Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: Upgrade LMS

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States, Florida
    Posts
    12,554
    I had forgotten he was using the "tiny LMS" built into the TOUCH. Yes that's mostly a disaster. You'll be VERY happy with the TOUCH as a player and LMS running on your rPi4. And you don't need a HAT, because your rPi won't be attached to the DAC. It will just run LMS. The DAC will connect to the TOUCH via optical or coax.
    Home: Pi4B-8GB/pCP8.x/4TB>LMS 8.2.x>Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio (all ethernet)
    Cottage: rPi4B-4GB/pCP8.x/4TB>LMS 8.2.x>Touch>Benchmark DAC I, Boom, Radio w/Battery (Radio WIFI)
    Office: Win10(64)>foobar2000
    The Wild: rPi3B+/pCP7.x/4TB>LMS 8.1.x>hifiberry Dac+Pro (LMS & Squeezelite)
    Controllers: iPhone11 & iPadAir3 (iPeng), CONTROLLER, Material Skin, or SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win10(64)
    Files: Ripping: dBpoweramp > FLAC; Post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes, TuneFusion; Streaming: Spotify

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    282
    If you are looking for a simple solution to running LMS, there is CORE32. https://polyvection.com/en/product/core32/.
    CORE32 will run LMS and talk to the Touch over your network (WiFI or ethernet). I have not used CORE32, but from reading the forum, it is supposed to be more plug and play solution.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western/Northern New York
    Posts
    726
    Quote Originally Posted by garym View Post
    I had forgotten he was using the "tiny LMS" built into the TOUCH. Yes that's mostly a disaster. You'll be VERY happy with the TOUCH as a player and LMS running on your rPi4. And you don't need a HAT, because your rPi won't be attached to the DAC. It will just run LMS. The DAC will connect to the TOUCH via optical or coax.
    @zoleprole - this is exactly what I am doing with two systems I use and others I have built for friends - use the RPI as a LMS server only. It's a relatively cheap investment - pi 3b+ or 4, power supply, sd card - <$50USD. Case if you want....

    Of course you can also have the pi be a "player" also, but I still like using my players = touch, radio, boom (and also Philippe's squeezeamp).

    I setup a friend originally with a touch running "tiny LMS" with his library on a usb jump drive, and while it worked, it crashed and became very limited (no Radio Paradise FLAC, no https which many radio stations and moving toward, etc.). So I just put together a pi for him as a server only, installed it, and said "you owe me $50".

    Jim

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    17
    Yes, you completely understood me.
    I'll buy Raspberry Pi only for LMS,
    is it necessary Pi 4 with 4 gb RAM or something cheaper ?

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,843
    Quote Originally Posted by zoleprole View Post
    Yes, you completely understood me.
    I'll buy Raspberry Pi only for LMS,
    is it necessary Pi 4 with 4 gb RAM or something cheaper ?
    There is a shortage of raspberry pi worldwide at the moment.

    I suggest that if you purchase new, use an Approved Reseller

    https://www.raspberrypi.org/products...-pi-4-model-b/

    I guess from your username you come from central /eastern Europe, but may reside elsewhere

    If you buy from the UK both PiHut and Pimoroni are recommended.

    If you want to go cheaper a rpi3 (or better rpi3b+) from a second hand seller might be an option. But, remember, Buyer Beware!! compare prices with a new rpi and also shipping costs.

    Try and get an official rpi power supply and beware of fake micro SD cards.

    Enjoy

    ronnie

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    17
    Yes, I am from Serbia,
    Does it matter RAM? 2Gb or 4Gb?

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,843
    Quote Originally Posted by zoleprole View Post
    Yes, I am from Serbia,
    Does it matter RAM? 2Gb or 4Gb?
    If just as a server; 2gb is enough (will also suffice for use as a server/player)

    Although it never hurts, imo, to have more ram than one needs and I would say 4 gb if you can justify the price increase.

    The official power supply is also a recommended buy

    I buy most of my sd cards from the "evil empire", this brand has proven reliable


    https://www.amazon.co.uk/SanDisk-mic...073K14CVB?th=1

    ronnie

  8. #28
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,187
    Quote Originally Posted by zoleprole View Post
    Yes, you completely understood me.
    I'll buy Raspberry Pi only for LMS,
    is it necessary Pi 4 with 4 gb RAM or something cheaper ?
    I have 2 piCore’s (2 locations). One on a pi 3, and one on a pi 4 w/ 4g ram. The only difference is that scanning my library is a bit faster with the pi 4, but other than that, no difference in performance. So, a pi 4 with 4g is not necessary.
    Last edited by Tony T; 2021-09-14 at 05:48.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  9. #29
    Senior Member Jeff07971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,753
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    If just as a server; 2gb is enough (will also suffice for use as a server/player)

    Although it never hurts, imo, to have more ram than one needs and I would say 4 gb if you can justify the price increase.

    The official power supply is also a recommended buy

    I buy most of my sd cards from the "evil empire", this brand has proven reliable


    https://www.amazon.co.uk/SanDisk-mic...073K14CVB?th=1

    ronnie

    Only problem is that Pi4's with 2GB are in short supply, I've been looking for a while now.

    Jeff

    Want a webapp ? Get SqueezeLite-X ! https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post903953

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    928
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff07971 View Post
    Only problem is that Pi4's with 2GB are in short supply, I've been looking for a while now.
    Would a Raspberry Pi3 B+ suit the OP's application ? I believe it has 1GB ram, rather than the 2GB/4GB/8GB of the Pi4. But perhaps easier on the purse, and if it works well enough...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •