Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 39 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 387
  1. #11
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,569

    [Announce] Spotty 4.5 - improved Oggdirect, Autoplay, multi-user setup

    > When I try to run the binary files it returns command not found.
    >
    > I think the binaries exist but unlike other binaries (eg. Top) they are
    > not marked as symlink and the properties are different.


    What are their permissions set to?

    > How do I check for 32 vs 64 bit.?


    What does Settings/Information say about the system? What are the helper
    search paths reported on that page?

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    7,285
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > What exactly was improved with Spotify Ogg Direct streaming? Seeking
    > improvements, or something else?


    Yes, native seeking. Previosly Spotty would switch to PCM when seeking,
    sometimes causing a change in volume level. Plus I believe previously
    embedded non-standard meta data in the Ogg stream could cause glitches
    in playback.

    > Also, is what you're calling Ogg Direct here, simply when File Types is
    > set to both "Prefer native format" and Spotty->"Ogg Vorbis" file type is
    > set to "spotty-x86_64" (or something other than Disabled, depending on
    > server platform)??


    Yes. I called it this way because initially spotty would receive Ogg,
    but always decode to PCM. With Ogg Direct it can send the Ogg data
    directly to the player without decoding it to PCM (and re-encode it to
    FLAC to save bandwidth etc.).
    I seem to remember the volume change was because volume normalisation didn't work for Ogg Direct but it did for PCM. Does volume normalisation work for Ogg Direct now? Does volume normalisation allow a choice of "album gain" or "track gain"?

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  3. #13

    Feedback to 4.5

    4.5 mostly solves a long standing issue I had using Spotify Connect from iPhone. Still daemons become restarted but this should no longer cause issues in practical usage.

    What I experience now:

    1. Choosing SB Radio as Spotify Connect target: Works
    2. Choosing iPhone as Spotify Connect target: Works
      At this point of time the daemon of the SB Radio becomes restarted "Plugins::Spotty::Connect:: DaemonManager::checkAPIConnectPlayers (208) Connect daemon is running, but not connected - shutting down to force restart: 00:04:20:2d:ee:c3 Squeezebox Office"
    3. Choosing SB Radio as Spotify Connect target: Works if the daemon already finished restarting

    As most people are not constantly switching between iPhone and SB Radio this should not cause an issue. Before 4.5 the daemon restarted at the time an SB Radio was chosen as a target which resulted in silence.

    If the daemon restart could be prevented completely and maybe only the connection between the daemon and Spotify could be reestablished it would be even better. But as I said: In practical terms the current behavior is completely fine.

    Thanks a lot Michael!
    Tom

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,247
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > When I try to run the binary files it returns command not found.
    >
    > I think the binaries exist but unlike other binaries (eg. Top) they are
    > not marked as symlink and the properties are different.


    What are their permissions set to?

    > How do I check for 32 vs 64 bit.?


    What does Settings/Information say about the system? What are the helper
    search paths reported on that page?
    aarch64-Linux. rwxrwxr-x


    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.2 - 1622353561 @ Sun May 30 09:04:30 CEST 2021
    Hostname: piCorePlayer
    Server IP Address: 192.168.1.4
    Server HTTP Port Number: 9000
    Operating system: piCore - EN - utf8
    Platform Architecture: armv8l-linux
    Perl Version: 5.28.2 - arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int
    Audio::Scan: 1.02
    IO::Socket::SSL: 2.066
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)
    Total Players Recognized: 7



    /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/Bin, /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/Bin/arm-linux, /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/SpottyAARCH64Bin/Bin,
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    7,285
    My album list is empty. The Artist list is still there but no albums.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    7,285
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    My album list is empty. The Artist list is still there but no albums.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Hmm I had to do a scan for online music to get the album list to appear. I thought that was purely for integration into the local music library.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  7. #17
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,569

    [Announce] Spotty 4.5 - improved Oggdirect, Autoplay, multi-user setup

    > aarch64-Linux. rwxrwxr-x

    And that wouldn't run? What about the arm-linux version?

    > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/Bin,
    > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/Bin/arm-linux,


    Ok, it wouldn't even consider the aarch64 version.

    > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/SpottyAARCH64Bin/Bin,


    Did you install this after the update? Would you still not be able to
    use Spotty v4.5?

    Worst case (until I've figured this out) you could install the legacy
    helper plugin.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,247
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > aarch64-Linux. rwxrwxr-x

    And that wouldn't run? What about the arm-linux version?

    > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/Bin,
    > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/Spotty/Bin/arm-linux,


    Ok, it wouldn't even consider the aarch64 version.

    > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/SpottyAARCH64Bin/Bin,


    Did you install this after the update? Would you still not be able to
    use Spotty v4.5?

    Worst case (until I've figured this out) you could install the legacy
    helper plugin.
    Installed legacy plugin. No change - same red warning message as initially reported.

    Switching to actual folder - ls shows spotty-hf. Running it just gives no command found.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  9. #19
    Senior Member jasell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    308
    Just updated to 4.5 and I now get öFailed to get access tokenö

    Any tip for what to do?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    NAS: QNAP TS-459U+ QTS 4.2.6 (4x 2TB, RAID5)
    Services: LMS 8.2.0 by QLMS 2.21.00 QLMS at QNAP club
    Squeezebox: 6x Receiver, 3x Boom, 2x SB3 Classic, 1x Touch
    Controller: Control by Material skin or iPeng, Local music or Spotify by Spotty

  10. #20
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,569

    [Announce] Spotty 4.5 - improved Oggdirect, Autoplay, multi-user setup

    > Just updated to 4.5 and I now get ÔÇŁFailed to get access tokenÔÇŁ
    >
    > Any tip for what to do?


    Did you check the server.log? The settings pages? Are you using your own
    client ID? Multiple accounts?

    A little more information might be helpful...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •