer, but for a freeware, no support is expected. Thanks again for your help!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    8,886
    Quote Originally Posted by dandeman View Post
    Allo digione signature is great, with Volumio it sounded better than Bluesound Node(latest model), that is why I sold the Node. I like Allo, but hate buggy Volumio, for that reason I bought and returned Ifi Zen streamer which uses Volumio as well. I am sure I did something wrong with Picoreplayer, but for a freeware, no support is expected. Thanks again for your help!
    On the contrary there is a lot more support for piCorePlayer here than you will get from a lot of commercial players.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    On the contrary there is a lot more support for piCorePlayer here than you will get from a lot of commercial players.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    I will give one more try. Ronni, Does PiCorePlayer sound better than Moode if you have compared them?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •