Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 59
  1. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    Just tried the Triode trick.
    It partially works.
    For something that is playing or is in the queue it does hide the URL.

    However, I can still see it when browsing the station list ... but I have a vague recollection that I can control that via the OPML data so am off to dig some more.
    Thanks

    Also - there is still an issue with the login stuff.
    You might find that you have to login again on each restart until I resolve it.
    Last edited by Paul Webster; 2021-05-28 at 07:00.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  2. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,754
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Just tried the Triode trick.
    It partially works.
    For something that is playing or is in the queue it does hide the URL.
    Yes TrackINfo is only for objects are LMS tracks - for remote objects they exist when are just about to be played or are being played.

    However, I can still see it when browsing the station list ... but I have a vague recollection that I can control that via the OPML data so am off to dig some more.
    Thanks
    OPML is menu - before playing. Lots of ways to hide things but sometime cross platform differences (e.g. Class, Material, Jiveplay, old SB player etc).

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    Looks like the OPML code insists on "url" and does not have a non-display equivalent like streamUrl.
    The hideURL attribute does not seem to help either.

    So - I think I do need the ability to have my PH URL in the menu result (in the end) in PlayHLS being invoked (subject to me determining at run time that HLS is what is required for the target URL).
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,754
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Looks like the OPML code insists on "url" and does not have a non-display equivalent like streamUrl.
    The hideURL attribute does not seem to help either.

    So - I think I do need the ability to have my PH URL in the menu result (in the end) in PlayHLS being invoked (subject to me determining at run time that HLS is what is required for the target URL).
    I have only had a quick look but you have a full PH which expects to play playable URLs (e.g.http/aac with possible redirections ). HLS URLs are not playable URLS - they always a playlist which has to be processed, it can result in multiple possible URLs (e.g. different bti rates) each of which is a playlist. So PlayHLS has its own scanURL and also getnexttrack - so my gut feel is that a PH cannot supply HLS URL to LMS as it is not immediately playable.

    I'm not sure why you have to subclass HTTP to do remote streaming but obviously you'll be missing out PlayHLS as it won't be subclassed.

    BBC iPlayer plugin managed to do something similar to your requirements, it has a simple iplayer:// PH and co-existing DASH and HLS PHs. (3 PHs in one plugin) - so I need to revisit BBCiPlayer but I also have to understand how your menus. With BBC HLS and DASH URLs were the simplest form and so assumptions can be made and shortcuts taken. The PlayHLS plugin deals with general HLS which have more complexity.

    Looking at PlanetRock site and it seems it is supplying a series of URLs like France Radio. Why the need for a PH for PlanetRock ? This iswhat I struggled at the start of this thread and still have not got to grips with this key problem that requires a PH solution

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    The only reason to have a PH is to try to find a way to hide the protected stream URLs.
    If I turn off the PH then they all play fine but then the protected URLs can be seen.

    A solution that does not require a PH is absolutely fine - which is what Triode's stuff nearly does.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,754
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    The only reason to have a PH is to try to find a way to hide the protected stream URLs.
    If I turn off the PH then they all play fine but then the protected URLs can be seen.

    A solution that does not require a PH is absolutely fine - which is what Triode's stuff nearly does.
    I'm slowly getting to understand the plugin and the problem. I found how to control whether to use PH or not and so can see different behaviour.

    To get up to speed quicker. Why has http been subclassed ? What problem did this solve ?
    I want to check out whether the subclassing is problem is causing PlayHLS to fail - when I look at player.source log the m3u8 URL after getting scanned by PlayHLS, the result gets passed straight to pr: handler again instead of PlayHLS. Need to understand why ?

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    The sub "new" was from Philippe's minimum set (I think).
    You will see another below it "new_unsed" ... which is one version I had tried before.
    (code to be tidied up before release with that sort of thing removed)

    If you rename it, so that it does not get called then ... I think the stream URL reappears when playing.
    However, maybe that would not happen with Triode's trick.
    I'll try.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,534
    Update - without the sub "new" we get something like:
    Code:
    Slim::Player::Protocols::HTTPS::new (35) Opening connection to myplugin://something: [something on port 80 with path / with timeout 15]
    which cannot work.
    So I think the routine replaces that PH fake URL with a real one .. which allows things to go a bit further.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  9. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,754
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    The sub "new" was from Philippe's minimum set (I think).
    You will see another below it "new_unsed" ... which is one version I had tried before.
    (code to be tidied up before release with that sort of thing removed)

    If you rename it, so that it does not get called then ... I think the stream URL reappears when playing.
    However, maybe that would not happen with Triode's trick.
    I'll try.
    I think I just have to try different thing and try to understand your plugin setup - it is quite different to Triode/BBCiplayer "style".

    The "hideurl" is only implemented for older player with VFD displays and the associated UI. There are many cases where UI is not uniform.

  10. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,754
    A simpler, more comprehensive but radical solution would be and LMS change for we browser (and other interfaces) NOT to show URLs which do not begin with http or https.

    Non http/https URLs are "special" and is it a good idea to expose them ?


    Back to the original issue - if HLS station is playing and the user saves the playing station as a favorite - will the real URL be saved ? In which all this effort is for nought.
    If the favorite saved is a pr:// one, is the pr:// URL valid across incarnations of plugin and changes in stationlist ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •