Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    3

    Bit rate from Raspberry Pi 4B to to Cambridge Audio DACMAGIC 100

    I'm new to the world of squeezy stuff. I'm pretty happy with my new setup, which is basically as follows:

    Raspberry Pi 4 Model B (2Gb RAM} running piCorePlayer
    Sound output via USB cable to Cambridge Audio DACMAGIC 100
    queezelite command: /usr/local/bin/squeezelite -n "PiFi" -o hw:CARD=C1,DEV=0 -a 80:4::1:

    Playing a file reported as 5000kbps VBR, 192kHz, FLC - the DAC reports it's receiving/playing at 96KHz, which isn't bad, but only half the rate of which it should be capable. I've trawled through various forums and tried different tweaks, but can't seem to push it any higher.

    Could network bandwidth come into play? Files are on a samba share connected over WiFi.

    Any suggestions on getting the most out of this setup? Are there any tests I can carry out to see where the problem may lie?

    Thanks.

    Ian

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,789
    Quote Originally Posted by Xunil View Post
    I'm new to the world of squeezy stuff. I'm pretty happy with my new setup, which is basically as follows:

    Raspberry Pi 4 Model B (2Gb RAM} running piCorePlayer
    Sound output via USB cable to Cambridge Audio DACMAGIC 100
    queezelite command: /usr/local/bin/squeezelite -n "PiFi" -o hw:CARD=C1,DEV=0 -a 80:4::1:

    Playing a file reported as 5000kbps VBR, 192kHz, FLC - the DAC reports it's receiving/playing at 96KHz, which isn't bad, but only half the rate of which it should be capable. I've trawled through various forums and tried different tweaks, but can't seem to push it any higher.

    Could network bandwidth come into play? Files are on a samba share connected over WiFi.

    Any suggestions on getting the most out of this setup? Are there any tests I can carry out to see where the problem may lie?

    Thanks.

    Ian
    According to this a DACMAGIC 100 is limited to 24/96kHz.
    https://www.cambridgeaudio.com/gbr/e...ic/dacmagic100

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,307
    Switch the dac to usb2 mode

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,307

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,138
    The tech spec pdf says:
    "24-bit/192kHz USB Audio 2.0 input with ASIO or kernel streaming modes"

    Is there something special that needs to be done to enable that on the host side?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,307
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    The tech spec pdf says:
    "24-bit/192kHz USB Audio 2.0 input with ASIO or kernel streaming modes"

    Is there something special that needs to be done to enable that on the host side?
    see linky in previous post

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    According to this a DACMAGIC 100 is limited to 24/96kHz.
    https://www.cambridgeaudio.com/gbr/e...ic/dacmagic100
    Thanks, but the tech specs (and the lights on the front) suggest otherwise. I'm confused, but that's nothing new ;-)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Thanks, Ronnie! That did the trick. So it's not a broken LED I'll now have to have someone round who can actually hear the difference, but it's good to know it works.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,789
    Quote Originally Posted by Xunil View Post
    Thanks, but the tech specs (and the lights on the front) suggest otherwise. I'm confused, but that's nothing new ;-)
    Yeah I didn't read the tech specs I just saw the description.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •