Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 65
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    692

    Joggler as Now Playing monitor

    (I'm restarting this discussion here following a few posts at the DAC32 thread. Post 580 onwards here...
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...treamer/page58
    I want to use a Joggler as a Now Playing monitor for my DAC32. So...)

    I now have a used Joggler that seems in good nick and is working.

    Seem to have fallen at an early hurdle, as the Joggler's wifi setup is OK with my SSID and password but now says it needs "to specify your web proxy server". I've no idea how to find what this is. My router (Archer C7) settings do not seem to reveal anything like this. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,918
    You should not need to specify a web proxy server for a typical home set-up.
    That sort of thing is usually for people trying to use their equipment in an office set-up where IT dept have required everyone to go through their proxy but have not made it transparent or other similar unusual set-ups.

    Does it startup saying it is SqueezePlay?
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Dandelion Radio, Europa Radio Jazz, Frequence3, FSK, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Radio Swiss, RTE Ireland, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    6,234
    This could be an oddity with the WiFi implementation on your router. Try the joggler with a cable - do you get the same error?

    Just had a look at the manual - the Guest WiFi network has wireless isolation on by default - are you using Guest WiFi or main ?
    Last edited by d6jg; 2021-10-08 at 04:50.
    Jim
    https://jukeradio.double6.net


    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Radio
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    692
    Paul and d6jg, I think I need to explain a bit further about how I got this far. Which ain't very.

    When I first started up the Joggler, I put in my wifi credentials and assumed all was OK, because it was saying "connected" and "excellent signal" in the Network pages of Settings.

    I then tried to put Squeezeplay on from the birdlikewires link that you supplied, Paul.

    Tried various combinations of files, tried different sticks, but nothing gave me the required Squeezeplay icon. Made sure I had the invisible .sum file, and then I noticed that birdlikewires said I should have Firmware 8686.S3 (I have 8353.52) and Software 26635.S3 (I have 24515.52).

    OK, so I clicked Software Update. Nothing happened at all. Hmm. Now suspicious, I tried a few other things, and for example News was showing me events from 2010 (scary!). Looks like it's not connecting to internet after all. Only thing that looks current is it's showing the correct date and time.

    So I tried via ethernet; got the "specify your web proxy server" message. No idea what that is, so back to wifi... ah, no, now that, too, is showing the same message.

    Stumped.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,918
    If you go down the "boot from USB" route then it should not matter what firmware is on the device.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Dandelion Radio, Europa Radio Jazz, Frequence3, FSK, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Radio Swiss, RTE Ireland, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    692
    Paul, I did try that, too, from the birdlikewires site, made the stick, but it didn't boot.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,918
    That is a shame.
    Maybe replace the firmware with the patched version of last Openpeak/O2 version from
    https://birdslikewires.net/openpeak-firmware
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Dandelion Radio, Europa Radio Jazz, Frequence3, FSK, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Radio Swiss, RTE Ireland, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  8. #8
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    334
    Been a while since I played around with Jogglers, so take the time to read and understand if possible the links below before committing to any actual work on the joggler, I can't remember or say for sure if any of this will resolve your issue or make them worse

    I suspect you have the issue described here:

    https://www.jogglerwiki.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1011

    If so then it looks like a re-flash required, instructions here:

    https://www.jogglerwiki.com/forum/vi...php?f=2&t=2105

    But if it's just a controller you want then have a look at Chill's excellent work on getting Jivelite up and running in a Joggler - that was the last thing I did on mine, Always found SqueezePlay OS a bit slow and crashy whenever I tried it, I preferred Chill's Jivelite on Joggler:

    Thread here:

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...velite+joggler

    Chill's instructions are in post #166 (page 17)

    Good luck!

    Kev

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    That is a shame.
    Maybe replace the firmware with the patched version of last Openpeak/O2 version from
    https://birdslikewires.net/openpeak-firmware
    I tried the instructions there, but I get as far as trying to write the reflash file to a USB stick I've formatted as MS-DOS FAT (I'm using MacOS) and I get "no such file or directory".

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    Been a while since I played around with Jogglers, so take the time to read and understand if possible the links below before committing to any actual work on the joggler, I can't remember or say for sure if any of this will resolve your issue or make them worse

    I suspect you have the issue described here:

    https://www.jogglerwiki.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1011

    If so then it looks like a re-flash required, instructions here:

    https://www.jogglerwiki.com/forum/vi...php?f=2&t=2105

    But if it's just a controller you want then have a look at Chill's excellent work on getting Jivelite up and running in a Joggler - that was the last thing I did on mine, Always found SqueezePlay OS a bit slow and crashy whenever I tried it, I preferred Chill's Jivelite on Joggler:

    Thread here:

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...velite+joggler

    Chill's instructions are in post #166 (page 17)

    Good luck!

    Kev
    Kebul, I'm gojng to try Paul's reflash route first, tho as you see from post above that ain't going well so far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •