Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5

    ASUS ZenWifi AX (XT8) firmware upgrade disconnects my squeezeboxes

    I have several Duet’s and a Touch that use to work satisfactorily, meaning -once in a while I have to pull to power plug from the player to reconnect, but I have learned to live with that.
    LMS is running version 8.1.1 on a Windows Server.

    Yesterday I made a f/w upgrade of my ASUS ZenWifi mesh system (3 nodes).

    Goodbye Squeezeboxes (everything else seemed to work as before).

    All players showed the horrible blue light and the controllers all showed the Wifi strength indicator in red.
    Tried
    • Rebooting and reconnecting all devices involved.
    • Reconfigured the Wifi system, in suspicion of that the f/w upgrade had changed some setting. Luckily, I had all setting saved from some weeks ago.
    • Reset and reconfigured a Duet
    • Connected a Duet Player using Ethernet and – wow – that worked for the player but still could not connect the controller.

    After some frustrating hours I finally downgraded my ZenWifi f/w several steps from version 3.0.0.4.386.43181 to 3.0.0.4.386.42095 and everything bounced back!

    So, here’s my simple question,
    What the (h) is going on?

    Asus keeps improving their mesh systems with frequent f/w upgrades and I would like to be part of any improvements they make.

    Any help or not too far fetched ideas would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Bjorn

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,771
    Probably the best thing is to let Asus know via their support organisation and probably their support forum.
    Other users of legacy kit might have already determined a set of settings that works and Asus probably want to make things as backwards compatible as possible.
    The challenge for Asus is that they probably do not have a lot of 15 year old WiFi hardware / firmware to test against in their lab.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin, AllZIC Radio, Caroline Flashback, Cesky rozhlas, Frequence3, JukeRadio, KlassikRadio.de, Linn Radio, Mother Earth, Naim Radio, Nova.fr, RadioBlues Flac, Radio Espace, Somehow Jazz, Supla Finland

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    they probably do not have a lot of 15 year old WiFi hardware / firmware to test against in their lab.
    I can certainly see that problem but maybe they can tell me what knobs that might have an effect. Wish I knew more about what protocols are used by the squeezeboxes.

    Thanks
    Bjorn

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,803
    Quote Originally Posted by Bjorn Bornstedt View Post
    I can certainly see that problem but maybe they can tell me what knobs that might have an effect. Wish I knew more about what protocols are used by the squeezeboxes.
    They're plain v. old just 802.11bg

    No 'n','ac', 'ax', 'r, 's' etc.

    No Roaming, No channel Bonding, no additional RTS or CTS timing changes.

    Only 2.4MHz - no 5Mhz.

    Generally turn off all the new features (many of which you may not even use) and then enable them one by one.

    Channel bonding (i.e 40Mhz vs 20Mhz) and Roaming are often the problem features.
    Last edited by bpa; 2021-06-22 at 06:58.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Channel bonding (i.e 40Mhz vs 20Mhz) and Roaming are often the problem features.
    Thanks

    I switched Channel Bandwidth from 20/40 Mhz to 20 Mhz and Control Channel from auto to channel 5.
    None of these settings are new with the f/w release that caused the error but anyways...

    Not sure what you mean by roaming?
    Last edited by Bjorn Bornstedt; 2021-06-23 at 02:14.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    7,819
    Quote Originally Posted by Bjorn Bornstedt View Post
    Thanks

    I switched Channel Bandwidth from 20/40 Mhz to 20 Mhz and Control Channel from auto to channel 5.
    None of these settings are new with the f/w release that caused the error but anyways...

    Note sure what you mean by roaming?
    Probably not important but Channel 5 is an unusual choice. Normally 1,6 and 11 are recommended.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,803
    Quote Originally Posted by Bjorn Bornstedt View Post
    Not sure what you mean by roaming?
    You have a mesh network - which means multiple ASUS devices (e.g. router & satellites) providing a single SSID wifi by operating in a mesh - if the user device supports roaming then it can change AP connection (e.g. from satellite to satellite device) as user device moves around. LMS players are usually fairly static so this roaming feature is not significant but possibly may cause problems in locations where satellite devices signals overlap.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •