Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,840

    Smart Cross-fade with Spotify etc

    I used to use Smart Cross-fade all the time until I started using Spotty. This was simply because when an album is played using Spotty it is played as a series of individual tracks so cross-fading would always occur between tracks which is not generally ideal for an album.
    Would it be possible to add an option to disable cross-fading when Spotify tracks are played?
    I suppose this should only be triggered if Smart Cross-fade was selected, anyone using Cross-fade but not Smart Cross-fade always wants cross-fading to happen. There may be other ways to refine the way it works but first we need to know if anyone else would find this useful and whether it is in fact possible.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,543

    Smart Cross-fade with Spotify etc

    > I used to use Smart Cross-fade all the time until I started using
    > Spotty. This was simply because when an album is played using Spotty it
    > is played as a series of individual tracks so cross-fading would always
    > occur between tracks which is not generally ideal for an album.


    It's my understanding that this should work in case you were controlling
    Spotty from LMS. If that's not the case, then please enable INFO logging
    for network.protocol.slimproto, play an album (or at least a few
    tracks), then provide the scanner.log.zip.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,840
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I used to use Smart Cross-fade all the time until I started using
    > Spotty. This was simply because when an album is played using Spotty it
    > is played as a series of individual tracks so cross-fading would always
    > occur between tracks which is not generally ideal for an album.


    It's my understanding that this should work in case you were controlling
    Spotty from LMS. If that's not the case, then please enable INFO logging
    for network.protocol.slimproto, play an album (or at least a few
    tracks), then provide the scanner.log.zip.
    Oh you could be right, I'll test it. Ideally it would act the same way if controlled by the Spotify app though

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,543

    Smart Cross-fade with Spotify etc

    > Oh you could be right, I'll test it. Ideally it would act the same way
    > if controlled by the Spotify app though


    In Connect mode we have no information about how many tracks there are,
    or what the next track will be. We only ever have a single track in LMS'
    queue.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,789
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    Oh you could be right, I'll test it. Ideally it would act the same way if controlled by the Spotify app though

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Pretty sure Smart Cross fade works with both Spotty and Qobuz plugins when controlled via LMS
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,840
    On a related note the tick box to enable or disable cross fading between different sample rates doesn't appear to have any effect on my system. What do I need to log to troubleshoot?

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •