Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    31

    How to install Spotty properly? - VCRUNTIME140.dll missing

    LMS 8.2.0 on Win 10.

    Tried to install the Spotty plugin and run it, but it fails to do that. Not sure if I'm going about the installation the right way.

    What I did:
    1. Opened the LMS web interface Settings - Plugins tab and ticked the Spotty checkbox.
    2. Clicked the Apply button and IIRC a System Error message popped up saying that the VCRUNTIME140.dll can't be found and I was also promted to restart LMS, which I did (not sure which came first).

    Spotty is now listed under Active plugins and also under My Apps on my Duet Controller.

    If I click on Spotty on the Controller it says:
    'Spotify credentials missing. Please check Settings/Advanced/Spotty Spotify for Squeezbox in the web interface'.
    But if I do that the 'Spotty.exe - System error' dialog pops up informing that the VCRUNTIME140.dll can't be found and it can't go ahead and suggests that I reinstall. Not sure if i should reinstall LMS or something called Spotty.exe or just that dll somehow.

    What should I do?
    Duet

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,666

    How to install Spotty properly? -VCRUNTIME140.dll missing

    Are you running Windows in 32 bit?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Are you running Windows in 32 bit?
    No, 64bit
    Duet

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,666
    Can you run spotty.exe from the command line? You should find its location in the Spotty settings.
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Can you run spotty.exe from the command line? You should find its location in the Spotty settings.
    Can't run it - the the error message pops up.
    Location: C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\P lugins\Spotty\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\spotty.exe

    There is a vcruntime140.dll in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 (for 32 bit files)
    There isn't any vcruntime140.dll in C:\Windows\System32 (for 64 bit files)

    Windows is 64 bit
    LMS is 32 bit

    Edit:
    (Don't know why \Plugins\ displays as \P lugins\ here)
    Last edited by TryBox; 2021-11-30 at 14:13.
    Duet

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,666

    How to install Spotty properly? -VCRUNTIME140.dll missing

    > Can't run it - the the error message pops up.
    > Location:
    > C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\P lugins\Spotty\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\spotty.exe
    >
    > There is a vcruntime140.dll in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 (for 32 bit files)
    > There isn't any vcruntime140.dll in C:\Windows\System32 (for 64 bit
    > files)
    >
    > Windows is 64 bit


    I'd start with re-installing the VC++ runtime libraries:
    https://www.microsoft.com/download/d....aspx?id=48145

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Can't run it - the the error message pops up.
    > Location:
    > C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\InstalledPlugins\P lugins\Spotty\Bin\MSWin32-x86-multi-thread\spotty.exe
    >
    > There is a vcruntime140.dll in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 (for 32 bit files)
    > There isn't any vcruntime140.dll in C:\Windows\System32 (for 64 bit
    > files)
    >
    > Windows is 64 bit


    I'd start with re-installing the VC++ runtime libraries:
    https://www.microsoft.com/download/d....aspx?id=48145
    Ok, something to wrestle with tomorrow!
    Duet

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >I'd start with re-installing the VC++ runtime libraries:
    https://www.microsoft.com/download/d....aspx?id=48145
    Ran the installer for the VC++ runtime libraries and the missing
    vcruntime140.dll ended up in the System32 folder, which meant that
    the Spotify credentials could be entered. Now the Duet is running
    Spotty without any problems at all. Awesome!

    For some reason I didn't google vcruntime140.dll before. Had I done
    that it would have been a no-brainer to install it since it missing
    seems to be a very commom problem for various applications.

    Thanks a lot for your assistance!

    Tune tip of the day: Ally Venable - Heart of Fire
    Duet

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •