Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 64 of 96 FirstFirst ... 1454626364656674 ... LastLast
Results 631 to 640 of 951
  1. #631
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,834
    LMS has a notification system, built into its web UI. pCP has a release page https://docs.picoreplayer.org/releases/ But nothing for small incremental extension updates....
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  2. #632
    Quote Originally Posted by mr-b View Post
    Is there any way to have a notification of pCP updates ( or other component updates) e.g. like LMS?
    If you have a way of monitoring a website for changes (there are free services for this, and android apps, and fairly simple shell scripts), then you could set up to be notified when either https://docs.picoreplayer.org/releases/ or https://repo.picoreplayer.org/insitu/ is modified.

    That's what I do.

  3. #633
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,834
    Quote Originally Posted by jubm View Post
    Looks like I have bad luck with WiFi dongles !
    Here's what I get when I plug my new ASUS USB-AC51 dongle on a PiCorePlayer 7.0.1 :

    Code:
    [ 1347.451699] usb 1-1.5: new high-speed USB device number 6 using dwc_otg
    [ 1347.597708] usb 1-1.5: New USB device found, idVendor=0b05, idProduct=17d1, bcdDevice= 1.00
    [ 1347.597732] usb 1-1.5: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
    [ 1347.597749] usb 1-1.5: Product: WiFi
    [ 1347.597765] usb 1-1.5: Manufacturer: MediaTek
    [ 1347.597781] usb 1-1.5: SerialNumber: 1.0
    [ 1347.691699] usb 1-1.5: reset high-speed USB device number 6 using dwc_otg
    [ 1347.827575] mt76x0u 1-1.5:1.0: ASIC revision: 76100002 MAC revision: 76502000
    [ 1347.831537] mt76x0u 1-1.5:1.0: mediatek/mt7610e.bin not found, switching to mediatek/mt7610u.bin
    [ 1347.831828] mt76x0u 1-1.5:1.0: Direct firmware load for mediatek/mt7610u.bin failed with error -2
    [ 1347.838396] mt76x0u: probe of 1-1.5:1.0 failed with error -2
    firmware has been added to the pCP 8.x.x repository. You will have to do a little manual work here until we make upgrades the wifi pages.

    start a ssh session
    Code:
    tc@Pi4-armhf-Devel:~$ tce-load -w firmware-mediatek
    Downloading: firmware-mediatek.tcz
    Connecting to repo.picoreplayer.org (172.67.157.97:443)
    saving to 'firmware-mediatek.tcz'
    firmware-mediatek.tc 100% |**************************************************************| 7048k  0:00:00 ETA
    'firmware-mediatek.tcz' saved
    firmware-mediatek.tcz: OK
    tc@Pi4-armhf-Devel:~$
    Then edit your onboot.lst (use vi or install nano)
    Code:
    tc@Pi4-armhf-Devel:~$ vi /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/onboot.lst
    Press the 'i' key on your keyboard for insert. At the beginning of the file, or at least by all of the other firmware-xxxxxxx.tcz entries

    add "firmware-mediatek.tcz" to the file

    then Press <ESC>:wq

    This will save the file.....then reboot. And you should be good.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  4. #634
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    The password has to be entered anytime you want to make change.
    Thanks Paul that worked, finally I was able to correct the SSID & save the changes. However, I still can't connect over wifi as soon as I disconnect the Ethernet cable.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  5. #635
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,727
    Did you reboot with the Ethernet cable already removed?

    Edit:
    Or have you set the Ethernet link with a static IP address in pCP?
    Last edited by Paul Webster; 2022-01-21 at 22:47.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  6. #636
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Did you reboot with the Ethernet cable already removed?

    Edit:
    Or have you set the Ethernet link with a static IP address in pCP?
    Rebooted with & without Ethernet cable removed, but I loose the connectiion when I removed the cable.

    Yes, I have configured the Ethernet link with a static IP address in my router....
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #637
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,727
    Have you set Ethernet as static IP in pCP - not the router?
    If you have then turn it off and see what happens.
    Main/Beta/Static


    If you have not set it there ... then the problem is that pCP is remembering the old IP address to reach LMS ... which is not reachable when the cable is removed.
    I am sure that this has come up before but I don't remember the solution.
    Someone will though.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  8. #638
    Senior Member mr-b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    663
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    LMS has a notification system, built into its web UI. pCP has a release page https://docs.picoreplayer.org/releases/ But nothing for small incremental extension updates....
    Trouble is I'd have to keep checking the release page for updates which quite frankly I'm going to forget to do and seems rather antiquated. It'd be ideal if it was integrated with the player like LMS notifications, or via the admin UI e.g. pfsense or Kodi or many of my other appliances. Otherwise I wondered if the UI could fetch the current release and just have it as a banner at the top?

  9. #639
    Senior Member mr-b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    663
    Quote Originally Posted by pgf View Post
    If you have a way of monitoring a website for changes (there are free services for this, and android apps, and fairly simple shell scripts), then you could set up to be notified when either https://docs.picoreplayer.org/releases/ or https://repo.picoreplayer.org/insitu/ is modified.

    That's what I do.
    Tx, I'd not heard of those. Since I'm not a programmer and my shell scripting has usually been confined to modifying backup scripts (and then extensive head scratching when things don't work!) do you have any recommendations for a free service that works with those pages? I can envisage waiting for multiple changes to test something out would be rather a long process!

  10. #640
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    5,727
    Quote Originally Posted by mr-b View Post
    Tx, I'd not heard of those.
    They generally allow a small number of pages to be monitored for free.

    eg
    visualping.io
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •