Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    26

    Installing on OSMC on a Vero4k

    Hi,

    Firstly, a massive thank you to mherger and the LMS community for keeping this platform up and running. Its brilliant that I can still use my squeezebox setup so long after logitech ceased support.

    I've been running LMS on my Vero4k running OSMC without issue for ages. Last week I upgraded OSMC to the latest August '21 image and LMS refused to start. OSMC is built on Debian Buster and is the Vero4k is armhf.

    The server.log is not very helpful. This is all it contains:
    Code:
    [21-08-30 09:43:27.5839] main::init (390) Starting Logitech Media Server (v8.2.1, 1628483320, Mon Aug  9 06:46:12 CEST 2021) perl 5.028001 - arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int
    systemctl status logitechmediaserver reports:
    Code:
    osmc@vero4k:~$ systemctl status logitechmediaserver
    * logitechmediaserver.service - Logitech Media Server
       Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/logitechmediaserver.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
       Active: failed (Result: signal) since Mon 2021-08-30 09:43:29 BST; 12min ago
      Process: 13783 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/squeezeboxserver --prefsdir $PREFSDIR --logdir $LOGDIR --cachedir $CACHEDIR --ch
     Main PID: 13783 (code=killed, signal=ILL)
    
    Aug 30 09:43:23 vero4k systemd[1]: Started Logitech Media Server.
    Aug 30 09:43:25 vero4k squeezeboxserver[13783]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [scprefs]
    Aug 30 09:43:27 vero4k squeezeboxserver[13783]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [videos]
    Aug 30 09:43:27 vero4k squeezeboxserver[13783]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [pictures]
    Aug 30 09:43:29 vero4k systemd[1]: logitechmediaserver.service: Main process exited, code=killed, status=4/ILL
    Aug 30 09:43:29 vero4k systemd[1]: logitechmediaserver.service: Failed with result 'signal'.
    and journalctl -xe shows:
    Code:
    Aug 30 09:43:23 vero4k systemd[1]: Started Logitech Media Server.
    -- Subject: A start job for unit logitechmediaserver.service has finished successfully
    -- Defined-By: systemd
    -- Support: https://www.debian.org/support
    --
    -- A start job for unit logitechmediaserver.service has finished successfully.
    --
    -- The job identifier is 2096.
    Aug 30 09:43:23 vero4k systemd[1]: Reloading.
    Aug 30 09:43:24 vero4k systemd[1]: /lib/systemd/system/smbd.service:9: PIDFile= references path below legacy director
    Aug 30 09:43:24 vero4k systemd[1]: /lib/systemd/system/nmbd.service:9: PIDFile= references path below legacy director
    Aug 30 09:43:24 vero4k systemd[1]: /lib/systemd/system/lircd_helper@.service:6: PIDFile= references path below legacy
    Aug 30 09:43:24 vero4k sudo[13668]: pam_unix(sudo:session): session closed for user root
    Aug 30 09:43:25 vero4k squeezeboxserver[13783]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [scprefs]
    Aug 30 09:43:27 vero4k squeezeboxserver[13783]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [videos]
    Aug 30 09:43:27 vero4k squeezeboxserver[13783]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [pictures]
    Aug 30 09:43:29 vero4k systemd[1]: logitechmediaserver.service: Main process exited, code=killed, status=4/ILL
    -- Subject: Unit process exited
    -- Defined-By: systemd
    -- Support: https://www.debian.org/support
    --
    -- An ExecStart= process belonging to unit logitechmediaserver.service has exited.
    --
    -- The process' exit code is 'killed' and its exit status is 4.
    Aug 30 09:43:29 vero4k systemd[1]: logitechmediaserver.service: Failed with result 'signal'.
    -- Subject: Unit failed
    -- Defined-By: systemd
    -- Support: https://www.debian.org/support
    --
    -- The unit logitechmediaserver.service has entered the 'failed' state with result 'signal'.
    Are there any other log locations I should be looking at to get an indication as to what is going on?

    At first I was thinking it was because the version of perl had increased to 5.28.1 I've seen posts about, I think it was, Synology users who's LMS broke when the NAS updated to 5.28. But I've also seen reference on this forum of someone running LMS on Debian Bullseye with perl 5.32.1 successfully. So is there a problem with perl 5.28 or should LMS work okay on it?

    If anyone is able to assist it would be massively appreciated. I've spent many hours over many evenings trying to get this sorted out. I've tried perlbrew to build an older install of perl, but then found out this was for my user only and not system wide. I've tried various docker containers, starting with the offical LMS Community one, but they all fail with an illegal instruction. Most recently I've reinstalled my vero4k from scratch followed by a native install of LMS but that hasn't helped either.

    Any ideas anybody?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,629

    Installing on OSMC on a Vero4k

    > At first I was thinking it was because the version of perl had increased
    > to 5.28.1 I've seen posts about, I think it was, Synology users who's
    > LMS broke when the NAS updated to 5.28. But I've also seen reference on
    > this forum of someone running 'LMS on Debian Bullseye with perl 5.32.1'
    > (https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...=1#post1031429)
    > successfully. So is there a problem with perl 5.28 or should LMS work
    > okay on it?


    I think Perl should be good - or you wouldn't even get that one line in
    the log file.

    Please edit /etc/default/logitechmediaserver to add --d_startup to the
    startup parameters. Would that give you more information? And did you
    check whether your process does have write permissions on the log and
    prefs folders?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    26
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I've added in the --d_startup. the server.log file and systemctl status look the same. The journalctl output is much more verbose (pasted below). I've had a look through it and not noticed anything obvious. The lines before it dies are:

    Code:
    Aug 30 12:50:48 vero4k squeezeboxserver[14021]:         B/DeparsedirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [scprefs]
    Aug 30 12:50:50 vero4k squeezeboxserver[14021]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [videos]
    Aug 30 12:50:50 vero4k squeezeboxserver[14021]: dirsFor: Didn't find a match request: [pictures]
    Aug 30 12:50:51 vero4k systemd[1]: logitechmediaserver.service: Main process exited, code=killed, status=4/ILL
    So maybe like you suggest it is a permissions issue. However I've checked the permissions on where I think the prefs folder is and it all looks okay to me:
    Code:
    ls -lt /var/lib/squeezeboxserver
    total 12
    drwxr-xr-x 6 squeezeboxserver nogroup 4096 Aug 30 09:43 cache
    drwxr-xr-x 3 squeezeboxserver nogroup 4096 Aug 30 07:49 prefs
    drwxr-xr-x 2 squeezeboxserver nogroup 4096 Aug  3  2009 Plugins
    And these are the permissions on /var/log/squeezeboxserver:
    Code:
    drwxr-xr-x 2 squeezeboxserver nogroup   4096 Aug 30 09:43 squeezeboxserver

    I've had to attach the journalctl output as its too long to be included in a post. Does it provide any clues as to what is going on?

    journalctl-output.txt

    Thanks!
    Last edited by intraclast; 2021-08-30 at 05:24. Reason: added in the log path permissions

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,629

    Installing on OSMC on a Vero4k

    > I've had to attach the journalctl output as its too long to be included
    > in a post. Does it provide any clues as to what is going on?


    Still not that helpful. Hmm... what if you tried to run LMS directly
    from the console? I think something like

    /usr/sbin/squeezeboxserver --d_startup

    (please find the correct path from the init scripts)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    26
    Hi, and thanks again.

    That outputted loads to the console. I've pasted into the attachment below:
    runfromCLI-output.txt

    It looks like I have a lot of perl modules missing maybe? Is there a recommended list of required modules that I can install or is it a case of working my way through the errors and installing them one by one?

    Many thanks

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,629

    Installing on OSMC on a Vero4k

    > It looks like I have a lot of perl modules missing maybe? Is there a
    > recommended list of required modules that I can install or is it a case
    > of working my way through the errors and installing them one by one?


    What exact package did you install?

    Can you double check DBI.pm isn't available in any of the following
    folders (listed in the log file):

    Can't locate DBI.pm in @INC (you may need to install the DBI module)
    (@INC contains:
    /usr/sbin/CPAN/arch/5.28/arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int
    /usr/sbin/CPAN/arch/5.28/arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int/auto
    /usr/sbin/CPAN/arch/5.28
    /usr/sbin/CPAN


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    26
    The package installed was logitechmediaserver_8.2.1~1628483320_all.deb from the nightly page (https://downloads.slimdevices.com/ni...483320_all.deb)

    I don't seem to have a /usr/sbin/CPAN folder.

    I have run through the list of modules not installed and resolved most of them with the following commands:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libdbi-perl
    
    sudo apt-get install libev-perl
    
    sudo apt-get install libxml-parser-perl
    
    sudo apt-get install libjson-xs-perl
    
    sudo apt-get install libyaml-libyaml-perl
    
    sudo apt-get install libsub-name-perl
    now I just have Digest:SHA1 missing.

    I've tried
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install digest-sha-perl
    and
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libcryptx-perl
    but they haven't helped. And digest-sha1-perl doesn't exist anymore.

    I found a 9 year old post on stack overflow which details how to install it with cpanminus. Do I need to do that?

    Apologies if my installing these modules muddys the water in terms of working out what is going on here.

    Thanks again.
    Last edited by intraclast; 2021-08-30 at 07:51. Reason: missing word

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,629

    Installing on OSMC on a Vero4k

    > The package installed was *logitechmediaserver_8.2.1~1628483320_all.deb*
    > from the nightly page


    Did you try the -arm version instead?

    > I don't seem to have a /usr/sbin/CPAN folder.


    Did you do a "find /usr/ -name DBI.pm"?

    > now I just have Digest:SHA1 missing.
    >
    > I've tried
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > sudo apt-get install digest-sha-perl


    That should be libdigest-sha-perl.

    But you shouldn't have to install any of them. Please check the LMS
    installation before you add any more stuff.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    26
    Hi,

    I've removed the installation, and installed the arm version as follows:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge logitechmediaserver
    
    wget https://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/8.2/lms/e8392d8321caa9dbc4d49c6548a7ed7a6fc976c2/logitechmediaserver_8.2.1~1628483320_arm.deb
    
    sudo dpkg -i logitechmediaserver_8.2.1~1628483320_arm.deb
    I still the same message when running the server manually with --d_startup
    Code:
    The following modules failed to load: Digest::SHA1
    It's odd though because I'd already installed libdigest-sha-perl when trying to fix it:
    Code:
    osmc@vero4k:~$ apt list libdigest-sha-perl
    Listing... Done
    libdigest-sha-perl/oldstable 6.02-1+b1 arm64
    libdigest-sha-perl/oldstable,now 6.02-1+b1 armhf [installed]
    Like you say I shouldn't have to manually install all this, at least I never did before when I was installing on my Vero4k. It was always the all.deb packaged I had used before.

    Thanks again for all your help.

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,629

    Installing on OSMC on a Vero4k

    > It's odd though because I'd already installed libdigest-sha-perl when
    > trying to fix it:


    Oh, please install libdigest-sha1-perl, too

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •