Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    4

    piCorePlayer: Can't edit options to setup network disk mount

    Hi, having just installed LMS on piCorePlayer, I'm now attempting to setup a disk mount so that music on my Synology NAS, is visible to the LMS but I find that I can't edit the [Setup Network Disk Mount] options - I can't click the [Enabled] option and if I place my mouse over any of the text boxes, all I get is a prohibition sign (red circle with diagonal line).

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,792
    Quote Originally Posted by piLMS View Post
    Hi, having just installed LMS on piCorePlayer, I'm now attempting to setup a disk mount so that music on my Synology NAS, is visible to the LMS but I find that I can't edit the [Setup Network Disk Mount] options - I can't click the [Enabled] option and if I place my mouse over any of the text boxes, all I get is a prohibition sign (red circle with diagonal line).
    Have you installed the additional file systems on the LMS page?

    Name:  AFS.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  20.1 KB
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP 8.0.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 8.0.0/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 8.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    Have you installed the additional file systems on the LMS page?

    Name:  AFS.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  20.1 KB
    Thanks kidstypike for the quick reply to my posting; you are correct in your suspicion that I hadn't done the instal. I've now done that additional step and managed to enter the details for the disk mount setup but had no success getting LMS to see my NAS. On reboot of the pi, the console screen indicates successful mount and LMS initially lists the Synology mount in [Disks and folders]:
    Name:  Capture2.JPG
Views: 59
Size:  13.7 KB

    but if I click on the Synology entry, LMS reports empty:
    Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 60
Size:  16.1 KB

    and when I go back to list of mounts, Synology has disappeared and can only be restored by restarting LMS.

    My mount settings are:
    Name:  Capture3.JPG
Views: 63
Size:  14.6 KB

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,771
    Is the Synology NAS set to allow access from the LMS machine?
    See https://docs.picoreplayer.org/how-to/add_network_share/
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Frequence3, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Is the Synology NAS set to allow access from the LMS machine?
    See https://docs.picoreplayer.org/how-to/add_network_share/
    Hi Paul, unfortunately, the link you suggested is where I started.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,771
    Do you have a Windows machine in your network?
    If yes ... can it see the music folder on the NAS?

    ... if still yes then you could try switching your pCP machine to use CIFS instead of NFS (and change the fields as shown in the online help).

    I suggest this because sometimes using CIFS (Microsoft) is easier.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Frequence3, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Do you have a Windows machine in your network?
    If yes ... can it see the music folder on the NAS?

    ... if still yes then you could try switching your pCP machine to use CIFS instead of NFS (and change the fields as shown in the online help).

    I suggest this because sometimes using CIFS (Microsoft) is easier.
    It's a miracle! Give that man a Blue-Peter-Badge (for non-UK people, such a badge is a good thing)!
    Just tried (not for the first time it must be said having messed with settings until 2:30 in the morning) selecting CIFS and it worked!

    Almost tempted to add a smiley-face emoji but that wouldn't be me so my thanks have to be limited to the virtual Blue-Peter-Badge!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,771
    That is good news.
    With that badge I can finally match my brother who received one years ago for something or other.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Frequence3, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •