Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 24 of 34 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 332
  1. #231
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    184

    samba, hmac

    for me (Ubuntu 20.04.2), lsmod does not show hmac as a loaded module. I tried installing a perl-hmac something but that had no effect. Not sure how to get hmac loaded.

    This is a new problem for me though at pcp 8.0 (all worked at 7.0.1).

    -----
    EDIT: modprobe does show:

    softdep cifs pre: hmac

    But I have no idea what to do with that/how to proceed.
    -----
    EDIT2:
    "cat /proc/crypto|grep hmac" shows this, which maybe means hmac is around?:
    tom@musicman:~$ cat /proc/crypto|grep hmac
    name : hmac(sha256)
    driver : hmac(sha256-generic)
    name : hmac(sha1)
    driver : hmac(sha1-generic)
    driver : drbg_nopr_hmac_sha256
    driver : drbg_nopr_hmac_sha512
    driver : drbg_nopr_hmac_sha384
    driver : drbg_nopr_hmac_sha1
    driver : drbg_pr_hmac_sha256
    driver : drbg_pr_hmac_sha512
    driver : drbg_pr_hmac_sha384
    driver : drbg_pr_hmac_sha1
    =====================
    Last edited by TomS; 2021-08-03 at 07:02. Reason: more info
    SB3(1), Boom(2), Radio(3), piCorePlayer (1)

  2. #232
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534

    Announce: piCorePlayer 8.0.0

    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    What is the device creating the share? Check the output of `lsmod` is hmac loaded?
    The device creating the share (which worked with pCP 7) is a Freebox (France ISP).
    lsmod does not list hmac or md5
    sudo modprobe hmac .... does not find the module to load
    sudo modprobe md5 ... does load the module but does not result in change in mount message (ran by hand under sudo).
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #233
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    I see that it was also reported on 11-Jul ...
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...=1#post1027452
    any feedback from that poster on how it was solved (or not)?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  4. #234
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    I just tried again but with a fresh pCP8 install (rather than an upgrade from pCP7) on the RPi1 and has same issue.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  5. #235
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I see that it was also reported on 11-Jul ...
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...=1#post1027452
    any feedback from that poster on how it was solved (or not)?
    Looks like I overlooked the issue. Authentication changes every kernel release.....cryptology changes even faster. I'll take a look at the issue when I get home. (Still working hours for me)

    hmac is built-into the kernel, so it's there, but likely there is a crypto module that is a soft dependency.
    Last edited by paul-; 2021-08-03 at 13:07.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  6. #236
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    I also tried with sec=none and it gave me the same error - which I thought was odd.
    But maybe the other end tried to negotiate it upwards.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #237
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    Update ... I now have it working.

    In options I added sec=ntlm and changed vers to 1.0 from 2.0
    I already had username=guest (from getting it to work with pCP7).

    So my full options now read

    sec=ntlm,uid=1001,gid=50,vers=1.0

    There may well be other ways of getting there.

    Old CIFS defaulted to sec=ntlm - but current defaults to sec=ntlmssp

    So I have forced it to work the old way.
    Using vers=2.0 (which worked with pCP7) did not work here because mount reported a "bad option" - presumably it did not like the combination of various things.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #238
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,350
    Quote Originally Posted by mfraser View Post
    I see that now. Is there any reason why I have to disable mmap?
    If mmap=1 doesn't work then you need to change it to mmap=0.

    With the original pCP mmap=1 only worked in some circumstances, so the default was mmap=0. Then for many years, mmap=1 worked for everything, so it was set as the default.

    Then we noticed with recent kernels, mmap=1 doesn't always work in all circumstances. So for sound cards Headphones and b1 configuration files, we set mmap=0.

  9. #239
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    184

    samba, ntlm

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Update ... I now have it working.

    In options I added sec=ntlm and changed vers to 1.0 from 2.0
    I already had username=guest (from getting it to work with pCP7).

    So my full options now read

    sec=ntlm,uid=1001,gid=50,vers=1.0

    There may well be other ways of getting there.

    Old CIFS defaulted to sec=ntlm - but current defaults to sec=ntlmssp

    So I have forced it to work the old way.
    Using vers=2.0 (which worked with pCP7) did not work here because mount reported a "bad option" - presumably it did not like the combination of various things.
    sadly, sec=ntlm does not work for me, tried with vers=2.0, 3.0, 3.11

    Tom
    SB3(1), Boom(2), Radio(3), piCorePlayer (1)

  10. #240
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    Try with vers=1.0 .... that is what worked for me in this particular case (2.0 and 3.0 did not but I was using 2.0 with pCP7)
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •