Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

Hybrid View

RPi4 + Justboom Digi hat + model railway = not so good

Here is an unusual one.
    I am new to both model railways and RPi.
    I was researching getting my sound better through my stereo amp and found some links to LMS.
    I loaded it on my laptop and was happy how it performed outputting over my network to my Pioneer sc-lx81 (or sc-07 in the US)
    So I thought how can I make it smaller. I discovered picoreplayer and it’s implementation of LMS on a RPi.
    I then purchased a Justboom Digi Hat to output the signal from the RPi in a better format to the Amp rather than across the network to the Amps network port, which is quite old.
    So I put all this together and started to play Flac files I gave acquired over the years. Sounds was great and I was really happy.
    Now this setup is in my Train room. Well actually a bedroom converted to a 12v model railway.
    I use Kato unitrack. This is very easy to lay and it is far easier to link than traditional railway track. No fishplates (the wee joiners that join the tracks together) they have snap lock joiners that are all the same.
    They also have turnout/switches to move from track to track. With these turnouts they are powered by the track 12v dc that powers the trains. They are solenoid activated, so in or out. Other turnouts are powered with small motor to wind an arm one way or the other. The solenoid turnouts are much faster than the motorised ones.

So here is my problem, whenever I activate a turnout to switch the track, the music cuts out for just under a second. It doesn’t pause, it cuts out.
    Their is about 1.5m distance between the controller of the turnouts, the turnout to the amp with the RPi on top. These are sitting over 2m above the floor on a high shelf. The model railway layout is about 900mm off the floor.