Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    310

    LMS On Asustor NAS

    I'm told I can run LMS on an Asustor NAS. But search as I might I can't find out how to install it. I've found threads on updating it but not to find out where I can download and install it from. I used to have it on a headless micro PC but that along with my NAS and other bits got zapped by a ligtning strilk this weel solooking at possible alternatives. I know I could put it on a PI but I would like to reduce the number of boxes (however small) I have on the system.
    Can anyone point me to the right place please>
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.2-git648d7bd@Daphile 21.04-b101500-x86_64rt
    Squeezebox Touch: Firmware: 7.7.1-r9561
    Squeezeplay 7.5.3 - r0
    Sqwueezebox Radio: Firmware: 7.7.2-r9663

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    6,234
    Quote Originally Posted by cliver View Post
    I'm told I can run LMS on an Asustor NAS. But search as I might I can't find out how to install it. I've found threads on updating it but not to find out where I can download and install it from. I used to have it on a headless micro PC but that along with my NAS and other bits got zapped by a ligtning strilk this weel solooking at possible alternatives. I know I could put it on a PI but I would like to reduce the number of boxes (however small) I have on the system.
    Can anyone point me to the right place please>
    But according to your signature you already have 2 Piĺs?! Why not install LMS on one of them and mount the Asustor drives via CIFS or NFS?
    Jim
    https://jukeradio.double6.net


    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Radio
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    310
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    But according to your signature you already have 2 Pi’s?! Why not install LMS on one of them and mount the Asustor drives via CIFS or NFS?
    One is doing other things and the other has gone belly up due to a ligtening strike on my property.
    I did have it running on an old headless mini pc but that went the same way as the much of my kit in the ligtening strike.
    Plus I want to consilidate/reduce the number of seperate boxes I have if I can.

    That said, I might just go for another headless mini.
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.2-git648d7bd@Daphile 21.04-b101500-x86_64rt
    Squeezebox Touch: Firmware: 7.7.1-r9561
    Squeezeplay 7.5.3 - r0
    Sqwueezebox Radio: Firmware: 7.7.2-r9663

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by cliver View Post
    One is doing other things and the other has gone belly up due to a ligtening strike on my property.
    I did have it running on an old headless mini pc but that went the same way as the much of my kit in the ligtening strike.
    Plus I want to consilidate/reduce the number of seperate boxes I have if I can.

    That said, I might just go for another headless mini.
    Hi, I use Docker and Portainer to handle easily, on my Asustor nas, with the LMS docker. Is easiest to install and upgrade. I did notice a quite old lms app in the beta apps section. That might be installable and upgradeable as well?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Huey11 View Post
    Hi, I use Docker and Portainer to handle easily, on my Asustor nas, with the LMS docker. Is easiest to install and upgrade. I did notice a quite old lms app in the beta apps section. That might be installable and upgradeable as well?
    Hi @Huey11,
    I own an Asustor NAS too, and would like to install LMS on it. It looks like since migration to ADM4, LMS is not available anymore in App Central.
    So I would like to make it work using another way.
    I know we can find LMS source codes here : https://downloads.slimdevices.com/
    But I am not familiar with Docker and Portainer.
    Would you mind explaining the full procedure to make LMS work on NAS Asustor using these 2 applications Docker and Portainer ?
    Thanks a lot.
    Regards.
    Last edited by Phil; 2021-10-30 at 14:45.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil View Post
    Hi @Huey11,
    I own an Asustor NAS too, and would like to install LMS on it. It looks like since migration to ADM4, LMS is not available anymore in App Central.
    So I would like to make it work using another way.
    I know we can find LMS source codes here : https://downloads.slimdevices.com/
    But I am not familiar with Docker and Portainer.
    Would you mind explaining the full procedure to make LMS work on NAS Asustor using these 2 applications Docker and Portainer ?
    Thanks a lot.
    Regards.
    Hi Phil, the procedure is exactly the same for ADM3 as ADM4. Basically if you follow this thread you should be able to quickly work it out: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...ibraries/page3
    With this you should be able to get it done quickly. (just leave out, as rightly noted further on, the volume bind to /etc/TZ:/etc/timezone as that folder is not present on the asustor.)

    (ie install plugin dokcer-ce on the asustor, install portainer plugin on asustor. run the command on the command prompt so it will download image and run with said parameters et voila. use portainer to manage with a gui your container)

    Lots of interesting other docker info in https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...for-LMS/page50

    Regards

  7. #7

    Logotech media server beta app - where?

    Quote Originally Posted by Huey11 View Post
    Hi, I use Docker and Portainer to handle easily, on my Asustor nas, with the LMS docker. Is easiest to install and upgrade. I did notice a quite old lms app in the beta apps section. That might be installable and upgradeable as well?
    Hi
    Just about to start putting LMS on my 6604t and have been hunting for any version of LMS that would natively run on it. I cannot find the old apps you mentioned - can you point me at them please?
    I have not used Docker before and LMS is the only package i haven;t a solution for as yet. Didn't want to set off down yet another new route if there is an easier way to get LMS going.

    Thanks
    Andy

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Huey11 View Post
    Hi Phil, the procedure is exactly the same for ADM3 as ADM4. Basically if you follow this thread you should be able to quickly work it out: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...ibraries/page3
    With this you should be able to get it done quickly. (just leave out, as rightly noted further on, the volume bind to /etc/TZ:/etc/timezone as that folder is not present on the asustor.)

    (ie install plugin dokcer-ce on the asustor, install portainer plugin on asustor. run the command on the command prompt so it will download image and run with said parameters et voila. use portainer to manage with a gui your container)

    Lots of interesting other docker info in https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...for-LMS/page50

    Regards
    Thank you so much @Huey11.
    It was so easy :
    - AppCentral->Install Docker-CE
    - AppCentral->Install Portainer-CE (optional)
    - Then SSH the NAS and run (modify the volumes if necessary, especially for your music source /volume1/music, and modify PGID/PUID too) :
    Code:
    sudo docker run -d \
    --name logitech-media-server \
    --restart=always \
    --net=host \
    -v "/volume1/docker/lms/config":"/config":rw \
    -v "/volume1/music":"/music":ro \
    -v "/volume1/docker/lms/playlist":"/playlist":rw \
    -v "/etc/localtime":"/etc/localtime":ro \
    -e PGID=myPGID \
    -e PUID=myPUID \
    lmscommunity/logitechmediaserver:stable
    That's it ! It works like a charm !
    I am so happy to get LMS back, furthermore with the latest version. Great !
    Thanks again.
    Last edited by Phil; 2021-11-07 at 15:44.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •