Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,217

    Multiple libaries?

    Hi.

    I have a desire to run two separate libraries and switch between them. Is there a simple way to achieve that without running two instances of LMS?
    I am aware that Erland designed a (paid?) multi-library plugin but I'm not too sure if it still exists/works or even if it is/was appropriate

    Thanks again....
    Take care of your tongue. It is in a wet place and can easily slip.

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,772
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Hi.

    I have a desire to run two separate libraries and switch between them. Is there a simple way to achieve that without running two instances of LMS?
    I am aware that Erland designed a (paid?) multi-library plugin but I'm not too sure if it still exists/works or even if it is/was appropriate

    Thanks again....
    Certainly, I have quite a few libraries.

    How to do this depends on which skin you prefer to use.

    Name:  libraries.jpg
Views: 210
Size:  42.2 KB
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP 8.0.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 8.0.0/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 8.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  3. #3
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,217
    Wow. That's a lot of libraries! :-)

    I use the Material Skin on my Windows PC, although at the moment I keep having to pull up default as I'm reconfiguring stuff.
    But mostly the Orange App on my Android phone (in case that has any relevance).

    I only only want to run two libraries... my own (with all files exceedingly well ordered, tagged and ripped) and friends dump from his iTunes library, which is maintained entirely differently (i.e. it is not).
    Take care of your tongue. It is in a wet place and can easily slip.

  4. #4
    Senior Member philchillbill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    815
    Not intending to hijack the thread, but would library support in MediaServer be useful? List my libraries... Select default library... How would that be used in practice? Set an overall default library, one per player, one per Echo... ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,772
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Wow. That's a lot of libraries! :-)

    I use the Material Skin on my Windows PC, although at the moment I keep having to pull up default as I'm reconfiguring stuff.
    But mostly the Orange App on my Android phone (in case that has any relevance).

    I only only want to run two libraries... my own (with all files exceedingly well ordered, tagged and ripped) and friends dump from his iTunes library, which is maintained entirely differently (i.e. it is not).
    I've just deleted a few of them, they were only test libraries.

    I assume LMS is going to scan "your" library and your "friend's" library. Makes it easier to make a library view using the file path.

    My LMS folder scan pic below.

    Name:  folderscan.jpg
Views: 194
Size:  47.7 KB
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP 8.0.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 8.0.0/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 8.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  6. #6
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,217
    Oh. I always thought that that function just enabled you to add files from different directories to your main library. But it creates distinct libraries?
    Take care of your tongue. It is in a wet place and can easily slip.

  7. #7
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,772
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Oh. I always thought that that function just enabled you to add files from different directories to your main library. But it creates distinct libraries?
    No, it doesn't, but I need to know your music folder structure for both sets of music files to proceed further.
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP 8.0.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 8.0.0/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 8.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  8. #8
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,217
    Right. It's this:

    D:\Music - My anally ordered music
    D:\Pauls Music - Pauls disaster zone
    Take care of your tongue. It is in a wet place and can easily slip.

  9. #9
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,772
    Quote Originally Posted by ModelCitizen View Post
    Right. It's this:

    D:\Music - My anally ordered music
    D:\Pauls Music - Pauls disaster zone
    Using Material skin >

    Left pane click "My Music".

    Click the search button top right of left hand pane.

    Click second search button top right of left hand pane.

    Advanced search popup should appear.

    Click cog bottom left of this search window.

    Tick in all 3 boxes.

    Scroll down to the "Path contains" field and enter "D:\Music" (no quotes).

    Click "Search" bottom right. (Could take a while).

    On the next screen click the icon with a "+" sign on it, top right of left hand pane.

    On the popup that appears, give your library a name, and click save.

    Repeat for Pauls Music.

    From "My Music, click the notes icon to select which library you wish to use, you should have 3, the 3rd one of them is "All".

    Name:  libraryviews.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  36.8 KB
    Server - LMS 8.3.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP 8.0.0 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 8.0.0/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 8.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  10. #10
    Senior Member ModelCitizen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sussex UK
    Posts
    3,217
    Thanks very much. I'll try this out after I've rescanned my music library.
    Take care of your tongue. It is in a wet place and can easily slip.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •