Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40
  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    55
    Hi all,

    Thank you for your inputs and ideas.

    I have just bypassed the switch and i have time to listen to music this afternoon (dk time).
    I will report back

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    I'm intrigued by this as I have the same device and no drop outs

    I'm not aware of any settings recommended for the Digi Sig, do you care to share ?

    I just use default settings



    rpi3B+, Ethernet to a switch, 32 bit standard pCP



    ronnie
    Yes. Default is the better word. Sorry for my english ;-)
    I┤m using the same output and ALSA settings as you.

    piCorePlayer v8.0.0 | www v00017 | linux 5.10.42-pcpCore-v8 (64) | piCore v13.0 | Squeezelite v1.9.9-1386-pCP
    Last edited by dkskl; 2021-09-21 at 03:13.

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    55
    Eliminating the switch and connecting the server directly to the router didn┤t help.
    The glitches are still there...

    Tomorrow i┤ll try some different buffering settings again. And if that doesn┤t help, i┤ll run LMS without the ssd and maybe also play through the headphone jack.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,743
    Quote Originally Posted by dkskl View Post
    Yes. Default is the better word. Sorry for my english ;-)
    I┤m using the same output and ALSA settings as you.

    piCorePlayer v8.0.0 | www v00017 | linux 5.10.42-pcpCore-v8 (64) | piCore v13.0 | Squeezelite v1.9.9-1386-pCP
    You have the 64 bit pCP version

    I use the 32 Bit Standard

    ronnie

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    You have the 64 bit pCP version

    I use the 32 Bit Standard

    ronnie
    Yes. Thats right. I use 64 bit on RPI 4Bs.
    Are there any known issues with this combo? Or do you think the squeezelite / kernel settings should be different to how you would configurate a RPI 3B / 32bit?
    Last edited by dkskl; 2021-09-22 at 00:48.

  6. #16
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,867
    Quote Originally Posted by dkskl View Post
    Yes. Thats right. I use 64 bit on RPI 4Bs.
    Is there any known issues with this combo? Or do you think the squeezelite / kernel settings should be different to how you would configurate a RPI 3B / 32bit?
    Well it wouldn't take very long to burn a new SD card with the standard 32bit version . . . and try that?

    https://docs.picoreplayer.org/downloads/
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP 8.0.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 8.0.0/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 8.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    Well it wouldn't take very long to burn a new SD card with the standard 32bit version . . . and try that?

    https://docs.picoreplayer.org/downloads/
    I even think i have a spare sd card with the 32 bit version installed. I┤ll look for it later today.

  8. #18
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,134
    Quote Originally Posted by dkskl View Post
    ....and a RPI4b/pCP8 streaming client (LMS not installed).
    A RPI3b client is also on the network.
    Are these two clients synced? If so, try unsyncing and perhaps (soft) powering off one of the clients. If they're not synced, do you get the dropouts on both clients?

    I had a similar problem some years ago (pCP Squeezelite synced to two Booms) and found that restarting Squeezelite (not rebooting) would usually fix it. Several upgrades of pCP later and I no longer get this issue.

    *EDIT - my recollection is a bit hazy, but I suspect this was something to do with trying to sync to a Squeezelite player that wasn't physically powered, e.g. a bluetooth player. Whatever, it may be worth investigating whether syncing is somehow involved in your issue.
    Last edited by chill; 2021-09-22 at 02:26.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,743
    Quote Originally Posted by dkskl View Post
    Yes. Thats right. I use 64 bit on RPI 4Bs.
    Are there any known issues with this combo? Or do you think the squeezelite / kernel settings should be different to how you would configurate a RPI 3B / 32bit?
    I have just popped a 64 bit card into my rpi3B+ (I'm not going to dismantle everything to use a rpi4B, sorry )

    Playing Radio Paradise at the mo

    Title: Main Mix - FLAC Interactive
    URL: radioparadise://4.flac

    all good

    ronnie

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by chill View Post
    Are these two clients synced? If so, try unsyncing and perhaps (soft) powering off one of the clients. If they're not synced, do you get the dropouts on both clients?

    I had a similar problem some years ago (pCP Squeezelite synced to two Booms) and found that restarting Squeezelite (not rebooting) would usually fix it. Several upgrades of pCP later and I no longer get this issue.

    *EDIT - my recollection is a bit hazy, but I suspect this was something to do with trying to sync to a Squeezelite player that wasn't physically powered, e.g. a bluetooth player. Whatever, it may be worth investigating whether syncing is somehow involved in your issue.
    No, not synced. It┤s been a while since i last used the secondary client and there has been quite a bit of sd card swapping, so...
    I suppose it could be narrowed down to a server or router problem, if it also has dropouts.
    I use the newest pCP version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •