Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,138

    Album-like menu handling of On-Demand content

    I am trying to get a list of radio programmes to have a sub-list of segments (not always present).

    I have it working on players and LMS web default skin but not in Jive or Material skin.
    The ones that do not work will not descend into the submenu.
    I suspect this is touch-to-play related ... however, I turn off TTP (perhaps incorrectly) in the menu if the programme has segments available.

    The structure I am trying to get is something like this:

    Programme1
    Programme2
    - segment1
    - segment2
    Programme3

    Each of the items above are playable ... but I cannot get to segment1 or segment2 in Jive/Material

    I'll collect an edited dump of the @menu later but I thought I'd post here in case it is something that is known and easy to resolve.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,138
    Here is an edited dump of the sort of menu that I provided up to LMS.
    Code:
    menu
    [
      {
        'image' => 'https://somewhere/programme1.png',
        'name' => 'Programme1',
        'on_select' => '',
        'type' => 'audio',
        'url' => 'https://somewhere/programme1.mp3'
        'items' => [
                     {
                       'image' => 'https://somewhere/p1s1.png',
                       'name' => "P1 - S1",
                       'on_select' => 'play',
                       'type' => 'audio',
                       'url' => 'https://somewhere/p1s1.mp3'
                      },
                      {
                        'image' => 'https://somewhere/p1s2.png',
                        'name' => "P1 - S2",
                        'on_select' => 'play',
                        'type' => 'audio',
                        'url' => 'https://somewhere/p1s2.mp3'
                      },
                    ],
      },
    ]
    I also tried it with
    Code:
    'on_select' => '',
    completely removed from the top item.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,138
    I suspect it is because the top item is
    Code:
    'type' => 'audio',
    and that the interfaces where it does not handle the next level down in the menu are because they have decided that there is no point going beyond when "audio" has been reached.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    406
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I suspect it is because the top item is
    Code:
    'type' => 'audio',
    and that the interfaces where it does not handle the next level down in the menu are because they have decided that there is no point going beyond when "audio" has been reached.
    Correct, once it is an item of type audio then that is the playable item, and it can't have sub items.

    Are the segments an exact breakdown of the main programme? Could you make it a playlist made of the segments that can be added as a whole to be played one after the other?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,138
    Annoying though given that it works fine on SB2 (and I presume others where LMS drives the menu).

    The segments, in general, do not make a complete show.

    What I am working on doing is having an option to unflatten the menu.
    In the current beta each segment appears immediately after the programme and the programme name is used as a prefix for the name.
    So with the new option what I plan to do is, for programmes that have segments (a small percentage), I’ll demote the programme to be the first in a new item set and change the top level menu item to remove the “play”.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Album-like menu handling of On-Demand content

    Am 06.03.21 um 19:22 schrieb Paul Webster:
    >
    > I am trying to get a list of radio programmes to have a sub-list of
    > segments (not always present).
    >
    > I have it working on players and LMS web default skin but not in Jive or
    > Material skin.


    Is your plugin "OPMLBased"?

    > The ones that do not work will not descend into the submenu.
    > I suspect this is touch-to-play related ... however, I turn off TTP
    > (perhaps incorrectly) in the menu if the programme has segments
    > available.


    You should consider the container of type "playlist". Then define
    distinct actions for play and go.


  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,138
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Am 06.03.21 um 19:22 schrieb Paul Webster:
    >
    > I am trying to get a list of radio programmes to have a sub-list of
    > segments (not always present).
    >
    > I have it working on players and LMS web default skin but not in Jive or
    > Material skin.


    Is your plugin "OPMLBased"?


    Yes

    > The ones that do not work will not descend into the submenu.
    > I suspect this is touch-to-play related ... however, I turn off TTP
    > (perhaps incorrectly) in the menu if the programme has segments
    > available.


    You should consider the container of type "playlist". Then define
    distinct actions for play and go.
    In the end I went for the approach I outlined earlier.
    Basically if I find usable segments then I demote the programme entry to just be an image and name ... then I create items for it and put the programme entry as the first item.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •