Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
    Posts
    26

    Remote connection to my hard disk became impossible

    Hi everybody,

    I have a Touch, connected to an usb hard disk (Iíve read that some people have troubles with that configuration but itís working great with me)
    With your advice, a few years ago, I succeeded in establishing a connection to my hard disk from my laptop, in order to add some music folders, or saving my database, without unpluging the disk, with something like :
    http://192.168.1.3/media etc etc
    I succeeded also to map a drive under windows ( S:\ became the root of the Touch disk, very easy to synchronize my disk copy)

    Recently, still reading your great forum, I succeeded in upgrading the firmware of my Touch (because LMS on the Touch was unable to start after a change of the box from my ISP)
    And now, Iím unable to connect my laptop to the disk : Time Out error, no response from the distant server.
    By the way, Iím unable to map a drive under windows.

    BUT, itís ok with WinSCP : with root and 1234, I can remotely see the folder tree of the Touch disk... so the connection is ok. So my kaspersky firewall is not blocking anything (as far as I understand firewalls)

    What can I do to access my disk like I used to do ?

    Thanks very much for your interest (sorry for all the english language mistakes ...)
    Philippe

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,518
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe320 View Post
    Hi everybody,

    I have a Touch, connected to an usb hard disk (Iíve read that some people have troubles with that configuration but itís working great with me)
    With your advice, a few years ago, I succeeded in establishing a connection to my hard disk from my laptop, in order to add some music folders, or saving my database, without unpluging the disk, with something like :
    http://192.168.1.3/media etc etc
    I succeeded also to map a drive under windows ( S:\ became the root of the Touch disk, very easy to synchronize my disk copy)

    Recently, still reading your great forum, I succeeded in upgrading the firmware of my Touch (because LMS on the Touch was unable to start after a change of the box from my ISP)
    And now, Iím unable to connect my laptop to the disk : Time Out error, no response from the distant server.
    By the way, Iím unable to map a drive under windows.

    BUT, itís ok with WinSCP : with root and 1234, I can remotely see the folder tree of the Touch disk... so the connection is ok. So my kaspersky firewall is not blocking anything (as far as I understand firewalls)

    What can I do to access my disk like I used to do ?

    Thanks very much for your interest (sorry for all the english language mistakes ...)
    Philippe
    If you've installed the recent community firmware, I'm afraid this removes the Touch's inbuilt server. Which firmware is the Touch now running?

    I'm not sure if there's a way to go back to an earlier firmware,
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 7.0.1/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    If you've installed the recent community firmware, I'm afraid this removes the Touch's inbuilt server. Which firmware is the Touch now running?

    I'm not sure if there's a way to go back to an earlier firmware,
    My firmware is the 7.8.0-r16754
    Ok with your explanation, BUT I can establish the connection to the inbuilt server with winSCP ....
    so still hoping for an option....

  4. #4
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,518
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe320 View Post
    My firmware is the 7.8.0-r16754
    Ok with your explanation, BUT I can establish the connection to the inbuilt server with winSCP ....
    so still hoping for an option....
    Should be ok with that firmware, version 8.0.1 r16817 was the one that removed TinySC.

    Version 8.0.1 r16817 - Dec 13 2020
    Removed Features:
    Touch TinySC (SqueezeCenter) server and applet.

    With the new "box", I suspect your Laptop/Touch now have new IP addresses?
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 7.0.1/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    Should be ok with that firmware, version 8.0.1 r16817 was the one that removed TinySC.

    cool, good news

    Version 8.0.1 r16817 - Dec 13 2020
    Removed Features:
    Touch TinySC (SqueezeCenter) server and applet.

    With the new "box", I suspect your Laptop/Touch now have new IP addresses?
    yes, but the Touch displays its IP address is 192.168.1.3 (it changed you're right with the new router/box ), but I try to connect my laptop with that new one.
    AND winSCP succeeds in displaying the folders tree, which shows that the connection is effective...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,184
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe320 View Post
    with something like :
    http://192.168.1.3/media etc etc
    I succeeded also to map a drive under windows ( S:\ became the root of the Touch disk, very easy to synchronize my disk copy)
    For instructions see
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...o-Touch-USB-SD
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    thank you Paul, I've read th whole discussion (I even changed my group name to WORKGROUP, good idea I thought)
    but it's not working as it used to work.

    I guess it's a Windows side problem, because winSCP succeeds in displaying the tree on 192.168.1.3 (I can even download a music file this way)
    Why not Windows ?? I'm not gifted enough in networks to answer...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,184
    At which point in the process did it not work as expected?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,184
    Also - you might have to enable older SMB protocols for the client on your Windows machine.

    That might not make much sense ... but take a look at the section titled
    "How to detect status, enable, and disable SMB protocols on the SMB Client"
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...le-smbv1-v2-v3

    If that resolves it then it might be that MS have updated a setting on your Windows PC while you were asleep and it stopped things working.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    752
    When you're suspecting a connectivity issue on the Windows side, one of the first things to check is that Windows recognized your network as a private network instead of public. On Windows, see Settings->Network->Status.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •