Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,674

    8.2 Beta Handling of Multiple Composers

    Did something change in latest beta? See below.



    If so, can we revert to the old format? Or, let me know where/how in the XML/CSS/JS to edit this back to the old way. Thanks.

    NOTE: This change just happened as I was using 8.2 nightlies and before today last updated a few days ago. Had to go back to 8.1.1 to restore the old look.
    Last edited by Apesbrain; 2021-02-22 at 15:09.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    8.2 Beta Handling of MultipleComposers

    > Did something change in latest beta? See below.

    Yes. Is this with a Library View? Or regular album view? I would expect
    this to happen if you had a library view with "role = composer" (or
    conductor). Previously you could filter by one of these roles, or sort
    by them, but only the album artist would be shown. This lead to
    confusing situations where the sort order seemed to not follow any
    expected rule.

    See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=113980

    > If so, can we revert to the old format? Or, tell me where in the
    > XML/CSS/JS to edit this back to the old way. Thanks.


    It's deep in LMS core, not on the web UI.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,674
    Hi Michael, this is the regular view; no library. In the particular case above, each work is tagged with the appropriate COMPOSER, but the ALBUM ARTIST for the entire LP is "Various Composers". This worked fine up until now. The "new" way is redundant and unwieldy. I never had an issue with sorting. Could we go back or make this "settable"?

    What has always bothered me about these albums is the way they show up elsewhere in LMS. For instance, in the screen below it would be much more useful for the individual tracks to list the COMPOSER rather than "Various Composers". Thanks for your consideration.


  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    8.2 Beta Handling of MultipleComposers

    > Hi Michael, this is the regular view; no library. In the particular
    > case above, each work is tagged with the appropriate COMPOSER, but the
    > ALBUM ARTIST for the entire LP is "Various Composers". This worked fine
    > up until now. The "new" way is redundant and unwieldy. I never had an
    > issue with sorting. Could we go back or make this "settable"?


    I don't understand why in your case anything would have changed. Would
    you mind sharing your library.db with me?

    https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a

  5. #5
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,674
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Would you mind sharing your library.db with me?
    Ok, just uploaded. I appreciate your help.

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530
    Thanks. I copied your file to my cache folder, fired up LMS 8.2 (latest git revision), navigated to the New Music menu. And here's what I got:

    Name:  Screenshot 2021-02-23 at 19.45.42.png
Views: 124
Size:  8.0 KB

    Lack of media file it's missing the artwork. But the data shown is what you'd expect, isn't it?

    Are you using any 3rd party browse related plugin? What are your browse mode settings, in particular related to the artists?
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

  7. #7
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,674
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    But the data shown is what you'd expect, isn't it?

    Are you using any 3rd party browse related plugin? What are your browse mode settings, in particular related to the artists?
    That is what I would expect. I don't think I'm running any unusual browse-related plugins:



    If I follow, my browse mode settings are:


  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    8.2 Beta Handling of MultipleComposers

    > If I follow, my browse mode settings are:
    >
    > [image: https://i.imgur.com/TejWCgf.jpg]


    The menu you showed was New Music which wouldn't use these settings.
    What about the prefs for My Music?

  9. #9
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,674
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    What about the prefs for My Music?
    Got it:


  10. #10
    uncheck Composer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •