Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    21

    LMS Docker on Synology DS920+

    I have a Synology NAS on which I am running a Plex server. (Very easy to set up.) I run LMS on my Windows 10 desktop but also want to run it from the NAS.

    I have searched these forums and attempted to follow all the tutorials written. I can't get it to work. Is there a step by step for DUMMIES?

    Also, what is supposed to happen when you click on Docker LMS? Is there a GUI for LMS? From my attempt at installation, my Synology Docker just opens another browser tab that is a duplicate of my NAS homepage.

    Help please.
    Last edited by Tom Sea; 2021-10-21 at 11:26.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    21
    Could someone post a screen shot of LMS when you run it on Synology Docker? I do not even know what my target endpoint looks like.

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,627

    LMS Docker on Synology DS920+

    > Could someone post a screen shot of LMS when you run it on Synology
    > Docker? I do not even know what my target endpoint looks like.


    I don't understand what you're looking for. LMS does look no different,
    whether you run it in Docker, on a Pi or on my Mac. And what do you mean
    by "target endpoint"?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    21
    I operate in the Windows 10 OS world. When I run LMS control panel in Win10 (as administrator,) on the advanced tab I get some choices including "Web Remote Control" and "Advanced Settings", both of which open in my browser. So if I get LMS in Docker on my Synology working you are saying the interfaces will be the same?

    By target I meant that I am getting no success so I wanted to know what it will look like when LMS/Docker works. After so many videos about Docker I was afraid that it will look like command line or SSH.

  5. #5
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,627

    LMS Docker on Synology DS920+

    > I operate in the Windows 10 OS world. When I run LMS control panel in
    > Win10 (as administrator,) on the advanced tab I get some choices
    > including "Web Remote Control" and "Advanced Settings", both of which
    > open in my browser. So if I get LMS in Docker on my Synology working you
    > are saying the interfaces will be the same?


    Ah, ok. Just open http://[ip of your NAS]:9000 (or whatever port LMS is
    running on - might be 9002 on Synology). This should bring up the same
    web UI.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    21
    I tried that. It does not work.

    I also tried "Create shortcut on desktop" in advanced settings with that precise URL but it does not work but instead just opens a new Synology homepage tab.

  7. #7
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,627

    LMS Docker on Synology DS920+

    > I tried that. It does not work.

    Did you add the correct port? How does it fail?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    21
    The only other thing I have running is Plex which uses port 32400. So I did not change from the default port 9000. So when I go to 192.168.2.26:9000 I get sent directly to the Synology homepage which is port -:5001

    I was thinking of creating a step by step wiki here for running LMS on Synology Docker. In the process I am sure I would get feedback that will allow mine to finally work. The end result would be a wiki for others.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,627

    LMS Docker on Synology DS920+

    > The only other thing I have running is Plex which uses port 32400. So I
    > did not change from the default port 9000. So when I go to
    > 192.168.2.26:9000 I get sent directly to the Synology homepage which is
    > port -:5001


    Synology traditionally used port 9002 for LMS - because of some
    conflict. You should configure your LMS container to use port 9002, too
    (see the note about this in the image's readme file!).

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    21
    I stopped the container and then set it up again. In Port changed to 9002 tcp and in Environment HTTP_PORT changed to 9002. Now the result is a web page that says "Unable to Connect" versus the previous connecting to the wrong page.

    By the way can you tell me what etc means in the configuration pages? Like:
    - /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
    - /etc/timezone:/etc/timezone:ro
    I did not name any folder /etc. Is this something just for SSH? My understanding is that in Environment I Add "LZ" on the left hand side variables and "America/New_York" for me for the Value on the right hand side. What is the relevance of local time?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •