Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    6

    wifi failing after router upgrade

    hello
    i have a multi-room setup using raspberry PIs as LMS and piCore streaming slim devices, hooked up to different speakers/stereos.
    this is (was) actually working like a charm.
    however now i updated my router picore is no longer able to connect to the wifi anymore...

    i tried everything i could think of, but can't debug the issue...
    what would help me is if someone could point me to what picore 7.0.0 does when trying to connect to wifi, so i could do go through the steps manually and try to debug where it fails. and then hopefully find a picore or a router setting to adapt...

    details:
    RPi B+ v1.2
    picore 7.0.0
    asus RT-AX88U router

    ps. the same HW was working on the past router

  2. #2
    The raspberries didn't get built-in wifi until the 3 so how did your B+ connect previously, external dongle?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    6
    yes, dongle. it's a EP-N8508GS

  4. #4
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,563
    Quote Originally Posted by shiftux View Post
    yes, dongle. it's a EP-N8508GS
    You'll have to attach the LMS sever to the new router via ethernet, find it's IP address and configure it's wifi, all the Raspberry pi players should then appear in LMS.
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 7.0.1/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    6
    sorry, i might not have been clear enough in the description.
    the LMS is hooked up to the router via ethernet and is running (also picore-based).
    i am trying to setup additional picore-based streaming devices (slaves) in other rooms. those do not get an IP from the router, thus never find the LMS.

  6. #6
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,563
    Quote Originally Posted by shiftux View Post
    sorry, i might not have been clear enough in the description.
    the LMS is hooked up to the router via ethernet and is running (also picore-based).
    i am trying to setup additional picore-based streaming devices (slaves) in other rooms. those do not get an IP from the router, thus never find the LMS.
    You'll have to connect them by ethernet first to enter the new SSID/password.
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 7.0.1/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    165
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    You'll have to connect them by ethernet first to enter the new SSID/password.
    Or change the SSID/Key on the new router to be the same as the old router.

  8. #8
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,563
    Quote Originally Posted by coyrls View Post
    Or change the SSID/Key on the new router to be the same as the old router.
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 7.0.1/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    6
    thanks for all your replies guys. again, sorry, i had been brief in my explanation. this of course is all done. i have it connected to ethernet and also with a direct connection to a monitor, so i am on the console of the picore RPi (with or without ssh). i tried the web gui for wifi and the wpa_supplicant method. both to no avail. however the scan of the wifi networks finds my network.
    so i think that there is a configuration element missing on the router or the pi, which would make it work. but i do not get a reasonable error message that could point me to what it is.

    so what i would be looking for is how to connect to a wifi via the console step by step and debug the output. hoping this would give me an error hinting to what exactly causes the problem. google has helped me a little, but most of the tools that are described and used there are not available on tinycore....

  10. #10
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,247
    Have you looked at the [Wifi Settings] > [Diagnostics] page?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •