Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Raspberry Pi streaming question - newbie

I would like some information.

I want to build a Raspberry Pi music streamer using Logitech Media Server (LMS) and Volumio. I'm a complete newbie and have never used Raspberry Pi. I heard that Volumio has an LMS plug-in.

I own an old Squeezebox Boom, 2 old Squeezebox Radios, 2 Sonos devices (Sonos Play:5 and a Sonos Move), and a new Grace Mondo Elite Internet radio, all of which can access the LMS server. The Sonos and Grace Mondo devices use the UPnP/DLNA bridge plugin-in by Phillipe to connect to LMS.

I have LMS installed on a Windows desktop computer, so it only works when the PC is on. I don't like to keep the PC on all of the time, which is why I'm considering a Raspberry Pi.

I want to either plug the Raspberry PI directly into my router via ethernet or sometimes use it wirelessly via Wifi.

What do I need to buy in terms of hardware?

Note: Since I'm not planning on connecting the Raspberry Pi to an amplifier, but want to stream only from the internet, can I skip a "DAC Hat"?

What I want to be able to do is the following:

1. Install Volumio with a Logitech Media Server plugin onto a Raspberry Pi. Or is there some other software I should consider? I read that Volumio is an "Operating System" and needs to be flashed onto a microSD card.
    2. Turn off my Windows PC, but keep the Raspberry Pi on all of the time so LMS remains on.
    3. Use a mobile device (e.g. my iPhone, IPad, or Amazon Fire Tablet) to access the Volumio/LMS server installed on the Raspberry Pi.
    4. Stream internet radio services (e.g Spotify, etc.) from the internet to my various client devices using an app like iPeng or Orange Squeeze (or, Volumio which again, I'm told can add on LMS).

Can I do this?

Regards,

Barry

Quote Originally Posted by Barrypg View Post