Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Network traffic continues for a minute after pausing players

    I have recently upgraded my router equipment so have a better opportunity to monitor traffic across my LAN. This has revealed to me a quirk with the traffic to Squeezeplayers.

    I have an SB3, a Squeezebox Radio and a PicoReplayer set up. On all three, I observe the same phenomenon: A player that is paused by pressing the pause button on the main LMS web interface, or the pause button in the Squeezelite-X app, or even the power button on the remote control in the case of the SB3, continues to draw traffic over the LAN at the same bitrate as before. After about a minute, the traffic stops.

    I assume that this is by design in order to make the players ready to resume the stream instantly, and then after a set period the players conclude that the user does not want to resume and stops the stream. Interestingly, with the PCP, pressing Stop in the PCP web interface stops the traffic instantly.

    This raises two questions:

    1. Is there on the LMS web interface or on the players themselves an equivalent to the "Stop" on the PCP?
    2. Is there a setting somewhere that determines the time delay from "Pause" to the cutting of the stream?

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,666

    Network traffic continues for a minute after pausingplayers

    > I assume that this is by design in order to make the players ready to
    > resume the stream instantly, and then after a set period the players
    > conclude that the user does not want to resume and stops the stream.


    Correct.

    > Interestingly, with the PCP, pressing Stop in the PCP web interface
    > stops the traffic instantly.


    Pause and stop are not the same thing.

    > 1. Is there on the LMS web interface or on the players themselves an
    > equivalent to the "Stop" on the PCP?


    Power off.

    > 2. Is there a setting somewhere that determines the time delay from
    > "Pause" to the cutting of the stream?


    I don't think so.

  3. #3

    Power off ≠ Stop

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post

    > 1. Is there on the LMS web interface or on the players themselves an
    > equivalent to the "Stop" on the PCP?


    Power off.
    Actually, no – Power off (whether with the hardware remote control or via web/Squeezelite-X) has the same effect as Pause, the stream continues for a while. But hey, it's no issue. Thanks for the response.
    Last edited by beneix; 2021-11-29 at 01:24.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,139
    Depending on the interface ... try long press on Pause.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    8,242
    Quote Originally Posted by beneix View Post
    Actually, no ľ Power off (whether with the hardware remote control or via web/Squeezelite-X) has the same effect as Pause, the stream continues for a while. But hey, it's no issue. Thanks for the response.
    The effect of Power off would depend on the "Power on resume" setting in Settings/player/audio.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    433
    It would be rather cool if there was a buffer of about half an hour where you're able to rewind live radio.
    But I suspect hardware limitations of older Squeezeboxes make this possibility unlikely.
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,139
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnielo View Post
    It would be rather cool if there was a buffer of about half an hour where you're able to rewind live radio.
    But I suspect hardware limitations of older Squeezeboxes make this possibility unlikely.
    The place to store it would be LMS running in proxy mode ... and it is already being done (sort of) as part of the code put in recently to try to improve the playing of long podcasts. My guess is that this capability could be extended to be more general purpose.

    However, it is already available when playing BBC radio via BBC Sounds plugin. In that case it is BBC that has the old content - with the benefit that you can rewind to the start of a programme that you join part way though which you would not be able to do with a general purpose LMS proxy cache.

    Stations that offer HLS make this much more practical.
    A recent case came up here where a bug meant that listening via LMS was a few hours behind.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    21,058
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnielo View Post
    It would be rather cool if there was a buffer of about half an hour where you're able to rewind live radio.
    But I suspect hardware limitations of older Squeezeboxes make this possibility unlikely.
    This really has to be done in LMS. This was asked many many years ago and I think some POC was done using something like ffmpeg to do the buffering but user control and how to identify stations to uses it and not use it , made usage clunky. It is probably harder now when users expect metadata to be provided as it is not always in the stream.

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Stations that offer HLS make this much more practical.
    A recent case came up here where a bug meant that listening via LMS was a few hours behind.
    Chunked HTTP streasm (DASH/HLS) has lots of extra capabilities but only a few are being used now more often in video stream. A few audio HLS (and DASH) stream have large backups (e.g. BBC has about 3 hours on live), but others have only a few minutes so if a generic feature was offered in the HLS plugin, user will probably be disappointed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •