Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Connecting to Network attached USB drive

I am new to all that is on offer with PiCorePlayer. Just wondering if someone can point me to some instructions on how to mount a USB HDD connected to my Router. I have this as part of my home Network and have music on it.
    I recently purchased a RPi4B and have managed to load PiCoreplayer and squeezebox and LMS are now running. I have also mounted a USB drive to the RPi and managed to get Samba working on it so that I can copy files to the USB from my PC if I burn any CDs etc. But what I cannot seem to work out is how to mount the network USB. It isn't or doesn't seem to operate as a NAS drive so the IP address is a bit of a mystery. I assume it can be networked as it is part of my home network

Some may suggest that I load the PiCorPlayer to it but I want to access it with PiCoreplayer but also leave it as part of my home network so I can connect my Sonos Move to it. I know there is a plugin for that but I think that means that PiCoreplayer LMS takes control of the Sonos. I don't want that to happen because I can use the Sonos on Spotify without a premium account which I cannot do using the LMS.

Any suggestions?

Can you see the remote router USB drive from a Windows PC?
    If yes - then it is probably acting like a NAS and sharing out the data via SMB (Samba) aka CIFS.
    In that case you would mount it from pCP in the same way that you would set up other NAS connections
    e.g. like this
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...=1#post1007074

It might also appear over NFS (mainly for MAC users) ... in which case it would be similar to connecting to any other NFS systems - such as
    https://docs.picoreplayer.org/how-to/add_network_share/
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com