Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 93
  1. #31
    I have just modified one of my 3 SBR. So, I'll see if problems gone. Anyway, problems disappeared for a couple of months.

  2. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    22

    Setting for inactivity?

    The WLANpoke solution basically works fine for my SB Radio. But I have noticed that after about (or exactly?) one week of not using the SB Radio it looses the WLAN connection and needs to be restarted.
    This is not a big problem, but I was wondering if this is somehow configurable? If so, how can I go about to extend this setting to let's say two weeks instead?

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    282
    Is there a way to to turn off wlanpoke? I want to turn it off for some testing.

  4. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by P Nelson View Post
    Is there a way to to turn off wlanpoke? I want to turn it off for some testing.
    Remove the /etc/init.d/rcS.local file on your Squeezebox and then reboot the Squeezebox.

    To turn it back on you will need to recreate/replace this file.

  5. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13

    Various questions..

    This looks like a possible life saver for my radios, thanks a lot for this.
    But i would like to better understand what is really going on:

    - What is the root cause for the problem, e.g.: why do the radios loose wifi ? and not reconnect. I can not even force the radio to reconnect with the menu item of repair network. Just with reboot.
    - And what does wlanPoke do to fix this ?
    - Are there alternative solutions, e.g.: newer firmware for the radios? I just see there is also community firmware.

    I had this problem for many years. In one place i figured that the problem was related to the hardware version, likely differnt wifi chips ? So i wired up the radios with the biggest issue.

    Now i have the problem when i move a radio further away. Works well on wifi in close proximity to the AP, but not in the next room.

    So quite curious what the heck is going on...

  6. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    102

    Turn off for Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by P Nelson View Post
    Is there a way to to turn off wlanpoke? I want to turn it off for some testing.
    Removing the rcS.local file and rebooting will restore your radio to nearly its original state. You can still manually launch the script.

    Besides that, depending on what you want to do, there are several other ways to disable wlanpoke.

    The first is to use the wlanpoke's kill app function. From an ssh prompt (copy and paste):
    /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke.sh -k
    to exit the script. The script should exit and stay off until the next reboot, or until you relaunch it.

    If you want the script to not run at the next reboot, a quick way is to rename the script so that it will be launched at boot, e.g.:
    mv /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke.sh /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke.sh.disabled
    You could instead rename the rcS.local file.

    (For testing, which sounds advanced, if you want to retain or expand the script's logging capability, you could disable the script's RestartNetwork() function by adding "return" as the first line.)

  7. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by te36 View Post
    This looks like a possible life saver for my radios, thanks a lot for this. But i would like to better understand what is really going on:
    - What is the root cause for the problem, e.g.: why do the radios loose wifi ? and not reconnect...
    Briefly: WiFi-6 and mesh are disrupting (incompatible with) the radio's WiFi chip firmware. For a history of the investigation into this issue, start here and keep reading. Many pages.

    - And what does wlanPoke do to fix this? - Are there alternative solutions ...
    The script does not fix the disruption issue. Instead, it restarts the wireless radio after a disruption has been detected, frequently quickly enough so that music that has been downloaded to the radio does not "run out" before the radio reconnects.

    One alternative solution is to use Ethernet. However, this makes the radio non-portable. Another solution is to reduce or eliminate WiFi-6 and/or mesh interference (good luck with the neighbors...). One day, WiFi-6 and mesh, which were supposed to be "compatible," may actually become so, and eliminate the issue.
    Last edited by POMdev; 2021-09-01 at 13:45.

  8. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by POMdev View Post
    Briefly: WiFi-6 and mesh are disrupting (incompatible with) the radio's WiFi chip firmware. For a history of the investigation into this issue, start here and keep reading. Many pages.

    The script does not fix the disruption issue. Instead, it restarts the wireless radio after a disruption has been detected, frequently quickly enough so that music that has been downloaded to the radio does not "run out" before the radio reconnects.

    One alternative solution is to use Ethernet. However, this makes the radio non-portable. Another solution is to reduce or eliminate WiFi-6 and/or mesh interference (good luck with the neighbors...). One day, WiFi-6 and mesh, which were supposed to be "compatible," may actually become so, and eliminate the issue.
    Whow. Will read up on the thread.
    So right now i have a Unifi Ap AC-Lite, but i already ordered to play around a newer Nano. Any idea if i might improve my situation with the radio by configuring them in a particular way ? No idea if / what i could e.g. disable at 2.4 Ghz.

  9. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by POMdev View Post

    (For testing, which sounds advanced, if you want to retain or expand the script's logging capability, you could disable the script's RestartNetwork() function by adding "return" as the first line.)
    For me, no testing that I would call advanced. I wanted to turn off wlanpoke to see if moving the Radio to a new area in my house has a interference problem.

    Thanks for the reply. Adding this to my notes on SB Radios.

    Paul

  10. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by P Nelson View Post
    For me, no testing that I would call advanced. I wanted to turn off wlanpoke to see if moving the Radio to a new area in my house has a interference problem.
    OK. You don't need to turn off the script to evaluate interference. Just enable the web server, and open the radio's web page on port 8080 to get the latest page of disruption statistics. (The software is almost all logging and reporting for the purpose of tuning and troubleshooting the mitigation, which is only ~10% of the code.) For more information, see the manual.txt file.

    Add "-W slow" to rcS.local:
    /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke.sh -x -W slow &
    or
    /etc/wlanpoke/wlanpoke.sh -W slow &
    to enable real time remote reporting (RTM) to your desktop, etc.

    ...Adding this to my notes on SB Radios...
    Is there a public link for your notes?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •